We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous, relaxing and friendly - perfect laid back break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Herdade da Malhadinha Nova - Country House & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Beja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“gorgeous, relaxing and friendly - perfect laid back break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

my husband and i stayed at malhadinha nova in late july 2011 for four nights. we could not have asked for a more relaxed and lovely break. the staff were all incredibly friendly and welcoming. our room was a quiet little retreat - cool, smelled amazing and had the most comfortable bed i've perhaps ever slept in. the pool is fantastic and the vineyard is stunning. had a great vineyard tour. great food (amazing olive oil - be sure to buy some!) and wonderful wine. only advice would be to fix the sign off the IP2 and put driving directions on the website so that the hotel is easier to find! we got very confused and a bit lost trying to get there at night, as the roads are extremely dark. other than that, malhadinha nova is a really fantastic place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bap23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    21
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
33
75
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Attention to detail lacking - holes in the towels and some china egg cups were cracked - piped music tended to spoil the ambience.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lordmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Excellent food,good rooms,vineyard tour very interesting,staff (and owners who were very visible)extremely attentive

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC36LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

- This place shares my values of strong family values, integrity and passion which is why I will return to this special hideaway
- The location is spectacular, every angle and vantage point gives you a unique and captivating view of the 450 hectares surrounding the hotel
- The team as well as the family are genuine, no pretentious drivel
- The wines are very good and the wine tasting and tour of the winery were fun, informative and 'down to earth'
- The animals there are kept in amazing condition and we were privileged to see calves being born as well as a new born pony
- The food was sensational and on par with Michelin prepped food without the pretentious fuss you see in many restaurants
- The breakfast was plentiful and all requests fulfilled with a smile
- We cycled throughout the estate and were impressed with the quality of the mountain bikes
- Every evening we had a real log fire lit for us in our room which was very romantic and made the chilly nights comfortable
- There is no pressure to spend more when you arrive and you don't feel like being nickle and dimed for every request
- The service is like that of a warm friendly home, so patience is a must and guests expecting service on par with a 5 star hotel would be the wrong approach to have here
- As the hotel has a large organic vegetable plantation, more vegetables on the menu would be welcome; that being said, a request will always be met and over-delivered upon
- This hotel will have to watch out for how they come across to their clientele. Any emphasis on creating pretentious experiences will ruin the entire project. Maintaining a genuine tone is an absolute must for them

Overall an exhilarating experience and one that we will return to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m15tra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

One of the best hotels (herdade) in Portugal - without doubt.
Rooms / environment / service - 5* GL.
Great beds - Unique in Portugal - only Sheraton have the same type.
Unique experience.
Recomend for a weekend VERY romantic get away.
Great Spa, food and wine.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FfNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beja
14.4 mi away
Pousada de Beja, Sao Francisco
4.3 mi away
Vila Gale Clube de Campo
13.9 mi away
BejaParque Hotel
BejaParque Hotel
#4 of 9 in Beja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Herdade do Vau
Herdade do Vau
#1 of 13 in Beja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
26.8 mi away
Herdade do Gizo
Herdade do Gizo
#4 of 13 in Beja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
21.1 mi away
Sesmarias Turismo Rural & SPA
Sesmarias Turismo Rural & SPA
#1 of 6 in Ferreira do Alentejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade da Malhadinha Nova - Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Malhadinha Nova - Country House & Spa

Property: Herdade da Malhadinha Nova - Country House & Spa
Address: | Albernoa, Beja 7800-601, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Beja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Herdade da Malhadinha Nova - Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herdade da Malhadinha Nova will give you the chance to surprise and be surprised. Alone or with the family or friends you will stay in an atmosphere of excitement that you will never forget!Located 1 km off the IP2 motorway, Herdade da Malhadinha Nova is a rural manor set among pristine natural surroundings. It features one panoramic pool, a spa with jacuzzi and hammam, free Wi-Fi and free bicycles. Rooms at the Malhadinha Nova Country House & Spa have white-washed walls and tiled floors. They combine designer furnishings with rustic finishings. All rooms have air conditioned and equipped with flat-screen cable TV and an Ipod docking station. We have 7 Double Rooms, 1 Junior Suite and 2 Mains Suites.Guests can enjoy traditional food from the Alentejo region at our restaurant, and also a Gourmet menu inspired on the traditional dishes of Alentejo designed by the prestigious Chef Consultant Joachim Koerper with the collaboration of the executive chef Bruno Antunes, offering views of the countryside. The in-house bar serves self-produced wine until late in the evenings. Popular activities include horse riding, hiking, canoeing and also Balon Ride!The combination of design, country living, comfort and elegance appeals to our senses and feelings. Cooking with a famous chef, learning the art of photography or painting with great masters or discovering the world of wine from the inside. These are some of experiences that we would like to share with you.We want you to see, feel hear and breathe in the details that we have brought together for you – the pool and Spa nestling among the vineyards, spacious, elegant rooms, the comforts of modern technology and our gourmet restaurant in the winery, offering designer cuisine, modern interpretations of traditional dishes made with local produce.We want you to discover and explore the world of wine, to understand its mysteries, stories and secrets, its techniques, flavours and bouquets and the magic that it inspires in your senses.Our theme weeks devoted to photography, painting, cookery, adventure, wine, yoga and horse-riding offer you something more intense and profound, different experiences and sensations bringing your pleasure and emotional wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Herdade da Malhadinha Nova - Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing