We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't get much closer to the beach than this.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tresaith B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can't get much closer to the beach than this.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely place to stay in late September. The crowds have gone,the pub is still busy and the view is just as fantastic. Nice relaxed atmosphere and good food with very helpful and friendly staff. Sharing the Fish Platter , a bottle of wine with the view of the sea crashing into the bay is a memory to savour. Stayed 3 nights; room clean and comfortable although in need of some refurbishment but then there is the view. Some good coastal walks to Llangranog and a lovely stroll to Aberporth from the pub. Out of season must be the time to visit this lovely little place, it must be hell in summer but then of course there is the view!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    93
    36
    46
    29
See reviews for
81
174
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

After reading some good reviews about this establishment, our expectations were high and we decided to visit for a 21st Birthday meal. However, this was soon to be changed! After being seated and having our drinks order taken, when the drinks arrived, the two pints of lager and cider were completely flat. Then ordered our starters. After about 20 minutes, the waiter came back through to inform us that one of the starters wasn't available and we had to have something else. After choosing something that another member of our group had ordered, we were asked if we wanted them to come out in one bowl to share. Seeing as we were sitting at opposite ends of the table, we said we'd prefer them to come out as they should, on separate plates, but he still suggested that we should have them to share. Again, we explained that we wanted them separately to which he just walked off. After a further half an hour, our starters arrived. However, there were king prawns missing off two of the starters, and no butter was provided for the bread. Therefore, one of our party members, approached the bar and asked one of the waitresses politely if the king prawns were on their way, and whether it was possible to have some butter. To which she replied, rudely, 'What?!' THREE TIMES before actioning what we had said. Coming over to the table with a sour look on her face, without acknowledging anybody on the table, she dumped the butter next to us and walked off. We were sat close to the bar, and therefore could hear everything that the staff were saying. They were mimicking the member of our group that had asked for the butter. After a further 10 minutes, having finished our starters, the prawns arrived, over cooked. Instantly, we were not happy. To make things worse, after around 20 minutes of sitting with dirty plates in front of us, the rude waitress still had no intention of cleaning our table. One of the party members collected all our plates together and moved them onto another table which had just been left unoccupied, also with dirty plates on, to which the waitress behind the bar commented 'They've just dumped their f-ing s**t on he other table.' To which we thought, if you did your job correctly, there would be no need to have done this. But it is not nice to sit at a table with dirty plates which seemed to be attracting the resident flies. Anyway, we tried to put this aside, and looked forward to our mains, which were a vegi meal, and 4 steaks. The vegi meal arrived and looked lovely. Our party member tried it and said it was lovely. We couldn't wait for our steaks!! However, when they arrived, they were ALL cold. We ordered 2 medium rare, to which one came out rare, and one was almost well done, we had one rare which was cooked alright but was cold, and one blue, which was also cold. We asked to speak to the manager, but was told he was busy upstairs by the very polite duty manager (we think that's what he was) who was apologetic and said that he would sort it out for us. After informing the chefs, he returned and stated that the steaks would all be re-heated and therefore, would not be cooked like we had wished. To which one of our party members who had ordered the blue steak, said in that case, he did not want the re-heated steak. He ordered it blue for a reason! In the mean time, 3 of our party members went out for a quick cigarette outside. During which time, they saw the chef in the kitchen re-heating our food, whilst scratching his face and uncovered head, and touching the food and prodding the steaks, WITH THE SAME HAND!! Being a chef himself, one of the party members was absolutely disgusted by this! Anyway, the steaks came out, 2 of them were like rubber, and STILL cold, and another, surprise surprise, had a hair on it, not matching any of our parties. This was the final straw. After having put up with bad service, terrible food, and hearing the waitress bad mouth our table, we decided it was time to leave. The 'duty manager' was again very helpful and said we would be contacted in the near future regarding returning and having a meal there again on the house. This, however, will NOT be happening. The helpful man needs to get himself out of that dump, and go somewhere better, he definitely has potential in the industry, he dealt with us very well. On the other hand, I can not say the same thing for the other waitress who spent her time bad mouthing about the table within our ear shot, dragging her feet, and huffing and puffing when there was work to be done. All in all, poor food, horrible sour faced waitress, poor service, but a lovely Chinese picked up on the way back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cr2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Ship Inn was booked by accident but it turned out to be a lucky one.

We had intended to stay in Lower Fishguard and even though we knew the Ship Inn there had little or no accommodation (maybe one room?) when we pressed book that’s where we thought we were staying. When it came back with a Cardigan address we were bit confused but didn’t worry.

After eventually trying to find the hotel in Cardigan and eventually finding the correct address via an internet search, we drove another 15 minutes north and headed down to Tresaith Bay.
It was a beautiful still, clear afternoon as we drove in so all we could say was wow when the bay appeared in front of us.

Parking was an issue as the hotel carpark was packed so we risked it out on the very narrow road outside.

Checked in by one of the bar staff and taken up to room 1. Nicely decorated with a ‘beachy’ feel that went with the whole surf theme of the hotel.

We went and sat down on the terrace and had a few beers while the sun went down. A table had been reserved for us for dinner so we went back inside and had a very, very good meal. The crab was delicious, as were the fish cakes.

Back up to the room and a couple of issues – noise from staff (and friends?) having a drink after work came straight up into the room. We had to close the windows that made the room a bit hot. Then there’s the loo seat. For a guy you have to hold both lid and seat up as they just fall straight down. If you are doing the full business you will have the lid resting on your back. Surely it’s something that could be easily fixed? Shower water pressure and temp were a bit variable as well.

Met the owner (one of the owners?) in the morning as he was looking after breakfasts. A really nice guy who has done a good job of making his pub different from most. Aussies will love it.

Definitely worth the drive.

Room Tip: We had room 1 but I'd say room two, one in from the stairs might be better and hopefully it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here in January this year 2012, (a little late I know) and I am happy to say we enjoyed very much. Fantastic views, lovely cove/beach.
Restaurant was great too, felt comfortable and at ease - good menu with a good variety and some foods out of the ordinary such as battered black pudding of which I thoroughly enjoyed.
Would defintely go back and hoping to very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovertee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

on various says at the ship or just dropping in for a drink the staff were very friendly and helpfu on staying there found the accommodation very good rooms clean lovely sea views best room is number 2 food excellent main meals and breakfast no problems at all

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked a one night stay at The Ship Inn in Tresaith in September this year. Wow, what a very pleasant surprise. Call me a pessemist, but its such a wonderful change when you turn up somewhere new and everything is 'just right'. The setting, the room, the food, even the weather changed for us. I have come to expect to be dissappointed with British hotels and restaurants, but The Ship Inn certainly impressed myself and my husband. Our room was very beach hut esque and the restaurant was shabby chic and the food totally tasty without being pretentious. First class all round and very inexpensive too. We would definately go back.

Room Tip: There are only five double rooms, but they all have sea views. Room # 1 and # 2 have balconies. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a huge disappointment. We booked for dinner on a Sunday evening after reading a recommendation in the Good Pub Guide. The views were truly stunning and it is in a beautiful location. Sadly, the positives end there. When we walked in the people at the bar ignored me, until eventually a waiter asked if he could help. Despite booking in advance, we found we had been allocated a rickety, small table at the back next to the entrance to the toilets. When I politely asked him if we could be moved (to the front, so we could actually see these famous views!), he was surly and rude, but moved us anyway. Over the course of the meal we were served by no fewer than six people. Service was very, very slow and it took ages to clear plates away to bring the next course. I had scallops to start - 3 tiny ones spread across a long tray of lettuce to make it look like a reasonable portion. My husband's two crab cakes were burnt. My main course of skate wings was covered in sesame seeds/oil and tasted disgusting. My husband's burger was overcooked. We were still hungry and ordered desserts, although in hindsight that was a mistake. My Citron Tarte was in fact a wedge of lemon cheesecake served with a dollop of clotted cream (why?). When not serving, the young staff took to sitting on the sofas close to the entrance to check their phones and talk loudly about their social lives. One girl then started setting the tables near us for breakfast the next morning, clattering about loudly with plates and bowls, shouting to her colleagues and generally not giving any consideration to the fact that people were trying to enjoy a meal. Perhaps we went on a bad night, but this place needs much better front of house management, waiting staff training and a shake up in the kitchen. A good location will only get you so far and there are far better places to eat in the locality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siobhan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tresaith
7.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.9 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#3 of 20 in New Quay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Highcliffe Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberporth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
5.8 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Tresaith, Cardigan SA43 2JL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Tresaith
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tresaith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a friendly & welcoming place to stay, eat & drink. Perfect for those weekend breaks. All rooms offer amazing views of the beach which is only a stones throw from the Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Tresaith
The Ship Inn Tresaith, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing