We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Shadai Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
The Venue Country Hotel(Hartbeespoort)(Great Value!)
$77
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanseria Country Estate(Lanseria)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valverde Country Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverview Spa(Muldersdrift)(Great Value!)
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$56
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kassaboera Lodge(Schoemansville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
127
22
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
22
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouseprivate poolguest housesplash poolgreat varietyspectacular viewsgreat hostsevery morninggreat coffeegoing out of their waythe hustle and bustleenjoyed our staydam viewboth timesnice breakfastawesome servicehartbeespoort dam
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 155 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at El Shadai tremendously. The hosts were welcoming and attentive. The suite was warm, friendly and very comfortable. The views were breathtaking and tranquil.

The within-reach amenities made the stay that much more pleasurable.

Congrats all round on a well-run Guesthouse.

Annette and Filipe

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filipe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a guesthouse not only with spectacular views, but its hosts are extremly welcoming, friendly and most helpful. The house is beautifully furnished and the splash pool at the penthouse suite is exquisite with singular views. The breakfast is just overwhelming with everything you could wish and think of. We enjoyed our stay very much!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Staying close to the coast My wife and I did not think much of having a stay at a dam, but when we arrived at El Shadai we were absolutely over whelmed by the beauty of the area, especially the view from our guest room, it was breathtaking. The guesthouse full filled all our expectations of a 5 star guesthouse and above all the hospitality we endured was far above expectation.
We enjoyed most of all the tranquility of the area , If you really need a break to relax, this is the place to be. What we also found very convenient is how close we were to all the amenities in the area. We can highly recommend this guesthouse as a superb breakaway from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Room Tip: The penthouse with its heated pool on the top story has the most significant view and feels very private
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Everything about the El Shadai Guesthouse contributes to its 5 stars. In particular, Susan and Peter, the hosts, make every effort to ensure that their guests have a great stay.
Our suite was superb and the view across the dam is magnificent.
Breakfast was enormous with Susan taking particular trouble to source some English style sausages for our son.
The location on the hillside is secure and quiet.
We took suite no 4, the penthouse at the top. This has a small private pool, and a private balcony from which to enjoy the view and the local birdlife.
The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable.
Our stay here was the highlight of our trip and my wife is already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This past weekend was the 3rd time we booked at El Shadai guesthouse since January 2013.

It will always be my guest house of preference in Harties!

The rooms are classy/ upmarket and well equipped! Breakfast is always excellent!

The view on the dam is beatiful and the the tranqual atmosphere makes it the perfect place for a break away weekend.

The hosts are warm and and always willing to go the extra mile! What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C noise
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews