We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
92
148
46
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
92
148
46
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews military hospital orange trees nice hotel the hotel staff our room was spacious converted convent well worth a visit front desk staff main floor private car park sun loungers thick stone walls historical hotel within walking distance old town several days stayed here for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 310 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2018

This is a hotel with a historical feel to it in keeping with its past as a military hospital and a monastery. This hotel is in good location within the amazingly well preserved city walls and offers good private parking. We had a spacious and comfortable room and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room tip: You may want to ask for a room on the outside walls as there are also rooms that have no outside windows.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamestgwrwbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

This hotel is very easy to find. My GPS took me right to it. Elvas is mostly a very large medieval fort. This hotel is built right into the old city walls. In and out parking was easy and free. The hotel staff is businesslike, as opposed to friendly. For instance, when I asked about the availability of city tours, they just gruffly showed me where to find the local tourist office on a map, which was not easy to find. However, the decor of the hotel is very tastefully Iberian. The room was nice size as was the television. Even so, the big surprise was that the room had no desk at all or anything that would pass for one. There was a beautiful and spacious outside patio. The breakfast was great. There was a lot of variety and the quality of the food was high. If you don't mind using your laptop on your lap, it is an absolutely wonderful hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoneColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

A wonderful stay (again) in this unique hotel right on the Elvas city-fortress walls. Nice spacious rooms, no one alike, quiet and confortable, good spacious bathroom. Extensive courtyard and gardens with pool. Excellent service.
Breakfast a bit disappointing.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inch1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

This is a unique hotel. The building has had many uses over the years.
The rooms are nice. There are great views from the veranda. You can see Spain from up there. There is a pool on the roof.
The rooms are quiet. There was a wedding on the day we were there and we did not hear anything.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

This beautiful 17th century convent is a lovely place to stay in Elvas. The enclosed courtyard at Hotel Sao Joao De Deus has well established orange trees and is a pleasant place to sit. The staff member who checked us in was very personable, going out of his way to be helpful. Our room was at the top of the hotel and had a lovely terrace with views over the courtyard to the castle fortifications and beyond. It was very comfortable, clean and spacious. We recommend Hotel Sao Joao De Deus with its easy walk to all attractions in Elvas.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank RobynColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews