We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great cottage, really comfy and well appointed...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Creamery

The Old Creamery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Creamery
Bedroom 1 Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
The Old Creamery
Bedroom 1
Sitting Room
View from the cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Inner hall
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
A warm welcome awaits!
Wingfield Manor
As the sun goes down
Spring at the cottage
Gated entrance to the Old Creamery
Parking area
Garden available for those staying at the cottage
View from the cottage
Garden in winter
View over the valley in winter
Nearby Lea Gardens
View over the Amber Valley
Summer charm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sam n
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“great cottage, really comfy and well appointed. Definitely recommend.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed for Xmas 2013 and as part of our trip needed to cook xmas dinner for ourselves and local in-laws. Never been to the cottage before but it was great. Owners helpfully provided extra kitchen kit (unasked) including fridge, extra small cooker and warming trolley which made a massive difference. Cottage is lovely, comfortable and well kitted out. Owners close by but unobtrusive. Problem with TV was sorted out quickly.

Date of stay: December 2013
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukeh87
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow, could not ask for anything more.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the old creamery at the back end of October for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. The greeting from Priscilla was warm and friendly and we were given some excellent local walks to try and places to eat. The cottage had everything you could wish for and the matching dressing gowns were a nice touch. The setting of the cottage was ideal with a lovely surrounding area and was within easy reach of the local attractions. Our only regret is that we didnt stay longer. We will definitley look to return in the future.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555pams20...
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent 5* standard self catering accommodation”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed as a family in this lovely accommodation for a 2 night stay whilst visiting family nearby. My dealings with the owners from enquiring to leaving the property was very friendly, professional and efficient. The property is very well cared for and very clean. We managed a local walk near to the property which was pleasant but muddy! The views of the countryside are a little restricted if you like to look out and see the beautiful surrounding scenery, which we do! We will hopefully return to the property for a longer stay, not only to visit family, but to visit local attractions (and walking) in the Peak District.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property excellent
Liked least: Views
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilary a
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were very warmly greeted by Priscilla and shown around this beautiful cottage. We immediately felt at home and wished we had booked for two weeks or more. The Old Creamery is all we thought it would be and more - very cosy and equipped with everything you could possibly want. Although close to the main road through South Wingfield it was very quiet and peaceful. When we had one very wet day there was plenty in the cottage to amuse us - we began a 1500 piece jigsaw, which, sadly, we didn't managed to complete. The popcorn and marmalade in the welcome pack were delicious. We will definitely go back and would happily recommend The Old Creamery to friends and family. Thank you very much Priscilla.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mal_Jorge...
Little Paxton, Cambs
2 reviews
“Beautiful location, delightful cottage, friendly and helpful host.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in the Old Creamery from 27th July to 10th August 2013. I was accompanied by my wife and sister in law. The cottage is an absolute delight, clean, well decorated, comfortably furnished and with all amenities including off street parking. Our host, Priscilla, was very friendly and a mine of information for the local area, but without being overbearing and although living in the adjacent building, we never got the feeling that we were being "kept an eye on". Her welcoming pack of goodies was very much appreciated, but the sponge cake did not last very long!!
South Wingfield is a lovely little village and so handy for the numerous attractions in this area. The Tram Museum, Richard Arkwright's Mill, The Heights of Abraham, Matlock Baths are all within an easy half an hour's drive from the cottage and Chatsworth House, Bakewell and Buxton are not much further, the Tram Museum in particular is only ten minutes away and is my personal favourite (Big boy's toys!) Wingfield Hall is well worth a visit and full of history but be aware that access is limited and guided tours are only available on the first Saturday of every month and must be booked.
The pub is literally next door but one, unfortunately the kitchen was still being refurbished during our stay but should be in full swing by now. There are quite a few other places to eat within a reasonable distance of the cottage.
Of course this area is ideal for walkers and cyclists and the cottage is in easy reach of many of the well known trails including the Monsal Trail whose tunnels are now open for walkers and cyclists.
Our 2 weeks went far too quickly but we had a really great time and I can't recommend the Old Creamery too highly. We don't usually visit the same location twice for our annual holidays but we may make an exception for the Old Creamery.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirky place , great location , great weather, good owners
Liked least: 2nd Bedroom no exit other than door
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laura F
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage and fantastic location”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I booked this cottage for a birthday weekend away for my Mums 60th birthday and stayed with my husband, Mum and Dad for two nights. The cottage is beautiful with everything you might need and lots of little touches throughout the cottage to make you feel very comfortable. The cottage is in a fantastic location to visit the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. We went to The White Hart pub for dinner on the Saturday, just over a mile walk, which was friendly and served beautiful food. We would all definitely return to The Old Creamery.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of the cottage made us feel very welcome
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing