We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compared to two years ago, food and service are rubbish.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tresaith B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Compared to two years ago, food and service are rubbish.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Have come here several times over the past 4 years to eat and i have always had excellent food and service.....until now. Must now be under new ownership because both food and service are total rubbish. Waited over 30 mins for a steak and a sandwich and there was only 3 other tables eating. It has lost its appeal and i wont be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murraymint274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    89
    35
    46
    29
See reviews for
76
170
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bridgend, s wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Tresaith Beach is one of our family favourite beaches. We tend to spend all day on the beach, whilst visiting this area, then when it gets a bit colder we go and sit outside this lovely pub, The Ship Inn for a few drinks. The staff are very friendly and the pub is dog & child friendly. We have seen Dolphins whilst sitting outside on two occasions. Quite magical. The only downfall to this location is the parking, if you dont get here early enough you have to park at the top of the cliff and walk down and back up again, but it keeps you fit!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferginator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhayader, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We first encountered the Ship in 2012. My parents were really comfortable in their accommodation. We ate there many times. It was a bit pricey for a "pub" but the quality was great & the portions generous. The owner & staff were really friendly & helpful.

On to the 1013 season: we also visited many times. When paying £10 for a (fantastic) burger & chips I was rather insulted that I got half a dozen chips in a glass coffee mug. To be stingy with the cheapest component of the dish & still charge a premium isn't on.

The BIGGEST failure stopped us going there all together. We ordered two pints of real ale. The cask ran out half way through pulling the second pint. The half pulled pint was hidden behind the bar while the cask was changed. Without pulling the new cask through, the barman topped up the old dregs & served it to me.

I refused the drink & was asked what the problem was - "it's all the same" he said.

Sort your staff out - customers don't want to drink the dead yeast from the bottom of empty casks. BEST practice is to pull clean water through lines when changing casks although this isn't always practical.

Sort your menu out - we used to love you despite the fact that you were expensive. If you want to charge top end prices don't be tight with portions. A little glass mug of chips is taking the mick.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbotDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tresaith hotels

Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

To all the staff thank you for a warm and friendly welcome, superb service and food. Room was very clean, well furnished to a high standard with a fantastic sea view. Negative comments from previous guests are from small minded people that watch too much TV and don't get out enough needless to say they have time to write about the life and times of a chip. All your hard work is appreciated along with your friendliness which makes The Ship Inn a place to return to time and time again. See you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice location very homely. We return over and over again. With my buddies we love looking over the sea whilst the sun goes down with a nice drink and food, and the food is mouthwateringly scrummy, the staff are all lovely and are allways ready to help at every request, and is always a plus when staff are bilingual. Ardderchog! Anwen, Rhiannon a kerry.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Warm friendly welcome , nice room with great view, fine well kept Brains ales and good tasty food after very long day and long drive .
However only slight downside . Breakfast times more in keeping with holidays rather than business trip and could start a little earlier ?

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayingadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the 25th January 2014 for 2 nights. The Inn has 4 rooms, and we were in room 2. The location cannot be faulted being near the shore of a small bay in a very pretty part of West Wales. Being part of then Brain's Pub Group, but classed by them as an Hotel this doesn't share the same "group" menu of most of their other properties.
Our room, reached from either a staircase behind the bar, or by the outside staircase near to the Car Park , was a good size with a king size bed and a table with 2 chairs, wardrobe and chest of drawers The en-suite shower room was also a good size and both this and the bedroom were commendable clean. Along the bedroom wall was a French Window and Large window making nearly the whole wall a glass viewing feature. The French Window leading to a narrow balcony the full width of this splendid feature. The view of the Sea from our room was worth the price that we paid alone. There were two strange things about the room however. The bed seemed to have a apex to the mattress, so that my wife and I often found ourselves nearly falling out of our different sides of the bed during the night. The other oddity was the photo picture above the bed. This three part picture of shoreline rocks was hung out of order - An observational challenge perhaps?
The bar area is given over to dinning as this is a very popular eatery. Indeed this makes parking very difficult as with just 7 spaces, 2 of which are taken by staff cars, the car park fills up very quickly during lunchtime and evening dinning times. Twice upon returning we had to park elsewhere until a space was available. If parking is difficult on a wet and cold January weekend then summer must be a nightmare!
Although dinning here is very popular, it didn't please us. The menu was overpriced and over ambitious for what we had. The first night I ordered the 10 oz steak with seasonal veg. What came was a nice piece of steak cooked a little more than requested and some form of potato supposedly chips. What these things looked like was chip size pieces of potato that had been oven baked and kept warm for hours -ugh!! The other seasonal veg was half a small tomato on top of an overcooked field mushroom and some Rocket leaves (?).Not a good plate of food for more than UKP 16.00. We were not asked throughout the meal if everything was satisfactory, a shortcoming of management. The other problem over dinner was that of menu shortages. We dined at 8.00 p.m. and already some daily specials and main menu items were "off".
Breakfast, which is served at the very reasonable time on between 8.00 a.m. and 10.00 a.m., was better the first morning than the second. Again we were not asked if the food was to our liking. The full breakfast that I was served on the second morning contained a field mushroom upturned and swimming in fat - UGH!!!
So a good stay? Well yes but with the exception of the food service which is over ambitious and needs attention to both detail and content.
Would we stay here again. Yes when the food service is improved, or maybe in the summer when we could eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is large well furnished and has a wall of window to enjoy the view from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tresaith
7.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#3 of 19 in New Quay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
5.8 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Tresaith, Cardigan SA43 2JL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Tresaith
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tresaith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a friendly & welcoming place to stay, eat & drink. Perfect for those weekend breaks. All rooms offer amazing views of the beach which is only a stones throw from the Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Tresaith
The Ship Inn Tresaith, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing