We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting for my 30th birthday dinner...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Oakerthorpe Manor

The stunning Manor building from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea! The games room with pool table and quiz machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
54 reviews
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea!
The games room with pool table and quiz machine
The gold room has a bath with a view over the garden
The dining room can comfortably seat 24 people
The Well Equipped Kitchen has the Original Servant Bells
The first floor bathroom - contemporary and luxurious style
The garden bedroom on the first floor has views over the garden
The Master bedroom luxurious and spacious
The drawing room is large and opens directly onto the lawn
The hallway and stairway showing the original carved staircase
The Manor is full of original features
The master bedroom en-suite has matching sinks
The master bedroom en-suite has Victorian bath and large shower
The master bedroom in red and gold - luxurious and spacious
The master suite has stunning views of the grounds
The dining room is a great space for a celebration!
The bedrooms are large, light and airy
The games room has oak panelling for a club room feel
The entrance door has the original Victorian door bell and glass
The Manor House from the grounds - large and imposing
The drive down to the Manor from the gates
The Manor and lawn from the grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
claire m
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“I don't really know where to start!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Oakerthorpe Manor for my parents' 50th Wedding Anniversary. The website very cleverly depicts a beautiful interior - and the property could be stunning with the right care and attention - but it is in fact in need of some serious tlc! Wallpaper is coming away from the walls; there is clearly a lot of damp that needs addressing; carpets very threadbare; dishwasher old and not working properly (so 17 of us washed up!); no soap was provided in the toilets/bathrooms( this shouldn't even be an extra! ); one of the bathrooms is leaking into the kitchen; en suites neither big enough nor very pleasant; tv (needs updating) didn't work (which disappointed our boys as they had hoped to watch the world cup final and couldn't); dining room chairs broken; garden needs a huge amount of attention but in fact we didn't really want to be in the garden as we spotted a few rats running around!; games room ceiling looks like it is falling in; and I could go on and on. All in all this property is not worth the huge amount of money we spent for one weekend. We have stayed in many holiday rentals as an extended family(18) which have cost less than this and have been of superb quality. We expected so much more from Oakerthorpe Manor and it really could be stunning with some proper care and attention, and of course some money is spent on it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enough space for our large extended family to be together
Liked least: Amenities did not work
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry that you didn't have a good time - this happens very rarely! The Manor was built in 1840 and does have its problems from time to time. I shall address your concerns as best as possible. You didn't contact us at all during your stay to ask for help with anything - some of these things can't be changed in a weekend - for example, expanding the size of the ensuites, but I can assure you that there is nothing wrong with the TV, for example. A phone call would have rectified this for you, or for any leak in the bathrooms. We re-decorate once per year throughout the whole house - sometimes guests are a little more hard on the interior than in other years. The garden became overgrown this year following the sudden death of our gardener - we now have a firm who has quickly transformed the area. There are no rats though! The dishwasher is around 3 years old - I think that you're right, we should put in a new one, so have ordered one. However, it should have worked perfectly well for you without the need to hand wash the dishes. I often accompany our Chef to help with private dining for guests and have not noticed any problem with it, nor have other guests remarked. We also have 2 new fridges and 2 new ovens on order to go in over the next few weeks. New carpets throughout are in the plan for the next refurbishment, prompted mainly because a group of guests burned 3 large carpets with hair straighteners. The dining chairs often get broken by guests - people are there to have a good time!! We keep a stock of new ones and it is the responsibility of our housekeeper to check that the chairs are in good order. I am not aware of any request for new chairs since your stay. When you say that the games room ceiling looks as though it is coming in it sounds like the Blitz!! However, when the oak paneling was put in, it had to adapt to the nuances of that 1840 ceiling, which isn't flat and smooth. We are very clear as to what is included in the stay, in terms of wine, welcome pack, fruits, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid etc. We don't include soap any more as the majority of people prefer to use their own toiletries. In four years we have not had this comment, but I shall inquire of our forthcoming guests regarding the need for soap provision. The cost of renting Oakerthorpe Manor is on a par with a Travelodge. 17 people for 3 nights works out at just over £100 per person for the stay, or £30 per person, per night. I'm sorry if you felt that this was an excessive amount for your stay, but a night in a Youth Hostel sharing a room with strangers will cost around £25 per person, so I have to disagree with you there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cd234trav...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting for my 30th birthday dinner party”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I chose Oakerthorpe Manor as the venue for my 30th birthday because the accomodation looked fantastic and fit with the requirements of my guests, plus I wanted to host a dinner party and it had a large kitchen and dining room. I was not disappointed, each room was excellently presented and clean. Everyone was very happy with their bedrooms and bathrooms. Even the twin and triple rooms are well presented and roomy. The downstairs was very impressive, and many hours were spent at the pool table. The kitchen had almost everything I needed, and I was able to cook for 12 relatively easily. The dining room was a fantastic place for a dinner party and it all felt very grand. Overall Oakerthorpe was the perfect setting for a memorable weekend.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely weekend. Our Manor is the ideal place to hold large dinner parties.
We would love for you to visit again.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lord of the Manor 70th birthday party”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Oakerthorpe Manor over 2 nights for the celebrations of my husbands 70th birthday with 16 members of our family, (including 5 children who all thought it was brilliant). He was Lord of the Manor for the weekend and on the Saturday we had a family party and were joined by close friends, with the theme of posh frocks, dinner jackets and dickey bows. Everybody was very impressed with the house, and entered into the spirit of the evening. It was very comfortable and warm, very well equipped with crockery, glasses etc. There are some lovely old features in the house and we all felt very much at ease. Paul the owner who met us on arrival was very pleasant and helpful. We had a lot of compliments of the choice of this venue and would certainly recommend it to people who want to hold a large gathering. The only very small criticism would be that there needs to be lights on the drive and outside the front door, as people were arriving on a cold dark January night.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Dear Carole,
Thank you so much for your review.
We are delighted you had a lovely weekend, we have taken your feedback on board and are looking into having some lighting for the driveway put in place.
Again we are glad the 'Lord of the Manor' had a lovely 70th birthday and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire_St...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a family gathering in the Peak District.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I was looking for a house to accommodate a large family group coming over from Australia for my wedding and Oakerthorpe turned out to be the ideal choice. Like previous comments have stated, you have the atmosphere and grandeur of an large country manor but it also feels very comfortable and unstuffy.

It's very relaxed there are some top spots to gather together and party.

We found some great walks leaving from the house and we also made good use of the local pub, The Peacock. This has recently been renovated and it made a big difference to have a nice pub within walking distance.

The dining room table is massive and provided a great setting for some memorable dinner parties during the week.

Much better value than hotel rooms for everyone and much more fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and the character of the residence.
Liked least: The drainage in the showers was slow.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Dear Claire,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It is lovely that you managed to get your family together in one place and We love that you really enjoyed your stay.
we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail J
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hen Weekend Venue!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Myself and 14 other ladies booked and stayed at Oakerthorpe Manor, South Wingfield over the later May Bank Holiday weekend. The reason for the weekend away was for my sister's Hen party.

This house is an ideal place for accommodating the numbers we had both bedroom and catering wise.

Having read the previous reviews I was a little split on what to really expect (BBQ issues etc) but neither myself or any member of our party had any real reason to complain. The grass in the main garden could have been mown before our arrival and maybe some better garden furniture, but if it hadn't have been such glorious weather we probably wouldn't have noticed.

The house and grounds has such great potential but for the purpose of our weekend, it ticked all the boxes.

Some of the furniture could do with a bit of upkeep, but as a past reviewer said, we didn't feel so guilty about partying.

The grounds, field/forest walk near the property and local pub were lovely too.

The jewel in the crown really for this venue, is the member of staff that really made our weekend, Paul. We had pre booked some catering services, informal on the Friday night and formal on the Saturday evening. The food, service, table dressings, attention to detail really was second to none. Paul is such a credit to this business, they really should sell his skills more on their website. Nothing was too much trouble, and the setting of the table on the Saturday night was wonderful, all with wild flowers etc.

If you are looking for a venue to accommodate a large number of well behaved ladies or gentlemen, then this is the place to book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property and the catering facilities.
Liked least: The main garden could have been mown and some nice garden furniture.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Dear Abigail,
Thank you so muck for your feedback, it really is important to us.
We have taken your words on board and are looking in to new garden furniture for the summer.
I will pass your review over to Paul, he will be delighted by your kind words.
We are so glad you had a lovely time at the Manor and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It accommodated the no. required
Liked least: There were too many faults which should should have been rectified prior to my arrival . .
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2012
We seek to provide a first class stay for our thousands of guests staying at the Manor. We very rarely suffer any damage at the property. Unfortunately, Mr Peter Ellis caused significant damage to our beautiful 1840 property by making 2 large holes in the ceiling. Mr Ellis initially demanded compensation from me for his stay, as a smokescreen for the damage caused to the house. I visited the house following a phone call from him on the Saturday morning and resolved his reported issues within 2 hours. I refute all the allegations in his review, other than the leaking ceiling in the games room, which is awaiting repair. I have placed this matter in the hands of our solicitors, who have been in contact with Mr Ellis. Although never a preferred route, we are more than happy to meet Mr Ellis' legal action.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 26, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old english feel
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Dear Russell,
Thank you for your feedback it is important to us.
We are glad you had a lovely time at the Manor.
We would love to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing