We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to retreat to after spending a day...”
other travelers have booked this property
The South Wing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The South Wing
Southwing 1st floor 3d plan Southwing ground floor 3d plan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The South Wing
Southwing 1st floor 3d plan
Southwing ground floor 3d plan
Lounge
Bathroom
Bedroom
Kitchen/ Dinning Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MartinM11...
1 review
“Lovely place to retreat to after spending a day exploring the White Peak”
Reviewed March 29, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A well equipped and comfortable farmhouse. There's a small paddock right outside the door with various livestock feeding. We visited Arkwright's mill at nearby Cromford, which was very interesting. A big plus for us was that our dogs could join us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penjn
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely dog friendly family weekend”
Reviewed January 31, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This property along with the basement, served as group accommodation for my family to all come together from all points across the country. It was warm, comfortable and well equipped and we all loved it. The basement allowed the younger members to have some space whilst the large kitchen and lounge upstairs gave us all somewhere to come together to eat and meet. Dog friendly and child friendly there was something for everyone

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Another great weekend at The Farmhouse Southwing”
Reviewed January 31, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This was our second visit to the Farmhouse Southwing. We are a group of friends now spread around the country who meet up each January for a post Christmas get together. The accommodation suits us very well being a mixed group of singles, couples and a teenager. There is ample room for us to spread out, play games and cook a meal or two. We find the kitchen to be well equipped and spacious enough for our needs. The wine fridge is especially handy leaving room in the main fridge for all our food.This time on our last night we ordered a Chinese takeaway which was delivered to our door very promptly. We also played badminton and bowling at the nearby Genesis Family Entertainment Centre, and went for a walk around Carsington Water. However what we really enjoy is relaxing in the warmth and comfort of this lovely old house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wils17
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely house, great location, friendly owners”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I booked this for my parents 60th, we booked the South wing and the basement, there were 12 of us, both these properties slept 24, but I don't feel this would have been big enough for that number of people, but it was big enough for the 12 of us. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is: we had a power cut for a number of hours on the Saturday evening - which I appreciate is no fault of the owners but this put a dampener on the evening as that night we were cooking items for the BBQ we did for the birthday meal and this was difficult inside as no candles or safety lighting in the ground floor of the South wing. We had to pay additional for the BBQ which I felt should have either been included in the price or allowed to take your own facilities. The house is lovely and very beautiful, the location, facilities and information provided is very good. I would definitely recommend or return to this property.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you for your comments about the properties you stayed in, it is most kind of you.

As regards the sleeping arrangements the properties are frequently used for this amount and we have had no adverse feedback although we appreciate your comments and they will be taken on board.

It is a shame there was a power cut in the area on the Saturday evening which was obviously out of our control and I hope your evening was not disrupted too much however I’m sure you can appreciate candles are not appropriate for H&S reasons. We do supply safety torches which you will have seen – we will consult the maintenance team to add more of these torches to the properties in case of this rather rare event happening again in the future.

Regarding the BBQ we are unable to allow our guests to bring their own equipment after taking advise again for H&S reasons. As regards our charge of £25 inc VAT for our BBQ pack which consists of coal, utensils, lighters, grills/ trays for cooking, trolley plus the cleaning of the BBQ after use which you will be aware if you are regular BBQ use is a tedious and time consuming job on its own. The price after being carefully considered was arrived at after taking into account all the aforementioned.

I hope this helps.
Thanks for your proposed recommendation and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
55Grandma
Wareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Family Holiday Home”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a great weeks holiday, the animals for the children was a big bonus, the play park was also a great success with the younger members of our group. Lots of places of interest in the area. Also spent a rainy day at the local sports centre swimming. Would recommend this property all bedrooms a good size and some very large. Only thing that was a slight problem was the dinning table in the middle of the kitchen. Fixed this by moving the table.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Southwing farmhouse for 3 nights for a 50th birthday family celebration. Every single member of the group had an amazing time and we couldn't fault the accommodation in any way. It was just perfect for our family get together, from the location and beautiful house to the fantastic children's play area and opportunity to feed the animals with Farmer Vic. Vic was so hospitable and we would love to return next year. We really didn't want to go home. If you didn't want to venture out, there's everything you need at the farmhouse. My little toddler absolutely loved the play and picnic area and we found the accommodation so relaxing and settling so tranquil. Thank you, Vic and your team. Our stay was idyllic and just what we all needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, accommodation, hospitality
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing