We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic from start to finish”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Milking Parlour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Milking Parlour
The Old Milking Parlour private garden Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
The Old Milking Parlour
The Old Milking Parlour private garden
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Dinning Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicky C
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic from start to finish”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We recently stayed here (9 adults and 2 children) to celebrate my Dad's 70th birthday. From the initial enquiry, Rachel was extremely helpful and professional. The property is well equipped with everything you could need and the onsite facilities were brilliant, especially for the children. Vic was always on hand and even personally delivered a dozen freshly laid eggs. I would highly recommend the property and holiday village!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hen party ”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We can here as a hen party. The building is beautiful and very well done out. The bedroom was smallish but more then enough room for a weekend trip. We were in the larger barn with a total of 21 staying. The living space was prefect for this. It was very well equipped with lots of glasses, plates cutlery etc. But no milk jug! I would come back on another large group booking as the place is ideal and always ready mentioned beautiful. A couple of downside is that it is very close to a train track and it is has no hot tub for our accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndw88
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very clean, lovely place, but unsuited to our large group”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Old Milking Parlour is part of a developing complex of barn conversions. Booking was easy. The price was good. Fairly newly opened, it is immaculate inside, with 6 double bedrooms, 2 of which are en-suite.
The location is peaceful and beautiful. The sitting room/kitchen is upstairs, so you get the best of the outlook. Great walking and pubs nearby. Beds are comfy and everything is in very good condition.
We filled the place almost to the brim, with 10 adults and 1 child. Unfortunately, for our group the venue wasn't great. We found the building's internal sound insulation insufficient. When one group decided to go to bed, they were kept awake by the others. And vice-verse in the morning. The larger en-suite rooms are directly below the lounge and kitchen too, so this made it worse. Pumps from running water was also a disturbance for us.
We also found the rooms only just large enough. The living area of the kitchen didn't have sofas for us all. Some remained at the dining table. I personally feel that less rooms and more living space would have been a better use of the building.
If you are a smaller group, who all go to bed at the same time then you will find it peaceful and gorgeous. Our group, sadly, didn't enjoy the stay as much as we should.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2017
Thank you for your comments . I will take your views into consideration.
Kind regards
Vic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onhannah1...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and service to match”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Old Milking Parlour and the team behind it were excellent. The service throughout my booking and stay was second to none. Speedy & helpful responses and the quality of accommodation was excellent. I would highly recommend this venue and commend their commitment to customer service.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukohacat
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good weekend away!”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We visited as a group of 9 adults and 6 kids. The house is really well done out, modern and a nice finish to it. The majority of the bedrooms are on the ground floor, two with en suites. Upstairs is the kitchen and living area with another two rooms. The kitchen was really well equipped, one of the best stocked I've seen in a rental. There's a farm on site but this was closed when we were there which was a real shame for the kids. My only criticism of the place was the outside lighting. Because the majority of the bedrooms are on the ground floor it would make sense to turn the bright yellow lights off at midnight, instead they shine through the bedroom windows all night which I found made the rooms quite bright. Would I go back? Yep!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn H
1 review
“Perfect family friendly weekend away”
Reviewed December 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Family from the north and south of England joined us for a birthday celebration weekend in the Old Milking Parlour. The football pitch and the children's playground kept the youngest members of the party amused, while the adults had their reunion. The facilities in the unit were excellent. Everything was of good quality and much appreciated by the family. We would highly recommend it to anyone for an even longer stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Would definitely recommend! Very clean and beautifully decorated with everything you could wish for readily available during our stay. The children particularly enjoyed their invitation to feed the animals with Farmer Vic! Everyone in our family agreed what a fantastic place it was and we have all gone home with some lovely memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing