We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its even better than the photos”
Review of Punjabiyat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Punjabiyat
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Its even better than the photos”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited Punjabiyat with our kids and stayed two nights. The concept of a remote getaway in the middle of fields is rather unique and we did not know what to expect when we booked the place. Suffice it to say that we were blown away by the location, the food, the service, and the resort itself. The cottages have a rustic exterior, but are very comfortable inside. The big surprise was the quality of the food. While we had exepected there to be good punjabi food, the western desserts amazed us. The setting is absolutely beautiful. It is remote, yes. But a stay there is an experience that you will savor for a long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wheels0nheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Approach to Punjabiyat: We were overwhelmed by the simple, friendly people of the main Gurdaspur Road village of Purana Shalla to Saidowal Gunopur. After giving helpful directions, we were even offered tea/lassi a drink by some

The Location: Fields of Wheat and Mustard for Miles and Miles around as far as the eye could see. Wonderfully friendly Local people with broad smiles. The Gurbani recital from the nearby Gurdwara fill the air.
The Welcome Drinks: Simply Superb. THE BEST we have ever had. The best part, we were offered different amazing types of drinks every time we returned from a walk OR cycling Or tractor ride
The Cottages: Right in the fields, Very beautifully done in minimalistic use of local materials and full use of local tradtions.The interiors were very tastefully done. Rustic, at the same time comfortable. One of the best soaps, shampoos and conditioners we have ever had provided by a hotel/resort. Open and bright bathrooms with traditional heavy copper bucket and Lota. At night, lovely Diyas are lit in verandah and the path outside is lit by traditional Lanterns. It was out of this world experience with the Star filled sky and the fields at night
Food: One of the best foods, both Indian and continental. The presentation, cutlery All superb. Hats off to the chef and the assistants
Finally Mr Jagdeep Singh, our Host. Sir, hats off to you. We had one of the best resort experiences of our life. Everything is perfect and we are longing to come again and again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivekrijhwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Punjabiyat is a truly unique experience. It is amazingly different from all other holiday destinations. The cottages are located right in the middle of the fields that stretch for miles in all directions. The sprawling greenery, unrestricted eye view and pure oxygen rejuvenates one after the weariness of urban life. In keeping with rural setting the cottages have a rustic exterior, but inside it offers comfortable amenities to make one completely relaxed. The food is excellent with a great deal of variety catering to the personal taste of the guests. The working staff is extremely efficient and polite which makes the stay a pleasant one. Rural activities like kite flying, cycling, tube-well bath, tractor, tonga/bullock cart riding and occasional bird calls, add to the charm. In short - a MUST visit place for a great vacation. Kudos to the entire team for making our family holiday an experience to cherish for a long long time!!

Room Tip: best time to go : anytime when the fields green
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samcoolmathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Away from the hustle bustle right in the heart of the farms, the rooms are perfect with everything a traveller would need. Excellent is an understatement for the service, you name it and you have it you can choose your food, though its better to leave it to the chef he does a great job, the desserts are out of the world. They set up a bon fire in the evening its amazing. Its better to do your booking thru High On Travel they give you better rates, do a all meal rate cause there is no where you can go grab a bite. If you get on the road you can find tractors, horse carts etc etc they give a ride to a whoel family for 100-200 bucks. On the way you see these small diaries can just pull over give the owner a few 100's they let you click pics and feed the cattle if your with kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Punjabiyat as the name stands lives upto its spirit in all senses.
Tugged in the deep deep farming heartlands of Punjab's Gurdaspur district, there is a distinct
rustic touch of a "pind"(village) landscape. No hustle bustle of urban life, time stand stills
between you and the vast spans of fields with yellow sarson blooming around in full swing.
The kanak(wheat) fields as seen on various shows, movies actually come alive in front of your eyes.
A glass of fresh sweet lassi adds to the personal spirit.

The soothing sound of gurbani kirtan at the local gurudwara adds to the nostalgic touch.

Expect no disturbances from external urban life (apart from your very own mobile phone signal).
Air is fresh, water sweet, gentle breeze and spectacular view from the village style houses specially built with the local decor in place.
Though the house on their exterior look like typical village houses, internally they have a 3 star

facility. All amenities available to a 3 star hotel except the urban nuances of TV, Internet & Intercomm.
The furniture is typical Punjab culture style with a "manjii"(bed) to relax and proudly view the
majestic fields uptil the horizon. Far away while relaxing you can see localites walking, travelling in bycle and rural rickshaws.
The oil lanterns put in a line across the fields boundary and houses give it a very amazing look at
night.

Not far from the place is a old retro styled dairy farm manned by a family, no bottling plants or
packaging plants. Only raw pind milk in cans and tumblers.

Place is very safe of family & womenfolk, though at first look it seems cut off from external world.
For our stay safely was never a concern.
The managers take utmost care of this. Special purpose watchman hutment is made near the fields again giving a very natural and simple life aspect.

Local community is very simple in outlook, friendly and un bothering. Expect to be gently greeted by all passer by's with "sat sri akal". People both youth and old folk look at guests in a very courteous way. Food served is good and special personal attention is given to guests. The staff is friendly.

I always wanted to take my family, especially my little son to show him the glory of the land of five rivers, and this place lived upto the mark. Children can have loads of fun running around the fields taking a dose of fresh sugarcane from the fields, breating a healthy air.

Pickup and drop from Mukerian station is well organised by the local management at this place.

Not far away is a fields hand pump sprouting out fresh water from, so sweet and so clearly transparent.

Come and stay for atleast 3 nights/4 days and live a completely different life.

The border is about 50 kilometers from this place and nearby is a army cantonment about 30 kilometers from this place.

The community has a mix of all religions around, giving it a very retro old united punjab's feel.

The place will surely and surely remind you of the famour Gurdas Mann song, "Apna Punjab Hove".

Visit this place to live the magic moments of Punjab. Best time is in first two weeks of Feb or 1st
week of April with loads of cousins & family members.

Room Tip: Take last room from the main Food court area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishesh_Chadha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just one thing to say...if you want to experience the real Punjab without venturing too far away from the comforts of the modern life, you must add Punjabiyat to you Golden Temple_Wagah trip. The combination of lush green fields, gurudwara, simple village folks and authentic Punjabi food is worth the detour from Amritsar. We stayed with family in December when the temperature was near freezing at night. However, the experience of balmy sunshine once the fog cleared while sucking some juicy sugarcane fresh from the field is out of this world....Finally, the combination of professional yet customized service is something I have never experienced before. Must visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piyushrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Friends & I went for a short break to Punjabiyat right before Diwali, suffice to say it was the best holiday I’ve had in a long time! Everything was just idyllic and nothing short of perfect.

Staying at Punjabiyat is like going back to a lost world of charm and comfort. People have different concepts and expectation from a holiday. Mine is not doing anything at all and being pampered, which was fulfilled in every sense of the word at Punjabiyat. Pujan (the estate manager) made sure we were always taken care of. Sati (one of the staff) was our shadow – right from making sure our mornings stared with tea & food to accompanying one of my friends for a walk to the gurudwara, and later photographs of the sunset across the field. Pujan gave us the best possible vehicle of fun & exercise – the cycle. My other friendand I drove about 8-9 kms in all on Sunday (this is after not touching the cycle for close to a decade and a half!). What fun it was!

No holiday is complete without food, especially for food buffs like us. Dhani (the cook) will give any 5 star chef a run for his money! The scrambled eggs he cooked for breakfast would earn him praise from Vir Sanghvi (who by the way, is very particular about the way his eggs are scrambled!). But it’s not only the scrambled eggs – it was everything he made. The food was simple, wholesome and oh so delicious. I also became a fan of the chutney he served us to accompany our snacks (a concoction of tomato & mint). Pujan noticed how blown away I was so when we were leaving this morning, Dhani and he gave me a bottle of it to carry home. Now if that doesn’t demonstrate attentiveness & thoughtfulness, what does! On Sunday afternoon, they set the lunch table at a little meadow behind the lounge - it simply blew us away.

The staff made us feel at home. I really mean that. A lot of places promise a ‘home away from home’ retreat… I don’t recall any such trite assurance being made by Itmenaan but if anyone should be saying that, it is them. Nobody likes a vacation ending but for us we didn’t want to leave Punjabiyat. The fact that our holiday has drawn to an end took a while to sink in, it’s the ache to be back at Punjabiyat (even though it's been 3 weeks since then) that I’m grappling with.

If I sound like I’m gushing it’s because this vacation is the sort that dreams are made of. This review is to make sure the folks at Itmenaan (Punjabiyat) know how what a difference their staff and made to our weekend, and the memories they’ve given us for a lifetime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SreyaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punjabiyat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punjabiyat

Property: Punjabiyat
Address: Saidowal-Gunopur village | Near Amritsar, 143521, India
Location: India > Punjab > Gurdaspur District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gurdaspur District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Punjabiyat 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punjabiyat, pronounced panjab-i-yat, meaning 'being Punjabi', 'essence of Punjab', 'quintessential Punjabi', is meant to be an expression of the jest and effervescence of the Punjabi culture and its large heartedness. Punjabiyat offers an opportunity to experience life on a live farm ensconced within the rustic smell of the country. Stylishly simple four standalone cottages and a spacious lounge nestle in the gleaming expanse of farmland offering peaceful yet stimulating environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Punjabiyat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing