We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to Book: never more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Castelo Estremoz
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Estremoz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I got a reservation in Pousada Estremoz for 3 nights through easytobook.com. Actually, when I tried to reserve a room directly in the Pousada it was fully booked, so I took that offer thinking it was a special deal with the agency. The morning before our arrival I received a phone call from someone of a travel agency with the news that our reservation had been cancelled, but they offered me a better acommodation in a 5 star hotel in the area. Obviously, they never had that room reserved.

This is one of the worst experiences that I've had with a travel agency, so my recomendation is never to use easytobook.com

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank 87Francisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Castelo Estremoz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 382 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

After staying at Pousada Santa Maria do Marvão, in Marvão, near the Spanish border, a lovely place and lovely small town, where we had the help of Senhor José, a extremely nice gentleman, we departed to Estremoz. it is the fourth time we stayed there and it is always a pleasure to be in such a wonderful place. The service, the antiquities an the cozyness of this old mediaval castle are fantastic. Also it is woth going to São Rosas restaurant, the best in town, just around the corner.
To end our trip, we also stayed at Nossa Senhora da Assunção, in Arraiolos, a most fantastic Pousada de Portugal, extremely well designed an converted into a wonderful modern place. Do not forget to take a look at the Baroque chapel, its tiles and wood carvings are extremelly wonderful and fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergioPalazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just happened upon this Pousada while we were travelling by car . The expense was not in our budget, but we decided that sleeping in a castle with such a rich history could not be passed up!
We even went up to the top of the tower at midnight in case any of the residents who lost their lives there showed up! Allw e saw were the brilliant stars and the warm breeze blowing over portugal.
The staff were very good, polite and friendly to help with anything. Breakfast which was included was an excellent buffet. The town was fun to walk around and explore little side streets and little cafes eveywhere were a pleasure, even with our limited portuguese, smiles go a long way!
A place not to miss!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealCanajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Pousada for two nights in early October and staying in the castle was truly a once in a lifetime experience. Perched atop a small town in the Alentejo, the Pousada is an impressive sight, especially at night. When we walked through the corridors and explored the grounds it felt like we had been transported back in time. Make sure you climb up the old tower and ask to see the private chapel.

Make sure you get directions from the hotel before driving into town! We did not and relied on our GPS for directions, which resulted in some very challenging driving through narrow cobblestone roads.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first time to Portugal and our first time in a Pousada, and it did not disappoint. We attempted to find the hotel using our GPS, but the coordinates that were set for it did not coincide with its actual location. Once we checked the confirmation, we found it with no difficulty once we followed the signs for the castillo. We splurged for a superior room and loved the view from our elongated windows overlooking the pool terrace and the quiet surrondings of town and the region. One evening had fog roll into the town and blanket the region, which added to the ambiance and sense of mystique. Though the hallways on the second floor had a slightly musty, carpet freshener smell, our room itself was impeccably clean with furnishings that oozed character. The hotel staff were courteous and attentive when we posed questions to them, and called one of the nearby adegas (Seis Reis) for us to arrange our own private wine tour one afternoon. It is well worth to climb the tower steps for a superlative view of the town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandKEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Maravilhoso. Wonderful stay. Nice atmosphere and well kept castle. Stayed um the special suite and it was nice. The people are friendly and i have no observation to make as we were very well treated. To go back for another stay soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This Pousada is a wonderful palace, with many antiques, lovely furnishings and is full of character. There is even a castle tower that you can climb to the top for excellent views of the town and further afield – we did this before breakfast which was a lovely way to start the day! The reception staff were efficient, thoughtful and friendly. The dining room was impressive and we enjoyed our breakfast sitting in very regal surroundings. The pool is located within the castle walls and it is fun swimming while looking at the battlements. The only negative was our bathroom which was looking a little tired. The pousada is within short walking distance of the town (downhill) and there is a good selection of reasonably priced restaurants to choose from. Overall an excellent place to stay within easy reach of many attractions, including crossing into Spain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as some rooms look onto an internal courtyard
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaizieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estremoz
23.1 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
505 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pateo dos Solares Charm Hotel
16.6 mi away
Torre De Palma Wine Hotel - Design Hotels
22.4 mi away
Herdade da Cortesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Castelo Estremoz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Castelo Estremoz

Address: Largo de D. Diniz, Estremoz 7100-509, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Estremoz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Estremoz
Price Range: $111 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Castelo Estremoz 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Castelo de Estremoz is located in the city of Estremoz, in the Alentejo region, in a castle built by Dom Dinis for Queen Santa Isabel in the 13th century. Located in the historic centre, it is the perfect place for you to discover the city on foot. From the Torre de Menagem (Tower), you can enjoy dazzling views. This luxury hotel offers you magnificent panoramic views of Estremoz and the Alentejana lowlands from its gardens and outdoor pool. In your free time, enjoy the game room with a pool table and board games. For dining, we offer a restaurant and a bar. The rooms are spacious and royally dignified with canopied beds, a TV and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Castelo Estremoz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel Hotel Estremoz
Pousada De Hotel Estremoz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing