We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely short break!”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tresaith B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Lovely cosy stay, cut short by the threat of the weather and being snowed in! Can't actually think of a nicer place to be snowed in apart from my own home! Good food and wine and a very comfortable nights sleep, will definitely be back to stay a little longer.

Room Tip: Rooms one and two have balconies but all have a spectacular view of the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggot361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for The Ship Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 377 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a fab location. Sadly the food is very average and service slow. Some staff friendly but some see you as interfering with their social life. The food was quite standard pub fare and was well presented. However it was overcooked and dried out. A burger arrived with no garnish and a stale bun. Good place for a drink, but give a meal a miss.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Yelekreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Beautiful location, dropped in for a pint and snack on a cold day. The log fire was roaring, very friendly welcome, tasty pint of real ale, and most wonderful Welsh Rarebit! Definately a lovely place to visit :)

Room Tip: You can't get any closer to the beach than this!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay and were really happy with our choice.

Lovely comfortable bed, spotlessly clean, amazing sea view, plenty of room, excellent shower and hospitality tray. Breakfast was outstanding with great quality produce.

Service could not have been better, very friendly and accommodating.

Although we stayed here to be near to our current favourite restaurant (The Daffodil at Penrhiwllan) we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food here. If we had to find a gripe, it would be that the chips were home-made on Saturday night but seemed to be frozen chips on Sunday night (they were still nice though).

We can't wait to go back and highly recommend this little gem of a place, perfect for a short stay and must be even better in the Summer. Unbelievable value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

we visited last year and had a great stay so decided to go back this year for a birthday treat. nov 2012. we had a different room and on arrival everything was fine. although it was raining the view from our window was great, sandy beach, waves so close u could hear them. we had a drink downstairs then went to our room for a bit until our meal later. we noticed a loud humming noise and we could hear voices from downstairs, doors opening and closing, water running etc. we realized that we were above the kitchen but hoped that perhaps it would be better later. we went downstairs for our meal and sad to say it wasnt as nice as the last time we visited, but the lady that served us was very nice, we should have complained and being a cook myself i suppose that you do look at certain standards of quality in food. i appreciate that they were a bit busy but we are customers and expect to receive a high standard after it has received such a good food award. we didnt have a dessert and went back to our room. as soon as we entered the noise was noticable.... we put the tv on but it was still above the tv. unfortunately this continued until quite late, we couldnt sleep at all and was releived when it ceased. On sunday morning it started again really early, i could even hear next door taking a shower, by this time i was sooooo annoyed and disappointed. on leaving we noticed a huge flu pipe going up the side of the building which was close to our room and would assume this was part of the noise.i wanted to come home feeling refreshed like the last time but that was NOT the case. please upgrade the sound proofing in the upstairs bedrooms, or you should notify people on booking that there is current noise right through the day above certain rooms due to kitchen. we travelled back and both felt tired and sad that this lovely place isnt the same

Room Tip: dont choose room above kitchen noise terrible
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guests2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having had an enjoyable lunch in 2011 my wife and I revisited in early June this year for an evening meal. Although a number of inside tables were empty ( possibly reserved ) we were told to take an outside table ( overcast weather ) by totally disinterested staff members.Not welcoming at all. We didn't debate this or argue but did as requested.
However persons in the small queue behind us also came outside only for moments later to be called inside for an internal table. ( regulars? )
Having had a drink at our table we decided to leave this inhospitable location ( despite it having a reputation for good food ) and we will never return or recommend to others.
We travelled back to New Quay and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal ( again ) in The Wellington

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank GlamorganRubicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely place to stay in late September. The crowds have gone,the pub is still busy and the view is just as fantastic. Nice relaxed atmosphere and good food with very helpful and friendly staff. Sharing the Fish Platter , a bottle of wine with the view of the sea crashing into the bay is a memory to savour. Stayed 3 nights; room clean and comfortable although in need of some refurbishment but then there is the view. Some good coastal walks to Llangranog and a lovely stroll to Aberporth from the pub. Out of season must be the time to visit this lovely little place, it must be hell in summer but then of course there is the view!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tresaith
7.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
835 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
451 reviews
6.9 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Highcliffe Hotel
Highcliffe Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberporth
35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ffynonwen Country Guesthouse & Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Tresaith, Cardigan SA43 2JL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Tresaith
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tresaith
Price Range: $126 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a friendly & welcoming place to stay, eat & drink. Perfect for those weekend breaks. All rooms offer amazing views of the beach which is only a stones throw from the Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Tresaith
The Ship Inn Tresaith, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing