We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintessential Fish & Chips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spud Box

The Spud Box
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Kaladar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quintessential Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Despite the long wait, one can call in an order ahead of time, these are fish & chips worthy of a stop on your journey. The batter is thin and encases the fish rather then overwhelming it. The fish itself is quite fresh so thankfully not fishy! And you can really taste it whereas examples sampled elsewhere tasted more of batter then fish. The fries/chips were well cooked, I would say double fried with a dark brown hue, crispy edges and satisfyingly soft interiors. In a word: Yummy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie2758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    5
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burger pit stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I stopped here on our way home from Ottawa. It looked a little rustic and fit in with the atmosphere. We each had the cheeseburgers and fries which were very good. The wait was a little long for our order but worth the wait. You must try the butter tarts. They were delicious. That being said the ony downfall was that we did not see a washroom there and they could use some recycling bins. All in all we would stop again going thru there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best poutine I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

$8 for a giant poutine. Absolutely delicious. Owner is a little rough around the edges but be straight with him and you're fine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This guy needs help! Can he even spell "customer service?"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I don't know if he is the owner or an employee but he should really find another line of work. We witnessed what borders on abuse not only of his co-workers but customers alike. We were starting our long weekend with a stop to get something to eat - what we got was so crazy, rude, mean and unbelievable I have to believe that he is unstable. No intelligent, self respecting person would treat anyone this way let alone customers. Not only did he humiliate the customer (who simply was trying to find out what a "penalty box" was) but engaged other customers in his rant toward her and then even used the "f" word toward one of her companions and made a comment referring to being glad he wasn't her husband, who was not there. I wonder what he would say if he were told she was hearing impaired and her husband had recently died. When one of her companions later went to speak to him he offered a tart to sweeten the disposition of the lady he had abused. Again, he claims to have the best food for miles and that may be true, however Kaladar is kind of in the middle of nowhere and "self proclaimed" best is subjective. We won't be stopping there again especially when there is a lovely "customer oriented" Subway right across the street.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Um...recycling?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Just stopped in there, shocked to see no bins available for recycling. Hate to think how many aluminum cans and plastic bottles are going in the garbage everyday. There should be a fine for this, it's very irresponsible.
The cheddar peameal sandwich was so- so, hotdog no better than any other. Fries were good if you like them very dark.

Helpful?
2 Thank jude1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spud Box also viewed

Kaladar, Lennox and Addington County
Kaladar, Lennox and Addington County
 
Cloyne, Lennox and Addington County
Cloyne, Lennox and Addington County
 
Kaladar, Lennox and Addington County

Been to The Spud Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing