We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tresaith B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Ship is situated just across a narrow road to the beach. All 4 rooms have sea views , great that you can hear the sea from your room . Very busy and a problem with parking in the summer , recommend a short stay off season. Food is quite good if slightly over priced ,good selection of beers again slightly over priced . Staff very friendly and overall would recommend The Ship for a weekend away . If you like a walk the coastal path walk to Aberporth is lovely with great views.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have balconies overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalesSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 384 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just had a meal in The Ship, first time we have been there for a few years (we live locally), have to say good food, friendly staff, overall very pleasant evening. Keep it up we look forward to coming again and will recommend to our holiday cottage visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I would love to give the ship an excellent review, but there are a few things that are a little tired that need sorting out, otherwise, the view from our bedroom window was amazing the food was fantastic if a little pricey, but the ambiance, the tranquility, the sound of the waves , sitting outside, and sleeping in bed was magical. It is a beautiful spot and I think this is why it is a little more expensive on the food and drink....you pay for the views and the atmosphere. I personally think it is worth it

Room Tip: Room no 2. Lovely views balcony etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The location is like finding a precious diamond hidden in a crown. Good for the soul as well as your heart. A spectacular place to revive your body and mind. Felt very well looked after with good food, excellent beers to choose from, very drinkable wines and friendly welcome. Perfect destinaton to relax and watch for dolphins bobbing across the bay. The peace and tranquility swells within the longer you sit and enjoy the ambience. Hear the waves, smell the sea and find the beautiful waterfall. Enjoy this little gem but don't tell everyone, they will all want to experience this for themselves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katharine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

As per my review under the restaurant side, the accommodation was very good (apart from the late night noise from the bar below) but we were charged £30+ for lunch the previous day (comprising 3 pints, a tonic and 2 sandwiches) which we had charged to our room - well above the menu prices.

On checking out, Amber the manageress wasn't available to deal with our concerns, the necessary paperwork to show what had been charged to our room wasn't available. We were told that we would be contacted with a rationalisation and explanation of our bill.

Three weeks later we are still waiting!

Poor, poor, poor customer service! We won't be going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigbadbobandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Amazing location and fantastic views of Cardigan Bay from the beachside location of the Ship Inn. We stayed in Room 2 which was spacious, panoramic views and a nice little balcony. Drifted off to sleep each night to the sound of waves after good food and wine. Staff polite and helpful.Walked the coastal path to Llangrannog, challenging and very muddy in parts,also a shorter and easier stroll to Aberporth. Beach ideal for families, short drive to New Quay for some dolphin spotting. We had a relaxing pleasant stay and will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 2 fantastic views and away from fire escape which is used by guests as a "back doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CymroSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Went for lunch and staff where very friendly very accommodating! Had a baby with me Beth and Jodie very helpful and nothing was to much trouble, took time to stop and natter with my baby, new management also friendly good luck!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty692003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tresaith
7.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
875 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
457 reviews
6.9 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Highcliffe Hotel
Highcliffe Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberporth
39 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#4 of 19 in New Quay
362 reviews
13.2 mi away
Monachty
Monachty
#10 of 12 in Aberaeron
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Tresaith, Cardigan SA43 2JL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Tresaith
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tresaith
Price Range: $105 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a friendly & welcoming place to stay, eat & drink. Perfect for those weekend breaks. All rooms offer amazing views of the beach which is only a stones throw from the Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Tresaith
The Ship Inn Tresaith, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing