We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good afternoon out”

Brading Roman Villa
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Brading
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
148 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A good afternoon out”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This museum is an lesson on how to make a potentially dull visit ,exciting !
The route through the ground plan is carefully constructed to give the best view of the wonderful mosaics,and provides clear and interesting information on the history of the house and it's inhabitants. The well informed staff are always on hand to provide additional information and share their obvious enthusiasm about the Roman history of the Island. The site is " child friendly"as was evidenced by two parties of children enjoying their school visit. We were also impressed by the high standard of catering in the attractive dining room,and by the the friendly staff in the visitor centre / shop. We would recommend a visit to this attraction .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    145
    30
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good visit.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Not one for this sort of thing I went with some reluctance but an open mind. The Villa is completely enclosed in a large well designed building, good on a rainy day. The inside is well laid out with a route to follow and various activities on the way round for youngsters. It includes a well stocked activity and Souvenir Shop area. There is a competitively priced restaurant serving good "Nosh"( Mostly local produce as far as we could see).
Toilets for those interested fine.
This was a real find and although well signposted difficult to find hidden away as it is. A visitors feature that seems to be some what under sold on the Island..
Well worth a visit even just to marvel at the Roman Building Skills applied, or to fill a rainy afternoon or morning..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful afternoon's visit”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was somewhere we had planned to go but we felt especially lucky to me a steward in the villa area who was friendly, knowledgeable and approachable. She gave us an overview of the villa when we entered and invited us to come back to her if we had any questions. We had a lot of questions and they were all fully answered, with her enthusiasm shining through. I was a little worried that I'd taken up a lot of her time and apologised as we left in case she felt I was monopolising her. She just laughed and said it was a pleasure to chat with anyone who showed the slightest interest in the villa and its history. The worst part of her job was talking to someone with no interest at all.

Later, she sat with us in the cafe (which is very good) and we talked even more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great historical visit”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a great place to step into a bit of history. The guide was very knowledgeable friendly and gave some great talks. The mosaics were great to see and taking photos was welcomed. Although this won't fill your day it is definately worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely building - well presented”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If the Roman Empire is your thing, then well worth an hour or so of your time. Not a high point of our weekend but good nevertheless.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Triple777uk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brading Roman Villa also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Brading Roman Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing