We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Battunga Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Watervale B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in one of the gorgeous cottages for 2 nights back in 2011. Great location - just far enough off the main road for tranquility yet easily close enough for a short drive (or a longer walk!) to various wineries within the Clare Valley region. Fantastic service, very welcoming and homely and amazing fresh produce for breakfast! Loved the pot belly fire for extra warmth and the beautiful property surrounding the cottage. Definitely would go back at some stage!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

The appartments/cottages were spacious, light and cosy. The combustion fire was really effective with more wood delivered every afternoon. The breakfast provisions were generous. We especially enjoyed the home made bread and local bacon. The kitchenette was good, with everything apart from a cooktop. The bed was very comfortable. It was lovely to be tucked away from the main road, and be able to go for a walk up the hill and look out over the valley. Would definately recommend to others.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KandG-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in these beautiful cottages for 3 nights. Its amazing how time flies when you enjoy such an experience. The owners were fantastic and went to every level to assist with our stay. Fresh homemade bread, bacon and eggs were a real highlight. The apartment was incredibly clean, kitchen facilities were great, and the wood fire topped off our stay. Would definitely recommend this to our friends and family :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Sweet little cabins tucked away on a small homestead on the edge of the Clare Valley.
Rooms are comfortable and spacious (as is the bed).
Breakfast provisions are very good – eggs, bacon and freshly made bread.
Room amenities are however average (kitchen was rubbish) and fridge/aircon noisy. For the money a bit more effort could have been made.
Nice walk behind homestead along ridge yields great views and grazing kangaroos.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sistersAussie, Owner at Battunga Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Battunga and the Clare Valley. Thank you for your feedback. in regards to the kitchen, we only advertise as a "kitchenette" which in Australia means basic kitchen supplies ie. microwave, electric toaster, kettle, large and small frypan as well as a gas BBQ outside in the undercover dining area. I understand that your husband who was the "cook" for your stay did not see all the kitchen appliances available in the cupboards. The reverse cycle a/c is only new, so I will check to see that the fridge is balanced properly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We recently spent the weekend in the gorgeous clare valley, staying at battunga bnb. The cottages were immaculatey clean, the service wonderful and the farm was a beautiful surrounding for our getaway.
The family running the property were only too happy to help, and they helped us plan our day to ensure we got to see the best sites. Wine tasting, the riesling trail, the markets they helped us plan it all.
The cottages were well kept, and well stocked for a rainy day (luckily we didn't have any) and you really felt like you were out in the country. The farm was also good to go wandering around, and the log fire at night topped it all off.

Overall we will definitely be coming back to stay, there were many more wineries to see and activities to do!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozadventurer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sistersAussie, Owner at Battunga Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We endeavour to make our bed and breakfast a relaxing stay for all our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Battunga was a really beautiful place to stay. The scenery was gorgeous and the cottages were everything we wanted for a lovely weekend away, better then the website protrayed them. The breakfast provisions were very generous and overall we were very impressed by the standard of accomodation for the price we paid. Extra bonus we saw kangaroos up in the hills and we were even privelidged enough to witness two little lambs being born!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marianne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The cabin we stayed in was very spacious and generally well equipped. The log burning fire was excellent on a fairly cold night and heated the whole cabin up well. My only two criticisms are that the hot water system is shared with the people in the adjoining rooms and can lead to cold showers if both groups choose to shower at once and the electric frypan and toaster are very small. The breakfast provisions are generous but the toaster is too small the for the delicious home baked bread provided and the frypan can only cook one person's breakfast at a time.
Small gripes in what was a very well presented and located B&B

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tholland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sistersAussie, Manager at Battunga Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Thank you for letting us know,as we have not had any guests refer to this, the pump has been replaced and we have put in additional pillows for those for like softer ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watervale
6.9 mi away
Thorn Park by the Vines
6.8 mi away
Mintaro Hideaway
Mintaro Hideaway
#4 of 4 in Mintaro
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watervale Retreat
Watervale Retreat
#1 of 3 in Watervale
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Clare Country Club
Clare Country Club
#1 of 3 in Clare
899 reviews
6.5 mi away
Reillys Wines Heritage Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battunga Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battunga Bed and Breakfast

Address: Upper Skilly Road, Watervale, South Australia 5452, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Watervale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Watervale
Price Range: $134 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battunga Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battunga is located in the scenic Skilly Hills, 2 km west of the historic village of Watervale. Named after the magnificent gum trees, guests can be assured of a peaceful and re-energizing stay on this 200 acre farm. Accommodation is provided for 2 to 12 guests - perfect for a small group of friends celebrating a special occasion or ideal for a romantic weekend away for a couple. There are 4 private s/c apartments each with private bathrooms, kitchenettes, lounge room and bedrooms. The Galah and Parrot Apartments suit 2-4 guests with 2 bedrooms with a QS bed in 1 room and 2 single beds in the other. The Kookaburra and Rosella Apartments suit couples with 1 QS bedroom. All linen and generous daily breakfast provisions are provided. Stroll through the hills on the property and view the abundant bird life and resident kangaroos. Cycle on the adjacent Riesling Trail. Sample the fine wines of the Clare Valley or just relax on the verandah or by the wood fire and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Stay for 2 nights and receive additional discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Battunga Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing