We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Food and Beautiful location”
Review of Punjabiyat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Punjabiyat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Some of the highlights of this place are its extremely courteous and well mannered staff, excellent food and its great location. If mud thatched cottages surrounded by acres of sugarcane and wheat plantations are not enough to get you attention, it tops it up with well trained and courteous staff and great food.The room had a torch, an umbrella, a small heater along with the regulars - simple things but its the thought that counts. We forgot some of our stuff behind and the manager, Mr. Jagdeep, ensured that all the stuff was couriered back to us. One thing we found missing was resort's own pick up and drop facility from the train station. The third party cab driver appeared greedy and was clearly overcharging.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NitinKaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 75 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Wow....is what ,that comes out, when we think about it.360 degrees of green carpet .....fields around you, comfy boutique stay in rustic but beautiful farm setting.Nice rooms and marvellous mini establishment.Everything is fantastic.......UNTIL DINNER TIME WHEN DINNER IS FINISHED BEFORE YOU EVEN STARTED EATING....YES!
For the intrested readers of the Review- PUNJABIYAT STANDS FOR Gracious and Exuberant Hospitality from the people of Punjab. Yes that is the meaning which wud apply in case of a boutique hotel....but this was somewhere lost when we sat for dinner.When we asked for another helping of vegetables ( after we were told that there was no non vegetarian dish because "YOU AS A GUEST HAD NOT WALKED TO THE KITCHEN AND INFORMED IN PERSON OF YOUR PREFERENCE- WE DID NOT COOK" ) it was finished.....the staff was clueless and lost! Calling the head office executive did not help as well at 10 pm and there was no place around the fields where we cud feed our little one.By the way the staff itself is not from Punjab( only the manager is) but from the hill state of Uttrakhand??????? Is that Punjabiyat? Just becos a fancy travel magazine with equally fancy VJ of a Bygone era visited and featured the establishment does not morally qualify to name it PUNJABIYAT! But the setting and the place on the whole was just fantastic........Mixed Bags....of Review as it was otherwise nostalgic minus the lowly ,little , attitude while hosting your guest for a meal......Aston Martin with the heart of a Maruti !

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank teenmusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have been to various countries, stayed at various resorts and cottages in India and abroad, but have never been blown away by so simplistic a vacation. On the face of it, the cottages are in the middle of nowhere with seemingly nothing to do. But that is where the story changes, there are so many exciting activities that are possible for the family that two days seemed too little to do it all. For the kids so used to a city life, the idea of cycling along the villages, milking buffaloes, flying kites, moonlight dinners, bonfires and taking bath in fields under a borewell were a revelation. The kids just freaked out, we just loved it.

As for the hospitality, Jagdeep and his team are amazing. They wait with glasses of refreshments every time you come back from a activity, they attend to every one of your needs personally and just make you feel like special guests. The rooms are very rustic and with ample space for a family, the bathrooms are very big and very well maintained.

As a side note, May is apparently the only month where the fields are patch dry, they are supposed to be lush green fields any other time of the year. We unfortunately missed seeing lush green fields around us.

Hats off to the Punjabiat folks, Im busy looking at two of their other properties for my next vacation :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vinayaga_Raman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punjabiyat, Manager at Punjabiyat, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you so much for having taken the time out to write to us. We are glad to learn that you had a good stay at Punjabiyat.

Look forward to hosting you at Itmenaan Lodges in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited Punjabiyat with our kids and stayed two nights. The concept of a remote getaway in the middle of fields is rather unique and we did not know what to expect when we booked the place. Suffice it to say that we were blown away by the location, the food, the service, and the resort itself. The cottages have a rustic exterior, but are very comfortable inside. The big surprise was the quality of the food. While we had exepected there to be good punjabi food, the western desserts amazed us. The setting is absolutely beautiful. It is remote, yes. But a stay there is an experience that you will savor for a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wheels0nheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Approach to Punjabiyat: We were overwhelmed by the simple, friendly people of the main Gurdaspur Road village of Purana Shalla to Saidowal Gunopur. After giving helpful directions, we were even offered tea/lassi a drink by some

The Location: Fields of Wheat and Mustard for Miles and Miles around as far as the eye could see. Wonderfully friendly Local people with broad smiles. The Gurbani recital from the nearby Gurdwara fill the air.
The Welcome Drinks: Simply Superb. THE BEST we have ever had. The best part, we were offered different amazing types of drinks every time we returned from a walk OR cycling Or tractor ride
The Cottages: Right in the fields, Very beautifully done in minimalistic use of local materials and full use of local tradtions.The interiors were very tastefully done. Rustic, at the same time comfortable. One of the best soaps, shampoos and conditioners we have ever had provided by a hotel/resort. Open and bright bathrooms with traditional heavy copper bucket and Lota. At night, lovely Diyas are lit in verandah and the path outside is lit by traditional Lanterns. It was out of this world experience with the Star filled sky and the fields at night
Food: One of the best foods, both Indian and continental. The presentation, cutlery All superb. Hats off to the chef and the assistants
Finally Mr Jagdeep Singh, our Host. Sir, hats off to you. We had one of the best resort experiences of our life. Everything is perfect and we are longing to come again and again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivekrijhwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Punjabiyat is a truly unique experience. It is amazingly different from all other holiday destinations. The cottages are located right in the middle of the fields that stretch for miles in all directions. The sprawling greenery, unrestricted eye view and pure oxygen rejuvenates one after the weariness of urban life. In keeping with rural setting the cottages have a rustic exterior, but inside it offers comfortable amenities to make one completely relaxed. The food is excellent with a great deal of variety catering to the personal taste of the guests. The working staff is extremely efficient and polite which makes the stay a pleasant one. Rural activities like kite flying, cycling, tube-well bath, tractor, tonga/bullock cart riding and occasional bird calls, add to the charm. In short - a MUST visit place for a great vacation. Kudos to the entire team for making our family holiday an experience to cherish for a long long time!!

Room Tip: best time to go : anytime when the fields green
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samcoolmathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Away from the hustle bustle right in the heart of the farms, the rooms are perfect with everything a traveller would need. Excellent is an understatement for the service, you name it and you have it you can choose your food, though its better to leave it to the chef he does a great job, the desserts are out of the world. They set up a bon fire in the evening its amazing. Its better to do your booking thru High On Travel they give you better rates, do a all meal rate cause there is no where you can go grab a bite. If you get on the road you can find tractors, horse carts etc etc they give a ride to a whoel family for 100-200 bucks. On the way you see these small diaries can just pull over give the owner a few 100's they let you click pics and feed the cattle if your with kids.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punjabiyat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punjabiyat

Address: Saidowal-Gunopur village | Near Amritsar, 143521, India
Location: India > Punjab > Gurdaspur District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gurdaspur District
Price Range: $111 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punjabiyat 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punjabiyat, pronounced panjab-i-yat, meaning 'being Punjabi', 'essence of Punjab', 'quintessential Punjabi', is meant to be an expression of the jest and effervescence of the Punjabi culture and its large heartedness. Punjabiyat offers an opportunity to experience life on a live farm ensconced within the rustic smell of the country. Stylishly simple four standalone cottages and a spacious lounge nestle in the gleaming expanse of farmland offering peaceful yet stimulating environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Punjabiyat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing