We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Accomodation”
other travelers have booked this property
The South Wing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The South Wing
Southwing 1st floor 3d plan Southwing ground floor 3d plan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The South Wing
Southwing 1st floor 3d plan
Southwing ground floor 3d plan
Lounge
Bathroom
Bedroom
Kitchen/ Dinning Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Accomodation”
Reviewed September 25, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I needed accommodation for a wedding and chose to use Oakerthorpe as our base. We couldn't have been happier with the choice. All of the rooms are spacious with several being en-suite, the house and setting are both extremely beautiful and it was fully stocked with all the amenities we needed. Highly recommend to any large groups staying in the area.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clive s
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FAMILY FUN AT THE FARM”
Reviewed June 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Having searched for a property large enough to accommodate my family of fourteen, made up of eight adults and six children plus two dogs, for some time I was pleased to find Oakerthorpe farms details online. The South Wing of the farmhouse with six bedrooms a good sized kitchen and lounge seemed perfect. The property location and the added amenities of play area's and accessible animals was a real bonus.
The booking was made by phone with Rachel who proved very helpful in answering any queries I had.
On arrival we found a very clean, well equipped, well prepared property which we settled into very quickly. There was not even any disagreements over who had which bedroom as they were all very good. A food delivery saved a trip to the supermarket so we could enjoy a first pleasant evening.
There are barbecue facilities which involve hiring the equipment. I felt the charge of £25 was a bit expensive for the loan of the grill, tools and a bucket of charcoal bit we enjoyed the end product.
The farm is great for the children. They made use of the play area and the football pitch with even some of the adults joining in. The orchard with its range of animals was also a great attraction and provided an interesting view from the lounge window.
The owners warn of problems with the Peacocks pecking cars and provide covers if required. Ask for one. My car seemed their favourite, several times a day the male Peacock had to be shooed away before he attacked his reflection.
There is plenty to see and do in the area with good pubs and restaurants close by.
Overall a great holiday in a lovely property.
One point to note. There is a mainline railway that runs past the property which is not a problem in the day but can disturb light sleepers in the early hours.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beckett babe uni besties ”
Reviewed May 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Had a fab weekend here! Kids had an absolute blast the play park is safe and enclosed and they loved it

Being able to meet farmer Vic and feed the animals was fab and they loved collecting eggs

The house was clean and fully equipped

Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble

Will defo be returning xxx

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinM11...
1 review
“Lovely place to retreat to after spending a day exploring the White Peak”
Reviewed March 29, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A well equipped and comfortable farmhouse. There's a small paddock right outside the door with various livestock feeding. We visited Arkwright's mill at nearby Cromford, which was very interesting. A big plus for us was that our dogs could join us!

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penjn
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely dog friendly family weekend”
Reviewed January 31, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This property along with the basement, served as group accommodation for my family to all come together from all points across the country. It was warm, comfortable and well equipped and we all loved it. The basement allowed the younger members to have some space whilst the large kitchen and lounge upstairs gave us all somewhere to come together to eat and meet. Dog friendly and child friendly there was something for everyone

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Another great weekend at The Farmhouse Southwing”
Reviewed January 31, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This was our second visit to the Farmhouse Southwing. We are a group of friends now spread around the country who meet up each January for a post Christmas get together. The accommodation suits us very well being a mixed group of singles, couples and a teenager. There is ample room for us to spread out, play games and cook a meal or two. We find the kitchen to be well equipped and spacious enough for our needs. The wine fridge is especially handy leaving room in the main fridge for all our food.This time on our last night we ordered a Chinese takeaway which was delivered to our door very promptly. We also played badminton and bowling at the nearby Genesis Family Entertainment Centre, and went for a walk around Carsington Water. However what we really enjoy is relaxing in the warmth and comfort of this lovely old house.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wils17
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely house, great location, friendly owners”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I booked this for my parents 60th, we booked the South wing and the basement, there were 12 of us, both these properties slept 24, but I don't feel this would have been big enough for that number of people, but it was big enough for the 12 of us. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is: we had a power cut for a number of hours on the Saturday evening - which I appreciate is no fault of the owners but this put a dampener on the evening as that night we were cooking items for the BBQ we did for the birthday meal and this was difficult inside as no candles or safety lighting in the ground floor of the South wing. We had to pay additional for the BBQ which I felt should have either been included in the price or allowed to take your own facilities. The house is lovely and very beautiful, the location, facilities and information provided is very good. I would definitely recommend or return to this property.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you for your comments about the properties you stayed in, it is most kind of you.

As regards the sleeping arrangements the properties are frequently used for this amount and we have had no adverse feedback although we appreciate your comments and they will be taken on board.

It is a shame there was a power cut in the area on the Saturday evening which was obviously out of our control and I hope your evening was not disrupted too much however I’m sure you can appreciate candles are not appropriate for H&S reasons. We do supply safety torches which you will have seen – we will consult the maintenance team to add more of these torches to the properties in case of this rather rare event happening again in the future.

Regarding the BBQ we are unable to allow our guests to bring their own equipment after taking advise again for H&S reasons. As regards our charge of £25 inc VAT for our BBQ pack which consists of coal, utensils, lighters, grills/ trays for cooking, trolley plus the cleaning of the BBQ after use which you will be aware if you are regular BBQ use is a tedious and time consuming job on its own. The price after being carefully considered was arrived at after taking into account all the aforementioned.

I hope this helps.
Thanks for your proposed recommendation and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing