We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Trip Ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bluefields
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluefields Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Trip Ever”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family went to Bluefields for the first time from December 22-29 / 2012 after having spent previous year end holidays either skiing or at all-inclusives in mostly the Dominican Republic. We decided to try Bluefields as we were tired of the same all-inclusive experience, notwithstanding the great beaches (rushing to get cots in the morning, reserving restaurants, mediocre food and terrible night time entertainment, rude guests), and thought that a more exclusive experience would be better - the best decision we made, for sure. Bluefields is private, quiet, very beautiful and you are treated like royalty. Our chef, Shaki, made incredible meals and accomodated all of our wishes with a huge grin and a great attitude. Tamara, our housekeeper, made the best omeletes we have ever eaten and kept the place spotless. Dwight, our butler, was incredibly attentive, always making sure that we were happy, catering to every whim, bringing drinks when we asked and when he thought we needed them even if we didn't ask - and he was always right. His enthusiasm to our comfort was over the top.

We stayed at the Cottonwood Cottage and it was perfect for our family (2 parents and two boys 18 and 22) with two bedrooms and a common living area as well as the treehouse where we ate all of our meals which provided stunning views of the sea. All our meals were served on fine bone china with sterling silver cutlery and lace tablecloths and although very formal, we felt perfectly comfortable coming to meals in our swimsuits and bare feet.

The bedrooms were very large and comfortable with the master bedroom having a shower with doors that opened to the outside so that you could shower effectively in the open air, but with complete privacy. The only issue was that the hot water did not work for the first few days, but it was fixed in the end.

We went on two excursions, horseback riding and the Black River cruise / YS Falls tour. I highly recommend the horseback riding - completely private through a 2,000 acre natural landscape, including a private white sand beach where the horses ran through the surf. I would skip the Black River cruise - pretty boring, but I would go to YS falls for sure as it is beautiful and very fun with a pretty high rope swing into the water, zip lining and natural pools. Bluefields sent us with a gourmet picnic lunch (best fried chicken ever) served again with real plates and cutlery (no plastic or paper), so no need to stand in line for tourist food.

The only issue we had was that the sand flies loved our boys who got very bitten all over, so bug spray is required.

We will be back again.

David D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    10
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
150
124
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I went to Bluefields with my family back at the beginning of November for my 14th birthday and have been meaning to write this for a while. We stayed in Cottonwood Cottage, and it was completely and utterly incredible. Every morning, we woke up to the sound of the roaring ocean and walked downstairs to the "treehouse". The treehouse was stunning. Open on three sides, you have a spectacular view of the clear Caribbean Sea as you enjoy breakfast. The breakfast service was a little slow, but you're on vacation, so if you just sit down, relax, and take in the view, it's no big deal. Next, you spend the morning snorkeling in the see-through waters full of coral and life. The best snorkeling is right by the coast, so it's super convenient. The waters are teeming with life, from thousands of fish to blue and green lobsters to creepy lionfish. We even saw a stingray! As the day progresses and the waters get rougher, the water clouds up. You then spend the rest of the day relaxing and enjoying the view from the shoreline, the infinity pool, or the public beach. With Dwight constantly bringing you gorgeous colorful drinks and Shaki preparing delicious Jamaican meals, the trip is truly perfect. If you are looking to try and escape for a couple weeks to completely relax, Bluefields is definitely the place for you. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Cottonwood Cottage is a very cute, secluded place if you're planning on going in a small group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Five of us stayed here and had a wonderful time. Staff is beyond caring and took great care of us during Hurricane Sandy........ you just get completely spoiled. You never have to leave the property to have a wonderful time............ Go and enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: You will enjoy the sound of the surf and it just lulls you to sleep.......... ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Bluefields Bay Villas are a perfect remote getaway in an ideal setting. The service is unmatched and the staff was completely accommodating and anticipated our every need! What a wonderful way to completely unplug and relax in paradise...

Room Tip: No bad choices among the 6 villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethesdabethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Frankfort, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We did massive amounts of research when planning a destination for our honeymoon in June 2012. We new Jamaica was where we wanted to be, but what resort to choose??? We thank the good Lord everyday that we chose Bluefields over a cookie cutter Sandals/Beaches/Giant Shuffle See and be Seen spot. From the moment we landed in Montego Bay and met Chris the Island Hopper helicopter pilot to when he gently out us down at Bluefields landing pad we knew this is where we needed to be. Upon exiting the helicopter, Neville met us with the "pop" of champagne poured into flutes with fresh papaya slices-wow! We were welcomed so warmly to our villa Milestone Cottage, by Thermagene, Jermaine, and Christpoher. Each of them made our week in paradise perfect. Thermagene magically kept our clothes and towels clean and the villa as "home-y" as possible. It was so nice to come back with the fresh scent of the ocean on our freshly washed clothes...no dirty suitcase to deal with. She also prepared our delicious breakfasts each morning with unique ingredients that seem simple alone, but she combined them into amazing taste sensations. My hubby swears he doubled his lifetime fruit consumption at Bluefileds breakfasts! Oh, the coffee and fresh orange juice were fantastic as well. We bought 5 pounds of special Buefields coffee back with us! Our lunch and dinner chef Jermaine was The Man. He was concerned from the start that he prepared each meal to our liking....we quickly decided that anything Jermaine wanted to make was fine by us! We are adventurous eaters and were happy to try curried conch, breadfruit fries, and the steamed cucumber...soooo good. Neville was our go to guy for anything that we needed or had questions about for the entire trip. From getting us around the island and answering my silly questions, to hooking us up with Ninja at the YS Falls, to whipping up banana daquiris he meant it when he said "If you're not happy and relaxed, we have not succeeded". Christopher was a constant light when he was at our villa. What a beautiful soul! Always smiling, singing for us and bringing the most beautiful flowers to me. He kept our pool and beachfront perfect and truly made our hearts happy. I couldn't imagine missing someone that you only met for a week, but we do truly miss and think about our staff at Bluefileds daily.

We promised ourselves and our friends at Bluefields that we will be back....maybe even with a few "little people" in tow next time!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sprusa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary by staying 8 days at Cottonwood Cottage at Bluefield's. We're not the type who enjoy the resort scene and were looking for a destination that would provide a special experience. Bluefield's provided exactly what we were looking for. We took the helicopter ride from Montego Bay to arrive to the most welcoming staff. Upon arrival at our cottage, my husband had requested a masseuse to be waiting to work out the kinks from traveling, and so began 8 days of relaxation and fun. Our bedrooms opened to the ocean for beautiful views, and the open air shower in the master bedroom was wonderful. The staff was fabulous and made sure our every request was met. The food was fresh and delicious.The jerk chicken luncheon was a fun event, and I discovered I now love jerk chicken. My husband is just disappointed he can't replicate James BBQ method exactly back here at home. We went on several excursions: YS Falls we highly recommend! Ninja, our guide was fabulous and got me across parts of the Falls where I thought I would go under for sure. We also had the best fried chicken ever on that trip! Horseback riding was also a great excursion and I finally have my picture of riding a horse on a deserted beach. Percy, our driver, shared so much with us about Jamaican culture on our drives that enriched our understanding of this beautiful country. Kerry-Ann, our son's nanny, helped to keep our 9 year old entertained so that my husband and I could actually have some non-video game related conversations:). We look forward to returning to Bluefields soon with friends and family in tow. It was definitely one of our best vacations we have ever taken.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenI61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our family stayed at Bluefield’s from 12-19 August for our family vacation. We stayed at the Hermitage and have nothing but great things to say about Bluefield’s and their staff, beautiful views, wide open villa architecture, amazing food (Thank You Ms. Rose and Ms. Sharon) and butler served drinks (Thank You Marvin).
We were a party of eight with one vegan in the group and we were at times quite the challenge. The staff handled us amazingly well and although some communication gaps (probably from one to many Appleton’s and Ginger Beer) things went amazing.
Hikes up the mountain (not a small hike either) kayaking, jogging along the abandoned road, Managers cocktail Monday (Thanks Marvin for getting us back to our Villa 8-) ), Jerked chicken luncheon, tennsi and a very inspired game of crocket!
We did a couple of excursions; YS Falls was fun with the swimming and rope jumping, the kids had a good time on the zip line. I was just a little disappointed to find out that the tubing adventure was closed because of lack of water in the river – apparently too many tubers were getting stuck. Bluefield’s packs you a picnic lunch with some pretty good fried chicken. We also did horseback riding which I found rather adventurous especially when the horses started galloping through the trails, both excursions are recommended.
We did have an accident (not of Bluefield’s doing) where my daughter had to go to a hospital in Jamaica and the Bluefield’s staff (and Heidi) was there to support not only our daughter but my wife, me and the rest of my family as well. It was a bit traumatic at the beginning but Bluefield’s had us covered (I can never thank Carmon enough for her concern and support throughout the episode) as we waited in the hospital. In the end everything turned out fine and my daughter is fine and doing well – THANK YOU HOUSTON!
We look forward to returning to Bluefield’s one day – Sorry we had already booked Cancun for next year – but will definitely try to be back the following year.
Go, enjoy, relax and have some fun – Thank You Bluefield’s!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2MuchFun4One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluefieldsvillas, General Manager at Bluefields Bay Villas, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and hearty endorsement of the villa experience we offer! It was a pleasure to have you and your family in Bluefields, and we hope to see you soon.

In the end, we are so happy your daughter is doing well. As a team, we practice responses to different scenarios. While this was one that we could have never foreseen, our general level of preparedness paid off. We are honored to receive your compliments about our response, and are happy for your recognition -- especially of Carmen for her remaining with you through the entire process. We realize that seeking medical treatment abroad can be nerve-wracking and it is our aim to stand by our guests and ensure they have the best experience on their vacation.

Please continue to be in touch.

Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluefields
22.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
21.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
226 reviews
64.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
1.6 mi away
Luna Sea Inn
Luna Sea Inn
#1 of 4 in Bluefields
59 reviews
26.8 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluefields Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefields Bay Villas

Property: Bluefields Bay Villas
Address: Bluefields Bay, Bluefields, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Bluefields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bluefields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, privacy, and luxury combine for a distinctive blend of all-inclusive Caribbean waterfront travel. Bluefields Bay offers the ultimate in personalized service at its six luxurious waterfront villas, each with a private pool and expertly-trained staff. Enjoy gourmet meals and tropical drinks as you vacation in natural settings beyond compare.The six secluded seafront villas are perched on the Caribbean Sea with dazzling views of crystal-clear sparkling blue calm waters perfect for snorkeling and sea-kayaking. Relish spectacular sunsets from this southwestern Jamaican fishing and farming village called Bluefields after an invigorating hike up the untouched mountain right behind the homes. This South Coast of Jamaica is unspoiled by commercialism, and so this is a place where visitors can interact easily with local residents who welcome them heartily.The private and luxurious villas offer gourmet meals prepared by your own chef to your personal specifications. Each house has a “headman” (Jamaican concierge) who serves meals, clarifies preferences on food and drink, and helps your experience unfold like the tropical foliage. Housekeepers not only keep rooms sparkling, but also send guests home with suitcases of clean clothes at no extra charge. And, if people bring children, devoted and caring nannies are provided. Each staff is rounded-out with a waterfront attendant, gardener, night porter for after-hours service, and driver when needed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluefields Bay Villas Hotel Bluefields

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing