We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose the correct room”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tresaith B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed in room no. 1. Had hard house music coming up through the floor from the kitchen each evening whilst the chefs were clearing up - luckily this stopped at bang on 11pm. Walls appear to be paper-thin: the inhabitants of room 2 had a hefty puking session at just gone midnight, with a slightly less dramatic encore at 2.30am, however, every last splatter was audible. We had dinner in the conservatory on the first night, with a sunset to die for. It was just as well that the view was so dramatic, as we had to wait nearly an hour for food to arrive, they got the side dish wrong, and even then the garlic bread arrived after I had finished my overpriced measly-sized main meal. They didn't charge for the garlic bread, and were abjectly apologetic - just as well, considering we sat down for dinner at 7pm but didn't actually eat anything until 8.15! The views from The Ship are fantastic, but this does seem to be solely what this establishment is trading on. Recommend that you AVOID! You have been warned.

Room Tip: Select either room 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 388 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Have come here several times over the past 4 years to eat and i have always had excellent food and service.....until now. Must now be under new ownership because both food and service are total rubbish. Waited over 30 mins for a steak and a sandwich and there was only 3 other tables eating. It has lost its appeal and i wont be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murraymint274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Tresaith Beach is one of our family favourite beaches. We tend to spend all day on the beach, whilst visiting this area, then when it gets a bit colder we go and sit outside this lovely pub, The Ship Inn for a few drinks. The staff are very friendly and the pub is dog & child friendly. We have seen Dolphins whilst sitting outside on two occasions. Quite magical. The only downfall to this location is the parking, if you dont get here early enough you have to park at the top of the cliff and walk down and back up again, but it keeps you fit!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferginator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We first encountered the Ship in 2012. My parents were really comfortable in their accommodation. We ate there many times. It was a bit pricey for a "pub" but the quality was great & the portions generous. The owner & staff were really friendly & helpful.

On to the 1013 season: we also visited many times. When paying £10 for a (fantastic) burger & chips I was rather insulted that I got half a dozen chips in a glass coffee mug. To be stingy with the cheapest component of the dish & still charge a premium isn't on.

The BIGGEST failure stopped us going there all together. We ordered two pints of real ale. The cask ran out half way through pulling the second pint. The half pulled pint was hidden behind the bar while the cask was changed. Without pulling the new cask through, the barman topped up the old dregs & served it to me.

I refused the drink & was asked what the problem was - "it's all the same" he said.

Sort your staff out - customers don't want to drink the dead yeast from the bottom of empty casks. BEST practice is to pull clean water through lines when changing casks although this isn't always practical.

Sort your menu out - we used to love you despite the fact that you were expensive. If you want to charge top end prices don't be tight with portions. A little glass mug of chips is taking the mick.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbotDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

To all the staff thank you for a warm and friendly welcome, superb service and food. Room was very clean, well furnished to a high standard with a fantastic sea view. Negative comments from previous guests are from small minded people that watch too much TV and don't get out enough needless to say they have time to write about the life and times of a chip. All your hard work is appreciated along with your friendliness which makes The Ship Inn a place to return to time and time again. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice location very homely. We return over and over again. With my buddies we love looking over the sea whilst the sun goes down with a nice drink and food, and the food is mouthwateringly scrummy, the staff are all lovely and are allways ready to help at every request, and is always a plus when staff are bilingual. Ardderchog! Anwen, Rhiannon a kerry.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Warm friendly welcome , nice room with great view, fine well kept Brains ales and good tasty food after very long day and long drive .
However only slight downside . Breakfast times more in keeping with holidays rather than business trip and could start a little earlier ?

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Brayingadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tresaith
7.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
889 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
460 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#4 of 19 in New Quay
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Monachty
Monachty
#10 of 12 in Aberaeron
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Yoga House
#2 of 2 in Tresaith
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Tresaith, Cardigan SA43 2JL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Tresaith
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tresaith
Price Range: $130 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a friendly & welcoming place to stay, eat & drink. Perfect for those weekend breaks. All rooms offer amazing views of the beach which is only a stones throw from the Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Tresaith
The Ship Inn Tresaith, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing