We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in a superior room, a nice room at the end of a corridor. In a superior room one expects two armchairs, but there was only one.
The building is beautiful.
A part of the pastries/coffee rolls/buns at the breakfast buffet was not fresh
The staff is friendly, the receptionist Luisa did her best and was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    147
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
80
216
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Beja was by far the most difficult town we had to navigate and we got lost several times finding this pousada, but it was worth it! Very beautiful building and grounds, great breakfast, peaceful and calming respite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh0rebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Outstanding service from the moment we arrived. Lovely rooms, first class food. So peaceful we were amazed to find the hotel was full. The the town and area is also peaceful, try the local food and wine. We will return.

Room Tip: Overlooking gardens and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

It was a delightful experience staying in this Franciscan convent. Just wandering around such a magnificent building was a real pleasure. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, quiet and overlooked the gardens and pool. The bathroom was very large and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent and as the weather was warm we were able to sit outside. The swimming pool was good for all ages with plenty of shade and there was a children’s playground. The car park was secure with the entrance at the side. Beja is a small town and the Pousada is at the edge of the old town which means restaurants and shops are very nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaizieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal;
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The monastery experience is quite something in itself. Our room was very nice. Walking around the Pousada is a very calming and relaxing experience.The breakfast was good, the lunch was also good, but quite expensive. The staff was kind and helpful. The pool is nice, but noisy. There are generators running close by, on the neighbour premises. The internet connection was quite bad, with only 30 minutes free. The Pousada is well located in Beja. We did not like Beja that much. The city was not well kept (compared to Lisboa and Evora) and there was little to see (the tower is interesting).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucPMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here between visiting Queluz and Tavira; a wonderful building with a true sense of calm. The staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and quiet, overlooking the gardens. Enjoyed the breakfast - very good choice. Avoid the pool service as coffee was inferior and overpriced. If you're driving, the entrance to the Pousada is through some gates on the left as you look at the front of the building - not clearly signposted!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

It was such a delight to stay at the Beja pousada, every thing was wonderful, Food was excellent and breakfast was well presented, staff were all most kind and helpful. our suite was lovely and the pousada was clean and well maintained
Only problem was finding the pousada and direction signs were lacking in the town!
VISIT the bell tower at the pousada, wonderful view.
Beja its self we found disapointing but we would RETURN to the Pousada.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beja
12.3 mi away
Vila Gale Clube de Campo
0.8 mi away
BejaParque Hotel
BejaParque Hotel
#4 of 9 in Beja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencial Bejense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Pousada Castelo Alvito
0.5 mi away
Hotel Melius
Hotel Melius
#6 of 9 in Beja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco

Property: Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
Address: Largo Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7800-018, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Beja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, is a hotel right in the centre of the city, in an old XIII century convent, the result of which is a majestic, impressionable architectural work, which represents religious and gothic architecture. The first registers of the convent date back to 10th November 1268, a date which marks the emergence of the S. Francisco Community in Beja under the initiative of the Captain General Lopo Esteves and the Councillors Diogo Fernandes and Vasco Martins. Opened in 1994, this historic luxury hotel in Beja has kept the original features of the old building, containing many spacious areas, high ceilings with predominating white walls and decor of local crafts and antiques, giving it a warm welcoming to visitors of the Pousada. In the old central nave, contemporary art expositions give life to the walls. The hallways, ample and stripped, connect the old monks' chambers which have been remodelled and transformed into welcoming bedrooms with an inviting view of the pool and garden. Nserted in the heart of Alentejo, the Pousada can help their guests plan a number of diverse activities including bicycle rides, horse treks and hikes. The Beja Castle is only 700 metres from the Pousada de Beja and the Queen Dona Leonor Museum is found a mere 300 metres away. The Pousada de Beja is a true oasis in the Alentejo plain. Come and relive these old memories, with almost 800 years of history, in a real haven in the Alentejo plain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Hotel Beja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing