We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Squires on the Dam

Squires on the Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice location, nice and clean and first class fish dishes, great place to relax and eat with children or adults only. THANK YOU AGAIN

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meso115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    55
    13
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

always a pleasure to eat there, the quality of the food is always good and staff are very friendly. ample parking with car guards. nice drive for a relaxing lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Managment and Owners”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I recently heard about the owners wife screaming on a staff member (a young lady was the victim) thats seriously unprofessional in my eyes, even the manager behind bar did this. Avoid this place. Its really not a good atmosphere. Drunk managers is poor business in my eyes. Avoid!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank morne1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but pity about the owners wife!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We frequent this restaurant whenever we are in Hartbeesport, the food and service is always great but we have noticed on numerous occasions the owners wife's attitude towards the staff. Screaming at a staff member in front of patrons is extremely rude and unprofessional. She should rather work behind the scenes! I pity her husband!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Plated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Uncooked, oily and disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Coming here on a visit to south africa, my husband and I were expecting a lovely meal opposite the zoo with family. The location is fantastic, unfortunately thats all we can say positive about this experience. The waitress didn't know what beer was sold, so we had to go to the bar to look. We ordered a meat platter, two vegetarian platter, and steak with a garlic sauce.
What we received arrived after 45 minutes, and served on our sticky table. The vegetarian option was rather bizarrely dripping in oil. Who deep batters and deep fries halloumi??
The "garlic" sauce was garlic in butter. Uninspiring and in the case of the boerewors....uncooked?
Every meal they served in our order, they managed to ruin in some way, mainly because of the greasy, undercooked food and sloppy service. Very poor all round.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squires on the Dam also viewed

Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
 
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
 

Been to Squires on the Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing