We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bethania Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bethania Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Chalakudy B&B and Inns
Salem, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“its good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

stay in bethania was average...right from the rooms to the service it was ok......we visited just before the monsoon hence there was not much water flowing in the river too....................................

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prasadkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethania2225, General Manager at Bethania Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Athirappilly...

Thanks & Regards,
Prasad Kumar J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The property is located very close to Athirappally water falls and is good value for money for an overnight stay and visit to the falls. Though the rooms are a bit tiny, the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The food is good and they went to great lengths to prepare the dishes we had specially requested for. Definitely a good place to stay if one is doing a Athirappally Valparai trip.

Room Tip: Ask for availability of larger room if you are particulate about space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raghunathan_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethania2225, Manager at Bethania Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Athirappilly...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My family stayed there last week (18-20 April 2014) during our visit to Athirappally and Valaprai. We initially booked a normal double room for a single night. But the double room seemed conjusted for family and we moved to AC Suite which was available. Suite was spacious with a hall and bath attached bedroom. Food was tasty which was served upon prior request. The rate was very reasonable for a suite. Staff were very friendly and the place was neat.

The place being very good we extended our stay there for one more night and cancelled a resort that we booked at valparai.

Room Tip: Family suite is the one I chose. Its very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anoopal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethania2225, General Manager at Bethania Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Athirappilly...

Thanks & Regards,
Prasad Kumar J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

It was a fabulous experience staying in Bethania resorts with my family for a pleasure trip. All the crew of The bethania are really kind & friendly.They really made our stay an ever memorable. Saying about the room faced to the River and forest gives a calm and quiet greenish atmosphere.
Mr. Anoop helped us to reach the spots and explained all the things about the area and route and his boys were really well to care us and gave wonderful fooding experience giving our choices and their suggestion. Thank you. Definitely we will never forget Bethania . We enjoyed very well.

.

Room Tip: Try to get a room faced to the forest and River. ( A block 01st floor )

travelled with family

traveled date 01 December to 05

Room Tip: We selected A3 A4 First floor front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshwa162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethania2225, General Manager at Bethania Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Athirappilly...

Thanks & Regards,
Prasad Kumar J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our family stayed (4 adults+2 Kids) here during December 2013. The stay was above average kind. We stayed in four bedded suite .. Though there was ample space, things which can make the stay more comfortable like wardrobe, coat hangers, writing table/desk are missing or provided only in one of the rooms. The bath was attached to only one room. If it had been made a common to both rooms it would have been better, TV was there. But we did not use much. We went on a saturday around 1 p.m. The hotel did not have card payment facility. I had to go back 15 km to a nearby ATM for drawing cash. Being a remote place the ATM was inside the bank. As it was a saturday the bank would have closed by 2 p,m. I was lucky to draw the cash. Though the hotel allowed me to make payment on-line, as I needed cash I did this.. So friends take sufficient cash with you for other spends at Athirapilly. No ATM nearby..
The hotel is situated on a river bank. It would have been nice if the stay was during monsoons. Night was very calm and quite, we can hear the roar of water falls.
Morning complimentary breakfast was a typical keralite thing like Aappam, puttu, kadalai karry, egg curry, coffee/tea. Sumptuous and tasty... Eating breakfast on a calm river bank was most memorable part of my stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnalAnban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethania2225, General Manager at Bethania Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Athirappilly...

Thanks & Regards,
Prasad Kumar J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Its true that this is not a resort but it is a beautiful place - very clean and tasty food.
We stayed in the first week of Sept 2013 (AC Deluxe) - the rooms were pretty comfortable with a small living room and a bedroom inside. The view from the first floor early in the mornings are just not to be missed.
The food was really good...traditional kerala cuisine, luved breakfast the most... not a very grand spread but decent enough. The kitchen staff were always accommodating if we had some special requests.
We took a morning walk from the resort to the main road - and it was just beautiful...all lush green everywhere, with coconut trees and small streams and creeks everywhere. Our check-in & check-out were smooth & they did also arrange for our pick-up & drop from Kochi airport as well as helped us with sightseeing. Overall a beautiful stay and the rains added to the beauty of it....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siji_Johny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethania2225, Manager at Bethania Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property.

REGARDS.... PRASAD KUMAR J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Bethania Resorts is not a resort at all! The word Resorts in Its name is very misleading and indeed is a misnomer. If you resort to this place, (pun intended!) you need to be really desperate and have all other options closed!

When we still on the road, driving from Manantoddy, we got not one, but two phone calls asking if we were really coming. We had made advance deposit for our party of nine adults and wondered if they were were overbooked! But when we landed, we found that we were the only guests on that day. Perhaps if we had cancelled, the staff could have had a holiday!

The location is a veritable riparian delight. The food is excellent and the staff are very attentive. In those two sentences, I have finished saying everything positive I can think about our stay at Bethania. The rooms are tiny. Especially their double rooms. The suites are mores spacious because there is an extra room to move about. (We had the use of two double rooms and two suites for our group). The linen is overdue for replacement. The bathroom is cramped. Fixtures are broken. The premises could do with a good spring clean. Actually this is a very seedy place to stay. A big disappointment if you were carried away by the lovely pictures on the website of a vibrant place. Good job we had a party of nine. If we were there as a couple, it would have been very lonely and scary to be the only inhabitants in three multistorey blocks.

Finally, come check out time we discovered that they did not do book keeping! They had not got any record of our advance payment. So we ended up paying the full bill and sending evidence of payment on our return to base. To his credit, the manager refunded the excess that we paid.

Moral: Please save your receipts and correspondence carefully. Better still, if you are booked at Bethania Resorts, Athirapally, carry the receipts with you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imliooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethania2225, Manager at Bethania Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies.
I would invite you to contact me personally at 306-931-3013 (direct line), to discuss this with you further. (email is murray.waters@saskramada.com)
Regards,
Prasad Kumar J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chalakudy hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalakudy
13.1 mi away
The Hotel Elegance
The Hotel Elegance
#2 of 2 in Angamaly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls
8.4 mi away
Chedi Spring Valley Resort
Chedi Spring Valley Resort
#2 of 3 in Athirapally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Kandamkulathy Ayursoukhyam Resort
5.2 mi away
Hydel Palace Hotel Resort
Hydel Palace Hotel Resort
#3 of 3 in Athirapally
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
9.4 mi away
Athirappilly Residency
Athirappilly Residency
#2 of 11 in Chalakudy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethania Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethania Resort

Property: Bethania Resort
Address: Athirappilly Waterfalls | Vettilappara, Chalakudy 680721, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chalakudy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chalakudy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethania Resorts has 26 Rooms (18 A/C) and conference hall (125 pax) with all modern Amenities comparing of living room, balcony opening to the river and Hygienic toilets with 24 Hours hot / cold water.# By the side of the river we have our 24 Cover Restaurant serving Kerala and continental delicacies.......For a variety of Tour/Business holiday packages - Get togethers - Seminars - Event Management etc Thanks and Best Regards,Prasad Kumar J| Manager - Sales & MarketingKannankuzhy, Athirappilly, P O VettilaparaPlease consider your environment: Before printing this e-mail, ask yourself whether you need a hard copy. For Variety of Tour Packages - All IndiaHappy Holidays Kerala Peringattu Building,SreeKandathu Road, Ravipuram, Cochin-16 | IndiaBethania ResortsExplore /Experience /Enjoy in the lap of Nature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bethania Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethania Resort Chalakudy, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing