We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant staff, hostile atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Darstein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Darstein
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Altrip
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Quite modest hotel facilities nearby of the nice lake, but you can't even enjoy it, because there is a fence between of the hotel and lake. Sure, you get the key, but only one key per room and you need a same key to have electricity in the room. So, full family needs to be simultaneously on the beach or in the room.
Staff is remarkably unfriendly. We came with the group of 40 people. As a welcome speech they told us that as we had not pre-booked our dinner, they may not serve us unless everyone says exactly when they plan to eat. Needless to say, that it did not help a lot. Service in the restaurant was a mess. Long waiting time, several drinks never appeared, paying the bill took more than 30 minutes and after all they claimed next day that several meals and drinks were not paid at all. I am sure that we paid them twice after all. Chaos!
As we were on the bicycle trip and we had transfer to the airport next evening, we asked at least one room to be extended to have opportunity to wash and change the clothes. They refused and asked us to release all rooms 11 am, claiming that whole building is fully booked. When we left 5 pm, our people figured out, that their rooms were still not cleaned...
Really bad experience and definitely I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Suite in 4th floor is extremely hot, no A/C and no bathroom. The bath is located in the middle of th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Darstein
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 50 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place originates from a simple bar/restaurant established some more than 50 years ago located to what is called the "blue adria". Have been there with my parents in law, mum, wife and our little one and spent a very nice evening. Very good selection of wines (all local) as well as a good balance of meat and fish on the menu. Will defintively go back and consider spending a night in the hotel too. A major renovation and extension seems to have been finalized some two to three months ago and in summer this place must be gorgeous with a big terrasse overlooking the lake. Appears to be also a very popular location for weddings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanish_Matador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was very disapointed to arrive for a wedding and see how unfinished the property is and shocked at the way the staff was not dealing with the situation. the front entrance as well as stairs to the back garden are unusable. The temperature was over 30 degrees and the AC was broken. There were construction workers in plain sight all day but no one was called to repair the AC. This sums up the mood of the day but the rooms were the real issue. Upon arrival I had 3rd floor lake view but the key was missing so I got second floor parking lot view. Not a big deal until I got in the elevator. The front desk staff appologized if there may be a few papers still out from the construction. I got in the elevator optimistically as the ground level looked finished inside. The elevator got stuck on the second floor. Luckily a staff member was with me to reassure me that itnwas not abnormal and we should be able to get out on the third floor and walk down. We exited to a hallway with exposed wires, paint buckets, random debris, ladders and a carpet covered in paper to protect it from construction dirt. The foyer to the 3rd and 2nd floors were almost identical in this way. The hall windows were wide open clearly airing out the place but that did not prevent the rooms crom smelling like chemicals from off gassing paint. The painters tape still lined the stairwell between coats and the hall walls were not yet built. The inside of the rooms were more or less finished in that we had walls and paint...and that ever present chemical smell that made me open my window. There were no curtains, trash can, or hair dryer. As I got into bed I noticed the fire alarm/sensor was covered with a red plastic covering which made me feel rather unsafe. The only positive point I have for the hotel is that the self serve breakfast was without issue. When we went to check out we were sure the hotel would consider the state of the rooms and discount the 119 ratw we had been charged substantially, especially considering my lack of lake view. The manager made a concession but it was far less generous than we expected all things considered. After staying here, even if the hotel was 100% complete I do not think the room is worth the 119 rate qoted based. This is my first review because I have never stayed anywhere that I felt the need to warn others of before.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slice19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_w1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eelang1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Snakecleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Sascha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrip
3.4 mi away
Residenz Limburgerhof
Residenz Limburgerhof
#1 of 1 in Limburgerhof
141 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rene Bohn
Rene Bohn
#1 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
222 reviews
5.3 mi away
SeeHotel
SeeHotel
#1 of 2 in Ketsch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Steubenhof Hotel
3.4 mi away
Gartenstadt Hotel
Gartenstadt Hotel
#3 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
31 reviews
4.1 mi away
Speicher7 Hotel
Speicher7 Hotel
#3 of 45 in Mannheim
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darstein

Address: Zum Strandhotel 10, 67122 Altrip, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Altrip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Altrip
Price Range: $99 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Darstein 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Darstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing