We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a rainy afternoon.”

Brading Roman Villa
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Brading
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reading
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect for a rainy afternoon.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was somewhere we just went to fill an hour. How wrong we were. We were captivated by the history of the place and the great knowledge shown by the guide on duty. The mosaics are lovely. We also learnt lots about the local geography that we used later in the week. Can't comment on the cafe but it all looked lovely.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Millarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    149
    31
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Educational and Interesting”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Sometimes Roman history can be a bit boring,think of never ending history lessons at school.This is different,the guides bring it all to life,and the displays are well presented.Plenty to see and lots of activities to interest children.You can even dress up in a toga,if you want!!The mosaics are beautiful,and the landscape outdoors is eye catching.The restaurant serves delicious food,all freshly prepared,and the cakes are Heaven.The staff are friendly and food is served quickly.I remember this when it was just a shed,with a few bits and pieces.Thank goodness for Lottery funding.A good day out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Something different for all the family”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is perfect for a rainy day trip as the villa is completely enclosed. My kids loved the audio guide as they do one especially for children. There is lots to see with plenty of information so you know what you're looking at! The staff are really good and are always on hand to answer any questions. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Interesting place to visit. Floor mosaics were incredible. The volunteer was very helpful and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RachelA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for all the family”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent an interesting couple of hours here. Mosaics superb, and exhibits were well presented and informative.

However, for us, the best part was the interactive hands-on activities for children. Our 4 and 6 year olds spent the whole 2 hours dressed as roman soldiers, and were completely engrossed with the various activities, such as piecing together their own mosaics, re-building the villa, and doing jigsaw puzzles of a well. Our 6 year old enjoyed reading some of the exhibits for himself and was genuinely interested.

Staff were helpful and very enthusiastic.

A super excursion for a couple of hours and would certainly recommend to others.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beckyh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brading Roman Villa also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Brading Roman Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing