We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A former Franciscan Monastery with original features, this pousada provided welcoming, friendly helpful staff, a quiet relaxed atmosphere, comfort and good food. It is within easy walking distance of all the sites of interest in the small historic town. It is easy to reach by car and guest parking is provided within the grounds which also have a large swimming pool and sun loungers.
it was recently ( April 2012) reopened after being refurbished to a high standard. Rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: twin rooms often more spacious than doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    150
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
81
223
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Ideally situated near the centre of town this old convent is a delight to stay in. Our room was more than adequate and very quiet.
The sitting areas, bar, games room (with full size billiard table) and garden area are lovely. However, I do agree that the place was under staffed - we sat in the bar for at least 10 minutes and then had to go and find someone to serve us. If you are there on a Sunday then take my advise and have the Sunday lunch time buffet it was tremendous.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveL221952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

A wonderful old convent building, conveniently situated in the heart of an historic town, but in dire need of some Government cash being spent on buildings and staff.
Furnishings are clean and cared for, except deteriorating poolside loungers. Poorly resourced in staffing at reception, bar and restaurant - food adequate, but overpriced evening meals resulted in eating out in local town establishments which were far better value.
Bedrooms as small as expected in a convent, but safes did not work (and apparently had not for a while !) and other quirky faults spoilt the overall impression. The place could be so much better.

Room Tip: Request a pool/ garden view, not along the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAWLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your opinion about Pousada de Beja.
Thank you for your feedback on the number of staff members. The measures to solve this situation will be implemented. We have also informed the respective department about the price of meals in the Pousadas.
Pousada de Beja is going to undertake renovation works and your review will be important on the process, as all are.
We are sorry for the inconveniences you have been through during your stay and we hope to welcome you again for you to enjoy the improvements,
Kind Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very pleasant and the staff very very nice! Good food. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisboa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice comments on the staff and food.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed Pousada de Beja, a lovely retreat in Alentejo.
We hope to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel has everything one could ask for in a small rustic town. It has nicely appointed rooms, a gorgeous courtyard, amazing pool area, total peace but for some strange reason it was grossly understaffed. In one instance, to get a beer at the pool, I had to call up the receptionist, who took several minutes to make it to the pool bar before he could offer me his service. A tad disappointing considering my high expectations in this respect.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donSeoul_SouthKorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the nice comments on the rooms, the courtyard and the swimming pool area.
We are glad you were able to enjoy the peacefulness in the Pousada but apologize for the inconveniences you have been through.
At Pousadas de Portugal, your full satisfaction and responding to the demands of the 21st century are our goal. Therefore, your feedback is appreciated and we have informed the Regional Manager on this matter, so situations of this kind will not happen again.
We hope to welcome you again for a unforgettable stay. Until then,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed using the 3rd night voucher of our 5nt Golden Age Passport [GAP](which we strongly recommend as it brings the Over 55's dble, inc b/fast, rate down to 80€, slightly more if under). Central, converted convent with some marvelous architectural features (Bell Tower, quadrangle, and a stunning, cavenous ballroom [I know nuns don't have balls, but.....!])
The 'cells' have been modenised to an acceptable (given the structural limitations) Pousada standard. Reception staff helpful, well trained, and charming. Excellent choice on breakfast buffet (but see below!)
By the end of our 10 night holiday we'd stayed a total of 5nts in 3 Pousadas. The following 'niggles' relate to all three:-

1. There is an internet charge and although the 1st half hour (per day, per stay?)
is free that was not always made clear. With emailing now having become such an essential means of communication it seems incongruous to charge!
2. Excellent breakfast selection but in all 3 Pousadas, every day, (nearly?) the same (eg eggs are always, and only, scrambled). Suggest the possibility of regional or daily specials to add variety (eg boiled eggs, fried eggs, different sausages, black pudding, etc.
3. There was always some confusion/ambiguity about the use of the GAP restaurant vouchers (ie they could be used on the 30€ but not the 20€ menu but, at Beja, even the staff had to check the validity on the festival menu)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rennatian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice remarks on the architectural features of the Pousada, former 13th century Franciscan Convent, the size of the cells, the reception staff and the breakfast buffet. We inform that the breakfast buffet also includes boiled eggs.
The first half hour of internet is free in each check-in. We are improving the internal procedures and the suppliers service to have an efficient and adequate internet standard on all Pousadas. You weren’t able to use the Restaurant vouchers of the Golden Age Passport because the 20€ menu is not applicable with any other promotions, as informed in the written menu.
We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We only stayed here one night, but the room was lovely, the bathroom quite large and well furnished, the food was great, and very plentiful, and the building really well restored. Wish we could have stayed longer. We had the Golden Age rate, and it was well worth the cost. There was a comfortable atmosphere. Avoid the American coffee, and tea! Beja is an interesting White City. The castle is free.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelinethoughtful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed staying in Pousada de Beja.
Your nice comments on the room, bathroom, food, building well restored, the golden age program, the atmosphere are truly appreciated.
This Pousada is located in the historical centre of Beja and is a former 13th century Franciscan Convent.
The town itself has lovely whitewashed houses, characteristic of Southern Portugal, and there are many sites and relics of the region’s different settlers to visit and admire.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beja
12.3 mi away
Vila Gale Clube de Campo
0.8 mi away
BejaParque Hotel
BejaParque Hotel
#4 of 9 in Beja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencial Bejense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Pousada Castelo Alvito
0.5 mi away
Hotel Melius
Hotel Melius
#6 of 9 in Beja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco

Property: Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
Address: Largo Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7800-018, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Beja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Beja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco, is a hotel right in the centre of the city, in an old XIII century convent, the result of which is a majestic, impressionable architectural work, which represents religious and gothic architecture. The first registers of the convent date back to 10th November 1268, a date which marks the emergence of the S. Francisco Community in Beja under the initiative of the Captain General Lopo Esteves and the Councillors Diogo Fernandes and Vasco Martins. Opened in 1994, this historic luxury hotel in Beja has kept the original features of the old building, containing many spacious areas, high ceilings with predominating white walls and decor of local crafts and antiques, giving it a warm welcoming to visitors of the Pousada. In the old central nave, contemporary art expositions give life to the walls. The hallways, ample and stripped, connect the old monks' chambers which have been remodelled and transformed into welcoming bedrooms with an inviting view of the pool and garden. Nserted in the heart of Alentejo, the Pousada can help their guests plan a number of diverse activities including bicycle rides, horse treks and hikes. The Beja Castle is only 700 metres from the Pousada de Beja and the Queen Dona Leonor Museum is found a mere 300 metres away. The Pousada de Beja is a true oasis in the Alentejo plain. Come and relive these old memories, with almost 800 years of history, in a real haven in the Alentejo plain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Hotel Beja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing