We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hill Tribe-Run Hotel In North Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phumanee Home Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Fang City B&B and Inns
Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Myanmar
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Friendly Hill Tribe-Run Hotel In North Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is a great place to stay off the regular tourist routes in the hill tribe region of Northern Thailand. The hotel was opened in 2007 by local Lahu hill tribe people. Located in a quiet area of Fang City it is a peaceful, relaxing place to stay.
Rooms are very well serviced and maintained. There is a restaurant on the ground floor serving local food. Displays around the hotel explain the culture and history of the local Lahu people.
The city center, shops and restaurants are within walking distance.
Trips are arranged from the hotel to visit Fang Hot Springs, local temples, waterfalls and Thailand's 2nd highest mountain, Doi Fah Hom Pok (2,285 m). You can also arrange to stay in the Lahu village of Pumuen at about 1,300 meters on the mountain to experience authentic hill tribe village life. Tea and coffee are grown here. It's a 14 kilometer hike from the village to mountaintop.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunt4Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
12
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Dome knows how to deliver. That's his talent and he does it all with such an affable nature (and donned in a funky- traditional mixed with modern - waistcoat and cowboy hat) that you can't help just relaxing into the journey and letting the good times roll on.
Being a local Lahu fella himself, he has great insight on the local hill-tribe customs and culture, but he is also switched on to what tourists and travelers want.
We spent two days with him and looking back now I can't believe how many things we packed into the day, and with it all feeling breezy and stress-free.
One moment we were had baskets slung on our backs and were picking tea, the next chasing village kids around, a little while later frolicking under a ferocious waterfall and at night we were treated to a traditional Lahu feast, cooked mostly in bamboo on an open fire.
Wait up.... then there was the old-school massage, which caused all of us to screech in pain, just after us boys had claimed we had extremely high pain-thresholds.... then there was the traditional Lahu dancing, which none of us - not even Shane, the tango expert- could master... and then we stayed the night with a local family, where the morning was spent sitting on the bamboo-slat floor eating a beautiful breakfast of rice, omelet and stewed spiced veggies and pork, while we watched golden steams of dawn-light streak through the wooden walls and smoke billow from the cooking fire in the center of the hut.
And all these cool events happened within one of the most beautiful setting I'd ever come across; scatterings of traditional hats staggered down the mountainside and far off in the horizon a great green mountain range loomed, squiggling the azure sky like a huge reptile had surfaced from the ground eons ago and made that spot his life-long resting place.
And not to mention the people in the village were awesomely friendly and hospitable, and I dug to no end their traditional attire - the colourfuly woven skirts and babble-jangling hats.
Anyways, it was The Real Experience and I can't wait to get the ball rolling again so i can go back to the good times. Cheers Dome, you're a legend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a great little Hotel that is very reasonably priced - excellent value for money. The staff and owners are really friendly and helpful. The hotel has simple clean rooms with an on-suite, a good restaurant, and on each floor a sitting area. In the sitting area on the first floor is a little history about the family that runs the Hotel and the hill village they are from. The hotel can arrange many activities including a stay at the village the owners are from (Doi Pumuen Homestay). Fang is an interesting city with plenty to do, but you could also just relax.

Highly recommended.

PS The map on TA is showing, at the time of writing, the incorrect location for the hotel. If you search on Google maps for Phumanee Home Hotel, 122/1 Moo 4 Tambon Vieng, Chiang Mai 50110, Thailand you will get the correct location. I have informed TA of the error, so hopefully this will be fixed soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlovatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Really good rates, we stopped by for a night on a tour of the North. Nice in house restaurant serving good food. the hotel is in the centre of this little town and we found the nearby pubs to be very friendly and fun. Would go again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Fang, in northern Thailand, is still a new area for foreign tourists. This is the best place to stay to gain authentic understanding of the local hill tribe people. The hotel is run by local Lahu hill tribe people. It is a delightful, new place to stay. The staff do everything they can to help visitors and give them a very memorable time.
There are nearby temples to visit. It is highly recommended to go on a trip up nearby Phumuen mountain to stay in a Lahu village homestay. The hotel arranges this. On the way are picturesque waterfalls for bathing. A hike to the top of Thailand's 2nd highest mountain, Doi Fha Hom Pok, can also be made.
Near to Fang there is also a hot spring and a national park.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hunt4PaulChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

I really enjoyed my weekend at Phumanee Home Hotel in Fang, Thailand. I stayed 2 nights and found the staff to be very warm and friendly. The owners are from the Lahu group and are proud to share information about their culture. They have a great display on the 2nd floor with lots of information about the Lahu people. They also arrange homestays in a nearby Lahu village, which I hope to do in the future. They helped me find a moto taxi to take me out to the nearby hot springs and gave me a good suggestion to visit nearby Thaton. I opted for one of the most simple rooms (least $) so although no frills it was clean and comfortable. I also ate dinner at the hotel both nights and was pleased with the food. Phumanee is a lovely respite from the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai and a good place to stop and rest if out on the Golden Triangle circuit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmaso01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed one night but will be back for sure. The hotel is owned by members of the Lahu Hill Tribe in the Fang area. They have some neat displays that share their history and heritage. You have a choice of simple rooms to large rooms decorated with local Lahu costumes, etc. The staff were extremely friendly and eager to please. The price was great and the restaurant food was delicious. They also highlight their locally grown hill tribe coffee and teas. I had what I call a "Hill Tribe cappuccino" with a touch of honey - delicious! A caring and pleasant group of people will look after you here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fang City
0.0 mi away
Kasarin Court
Kasarin Court
#3 of 3 in Fang City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khunyuw Hotel
Khunyuw Hotel
#2 of 3 in Fang City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkhang Nature Resort
Angkhang Nature Resort
#1 of 3 in Fang City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Akha Hill House
Akha Hill House
#60 of 138 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
BB&B Hotel
BB&B Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fang City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaton Hill Resort
Thaton Hill Resort
#2 of 2 in Mae Ai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phumanee Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phumanee Home Hotel

Property: Phumanee Home Hotel
Address: 122/1 Moo 4, Fang City, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Fang City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fang City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phumanee Home Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Phumanee Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing