We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fantastic hideaway near Beja, in rural Alentejo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Herdade da Malhadinha Nova
Ranked #2 of 8 Beja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisboa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a fantastic hideaway near Beja, in rural Alentejo”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

2 adults + 2 kids, we stayed in a superior suite and we had a great surprise on arrival: a fireplace in the room with two sides, one facing the room and the other the living room. there was a mezzanine for the kids with a big bed, it was a little cold on arrival and it was hard to get the mezzanine warm. the bedroom on the other side was really cosy with the heated floor (also in the bathroom). the room had also a big bath, decorated with white stones and candles. on arrival with had a fruit basket and a bottle of wine, produced in the herdade.
the hotel has a big common living room, immense white sofas loaded with comfortable pillows in front of a big fireplace. candles make the ambience so cosy (it was cold and ugly outside). the food is too good to believe: a chef cooks a 3 course (30eur) or 5 course dinner, that is absolutely gourmet and great (gourmet the Alentejo style does not mean hunger!). breakfast is fantastic. just ask for anything and they will do it: service is as good as it can be, all staff is ultra nice and will do the impossible to make your wishes come true.
the jacuzzi is fine, the steam bath was strange (not really hot and so much steam you could not see your own hands!). activities: horse riding, a jeep trip around the herdade incl. a visit to the vinery, the kids had a cookie workshop with the chef, motor4. all the excitement you need for 2 or 3 days stay.
in the summer the outdoor swimming-pool has a fantastic setting and must feel great.

a great place to come back to in the summer. it's a little high priced, though: the food is ok, but the rooms are not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisboaFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    26
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
83
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The staff is very nice and helpful. Comfortable room with a beautiful bathroom. Heated tile. No room number, just cute whimsical pictures of butterfly, snail, and little creatures - which turns out to be their wine labels and were drawn by the owner couple's children. There is also a complimentary bottle of wine. The fireplace area is very inviting, great place to relax and enjoy the evening. Or to use your computer/phone as you don't get much wifi signal in the rooms. (but it seems to be a common problem in the hotels I visit in Portugal) The infinity pool has a nice view of the vineyard but it was too cool to swim in when I visited.

Breakfast buffet is very delicious too, elegantly laid out with juices, fruit, an array of cheeses - some locally made, bread, home-made yogurt in a glass jar, and more.

The hotel is part of a farm, where they make their own wine, grow their pigs (pata negra), olives, and more. The staff is happy to take you on a tour of the farm in their jeep, which was very interesting and a good learning experience. If you come at the right time, you can participate in the grape or olive harvest as well, and may get to stomp on some grapes! They do have some very good wine, and the olive oil is so flavorful I bought a bottle.

Dinner at the restaurant is certainly delicious, from the bread with dip and spread, to the codfish and dessert. It's more modern fusion than rustic traditional.

The location is somewhat in the middle of nowhere, but if you just want to chill and not do a lot, this is a great place to stay. More for couples than family with kids. It's a bit overpriced but I definitely plan to return for a special ocassion, maybe my anniversary?

Room Tip: There is no bad room, but they have two bigger room with a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We did not stay in the hotel, merely tasted the cuisine in winter. It was great. We got a tour of the hotel and it looks great. Small boutique hotel of 10 rooms, great spa, infinity pool, terrace and a lot of activities. The lunch we had was great. Using the local produce and wines it was a culi-experience. And a tour of the estate in a 4 x 4 and winery made it complete. We will surely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Have recently returned from 3 nights at this wonderful boutique hotel. Beautiful views reminded me of South Africa. Hotel is amongst the vines with an infinity pool and spa. Rooms very comfortable with beautiful bathrooms and underfloor heating - an eclectic mix of old and new furnishings - just so relaxing. Fabulous food both at the hotel and at the restaurant(next to the winery) Vine tour by quadbike! Horseriding and bicycles and lovely walks. We were looked after by excellent staff. As it is only just over the hour from Faro airport it would make a wonderful long weekend escape........I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There's a lovely double room with french door onto swimmingpool area - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 064Pooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We only had a marvelous lunch with wine tasting.
Excellent wines, especially the Syrah reserva.
Faboulus food!
The best oven roasted cod fish, a tender and tasty octopus-MMM... :)
The brilliant mushroom soup with goat cheese
The excellent service, the impressing tour of the winery and its estate-absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: Not to miss the wine tasting lunch and winery/estate tour, excellent wines
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ori888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was one of the most pleasurable holidays of my life. We went to Malhadinha Nova after a recommendation from family and after trying their wine on our previous visit to Portugal - and it more than lived up to our expectations.

The hotel is a divine sanctuary with amazing bar and lounge area as well as outdoor infinity pool overlooking the estate and vineyards. The rooms are stylish and quaint and have the biggest and most comfortable beds known to man.

The food served in the hotel bar and at the restaurant is on par if not better than any Michelin starred restaurant I have ever eaten at. All the meats come from their own black pigs and cows and olives and oranges and most of the veg and oil is estate grown too. The value for money at the restaurant is fantastic too.

All the wines served MN come from the own vineyard and are excellent to say the least and there is something for every pocket.

But the best thing about this place are the staff who spoil you rotten and anticipate your every need before even you do. They'll organise everything you may ever need including wine tasting , fishing, shooting, quad biking, horse riding and many spa treatments at their own SPA and Turkish bath.

As I said before, this is one of the best holiday experiences of my life and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddieha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Tucked away in a remote spot in the middle of a working vineyard this small boutique hotel is excellent, good food locally sourced for dinner in the restaurant about a mile away to which the staff drive you and good buffet breakfast and interesting lunches in the hotel. Tour of vineyard and winery interesting especially as it was harvesting time when we stayed. Staff all friendly and helpful, special mention to Claudia front of house. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. Only gripe-constant background music in public areas including by the pool.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nashtraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beja
14.4 mi away
Pousada Convento Beja
4.3 mi away
Vila Gale Clube de Campo
13.9 mi away
BejaParque Hotel
BejaParque Hotel
#4 of 9 in Beja
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Pousada de Sao Gens
Pousada de Sao Gens
#1 of 1 in Serpa
15 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Melius
Hotel Melius
#6 of 9 in Beja
61 reviews
18.0 mi away
Herdade do Vau
Herdade do Vau
#1 of 13 in Beja
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade da Malhadinha Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Malhadinha Nova

Property: Herdade da Malhadinha Nova
Address: | Albernoa, Beja 7800-601, Portugal (Formerly Herdade da Malhadinha Nova - Country House & Spa)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Beja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Herdade da Malhadinha Nova 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herdade da Malhadinha Nova will give you the chance to surprise and be surprised. Alone or with the family or friends you will stay in an atmosphere of excitement that you will never forget!Located 1 km off the IP2 motorway, Herdade da Malhadinha Nova is a rural manor set among pristine natural surroundings. It features one panoramic pool, a spa with jacuzzi and hammam, free Wi-Fi and free bicycles. Rooms at the Malhadinha Nova Country House & Spa have white-washed walls and tiled floors. They combine designer furnishings with rustic finishings. All rooms have air conditioned and equipped with flat-screen cable TV and an Ipod docking station. We have 7 Double Rooms, 1 Junior Suite and 2 Mains Suites.Guests can enjoy traditional food from the Alentejo region at our restaurant, and also a Gourmet menu inspired on the traditional dishes of Alentejo designed by the prestigious Chef Consultant Joachim Koerper with the collaboration of the executive chef Bruno Antunes, offering views of the countryside. The in-house bar serves self-produced wine until late in the evenings. Popular activities include horse riding, hiking, canoeing and also Balon Ride!The combination of design, country living, comfort and elegance appeals to our senses and feelings. Cooking with a famous chef, learning the art of photography or painting with great masters or discovering the world of wine from the inside. These are some of experiences that we would like to share with you.We want you to see, feel hear and breathe in the details that we have brought together for you – the pool and Spa nestling among the vineyards, spacious, elegant rooms, the comforts of modern technology and our gourmet restaurant in the winery, offering designer cuisine, modern interpretations of traditional dishes made with local produce.We want you to discover and explore the world of wine, to understand its mysteries, stories and secrets, its techniques, flavours and bouquets and the magic that it inspires in your senses.Our theme weeks devoted to photography, painting, cookery, adventure, wine, yoga and horse-riding offer you something more intense and profound, different experiences and sensations bringing your pleasure and emotional wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Herdade da Malhadinha Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing