We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful view of the house with the fields full of sun flowers
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful view of the house with the fields full of sun flowers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Beautiful view of the house with the fields full of sun flowers
Side of house
Front of house, dining area seats up to 20 for that fantasic alfresco living
Swimming pool at night fall
Dining on the Balcony
Living room which opens onto three side of the house, gardens and large balcony
Living room for indoor dining
living room
Bedroom 1 - main living area,  with balcony and Pool views.
Bedroom 2 - main living area, opens onto the patios, gardens and children play area.
Top floor bedroom 6, great family room sleeps 4
Lower terrace bedroom 9, with 3 single beds
Top floor bedroom 7,  master bedroom overlooking gardens
Top floor bedroom 7, master bedroom overlooking gardens
Front garden with views over the lovely country side
Children play area with swings trampolines and other games for all ages
Spring view from bedroom 1 balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Verteillac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LoveTrave...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 11, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've been for Christmas and New Year and we had an amazing time.
The house is absolutely stunning, everything that we could have asked for was there and the Christmas decorations were excellent. Perfect location in the countryside. Even the bad weather did not stop us from enjoying the place and having a good time. I am sure that in the summer it would be even better with the pool.
We will visit again.

Thank you Robert

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2018
Thank you so much for choosing La Coutancie for your Christmas and New Year celebrations. We are delighted that you all had a great time and that you would return to try are summer season out. You were all very respectful guests and we would welcome back at any time. Look forward to hear from you all. La Coutancie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house and gardens; Ideal place for a family get together holiday!”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very well equipped for both adults and children.

The garden has trampolines and lots of outside toys for children to play with.

There is also outside table tennis, volley ball and boules.

The swimming pool is a good size and there is a games room with a pool table and darts board.

The inside of the house is very comfortable and spacious.

We ate outside using the two charcoal barbecues and the long covered table.

The views from the house are stunning; especially when you are treated to a beautiful sunset.

Lots of nice places to visit including two lakes with beaches that are ideal for young children

This was our second year at this house and I am sure we will return.

I would recommend this house to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Good Morning, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you and your family had a good time, it is also good to hear that you enjoyed the extensive gardens and facilities. Please keep in contact and we will look forward for you and your family to re visit La Coutancie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views, amazing house, lovely owner”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

La Coutancie gite sits on the top of a hill with amazing 360 degree views out over the surrounding Dordogne countryside and the little hamlet of La Coutancie is just down the road. You have total privacy and yet you are within easy reach of boulangeries (10 minutes drive) and supermarkets (20 minutes drive).
The house itself is huge with a very large, lovely and comfortable sitting room with big sliding doors out onto the fabulous balcony with great views over the pool and the fields and hills beyond. The house is very tastefully and well furnished and has everything you might need to enjoy your stay.
We were house hunting for 2 months in early 2017 and the house met all our needs and more. We had a great time there despite the long spell of poor weather and Storm Doris. As it was out of season, we couldn't use the pool but really enjoyed using the pool table in the basement - a great way to unwind after a days driving round looking at houses on grey winter days.
Rob is a wonderfully helpful owner who is great at responding to any queries quickly and is a really kind man. Andy, the pool/gardening man, was also a really nice and helpful and certainly deserves a mention in despatches!
We would highly recommend La Coutancie as somewhere special to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2018
Thank you so much for your comments, it was a pleasure for us that you staying at the house and enjoyed it so much. The views do make this house and very hard to sell how special the view is. I will pass on your comments about Andy, he is really nice and does a good job and very much part of the la Coutancie experience. Please keep in touch and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junnyliz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an absolutely fantastic place..”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived it was truly wonderfull. Inside, the house is beautifully presented and really well appointed. Everything and anything we needed was to hand. Outside is the same. All anyone could need to have a good time. From quiet walks round the extensive grounds,the fully equiped games room for all ages,the play area for the little ones and that fantastic pool area. Will definately be going back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay and we are so glad that you will be coming back to us, remember if their is anything you want adding to the house of games for your next visit just let us know. Keep in touch and look ward to meeting you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
860janetd
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really would like to keep as my secret !!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

do you enjoy peace, quite, wonderful scenery and luxury living then a stay here is a must. We had sold our UK Barn and wanted to try French life and as we had cats searched for the perfect location for a 3 months stayand we couldn't have asked for more. Hesitant at first to ask if suitable for only 2 of us plus the few guests we expected to visit but was assured that we would enjoy it there,. How right he was. Wonderful views and gorgeous sunsets. Near to the end of our stay the pool was warm enough to swim, the garden was beautiful and has been made more so during this Summer we hear from the owner. OK maybe the upstairs kitchen needs a little updating but nothing to put a visitor off. The bedrooms are lovely and a great games room, plus outside activities for all ages. Whether you are a small party or a bigger family gathering you will love La Coutancie. Yes about 20 mins to shops but we are used to that and was not a problem. We are returning again shortly to stay until our house purchase goes thro.......so be careful if booking here you might fall in love with the area and decide to buy nearby as we did.!!! Enjoy I'm sure you will

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rural location and wonderful views with all the comforts of a loved home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thank you so much for you comments and we look forward to having you stay again later in the year. You were fantastic guests.

It was a pleasure talking to you and we will be neighbours very soon, so it was a win win for all of us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property, and the remoteness and tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VivKev-co...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Even better than we hoped”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were fairly confident that this would be a lovely house, having done some research and reading the previous reviews before going... But the house and grounds surpassed our expectations and we has a wonderful holiday. Robert, the owner and his band of local helpers were extremely helpful and the range of entertainments, quality of equipment and linen provided all added up to a top notch location. Looking forward to a return trip next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing