We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Convento Beja
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent an overnight in this excellent Pousada on route to Estremoz and Villa Viçosa Pousadas.Great deals in the week. The restaurant needs some upgrading. Breakfast more than sufficient. I have been here twice beore and will certainly return thanks to the sfficiency and friendliness of Ana Martins at the front desk. The suite was very grand but still comfortable.
Mant thanks Pousada de São Francisco de Beja.

Room Tip: Room 228......Fabulous!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilmarPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Convento Beja
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 412 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

But not luxurious. The old convert is a gorgeous building but it could use a little TLC. The ground are lovely, the rooms large but need some refurbishing. Staff was pleasant. the breakfast was adequate, perhaps it was just picked over because we arroved only a fw minutes before it closed. Because the town was nearly closed dowfor a holiday we ate dinner at the hotel. It was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boulder_Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A former Franciscan Monastery with original features, this pousada provided welcoming, friendly helpful staff, a quiet relaxed atmosphere, comfort and good food. It is within easy walking distance of all the sites of interest in the small historic town. It is easy to reach by car and guest parking is provided within the grounds which also have a large swimming pool and sun loungers.
it was recently ( April 2012) reopened after being refurbished to a high standard. Rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: twin rooms often more spacious than doubles
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Ideally situated near the centre of town this old convent is a delight to stay in. Our room was more than adequate and very quiet.
The sitting areas, bar, games room (with full size billiard table) and garden area are lovely. However, I do agree that the place was under staffed - we sat in the bar for at least 10 minutes and then had to go and find someone to serve us. If you are there on a Sunday then take my advise and have the Sunday lunch time buffet it was tremendous.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveL221952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

A wonderful old convent building, conveniently situated in the heart of an historic town, but in dire need of some Government cash being spent on buildings and staff.
Furnishings are clean and cared for, except deteriorating poolside loungers. Poorly resourced in staffing at reception, bar and restaurant - food adequate, but overpriced evening meals resulted in eating out in local town establishments which were far better value.
Bedrooms as small as expected in a convent, but safes did not work (and apparently had not for a while !) and other quirky faults spoilt the overall impression. The place could be so much better.

Room Tip: Request a pool/ garden view, not along the rear of the building.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DAWLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Convento Beja, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear Guest,
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your opinion about Pousada de Beja.
Thank you for your feedback on the number of staff members. The measures to solve this situation will be implemented. We have also informed the respective department about the price of meals in the Pousadas.
Pousada de Beja is going to undertake renovation works and your review will be important on the process, as all are.
We are sorry for the inconveniences you have been through during your stay and we hope to welcome you again for you to enjoy the improvements,
Kind Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very pleasant and the staff very very nice! Good food. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisboa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Convento Beja, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice comments on the staff and food.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed Pousada de Beja, a lovely retreat in Alentejo.
We hope to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel has everything one could ask for in a small rustic town. It has nicely appointed rooms, a gorgeous courtyard, amazing pool area, total peace but for some strange reason it was grossly understaffed. In one instance, to get a beer at the pool, I had to call up the receptionist, who took several minutes to make it to the pool bar before he could offer me his service. A tad disappointing considering my high expectations in this respect.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donSeoul_SouthKorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Convento Beja, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the nice comments on the rooms, the courtyard and the swimming pool area.
We are glad you were able to enjoy the peacefulness in the Pousada but apologize for the inconveniences you have been through.
At Pousadas de Portugal, your full satisfaction and responding to the demands of the 21st century are our goal. Therefore, your feedback is appreciated and we have informed the Regional Manager on this matter, so situations of this kind will not happen again.
We hope to welcome you again for a unforgettable stay. Until then,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beja
12.3 mi away
Vila Gale Clube de Campo
19.1 mi away
Hotel O Gato
Hotel O Gato
#1 of 1 in Odivelas
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
BejaParque Hotel
BejaParque Hotel
#4 of 9 in Beja
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Melius
Hotel Melius
#5 of 9 in Beja
62 reviews
18.4 mi away
Pousada Castelo Alvito
20.7 mi away
Betica Hotel Rural
Betica Hotel Rural
#1 of 1 in Pias
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento Beja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento Beja

Address: Largo Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7800-018, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Beja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Price Range: $95 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Convento Beja 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Beja is located in the old Convent of São Francisco in the city of Beja, in Alentejo. Located in the city centre just 700 metres from the castle and 200 metres from the Rainha D. Leonor museum. The Pousada is the result of a majestic, architectural project that is representative of Portugal's religious and gothic architecture. During your stay you can relax in our SPA which offers a treatment and massage room, and is also equipped with a Turkish Bath and Sauna. Go for a peaceful walk through the fantastic gardens, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool, perfect your strokes on the tennis court or play games in the bar , which has a snooker table and other table games. For your meals, the Pousada has a restaurant and a bar. The rooms have been adapted from old cells , with 20 rooms overlooking the garden and the pool. All rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi. The Pousada de Beja is truly an oasis at the heart of the Alentejo plains, steeped in almost 800 years of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Convento Beja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Hotel Beja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing