We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stoke Rochford Hall
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$45
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Eden House Hotel(Grantham)(Great Value!)
$84
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Grantham A1(Grantham)(Great Value!)
$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Stapleford Park(Stapleford)
$347
$327
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,502)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveler rating
422
389
334
194
164
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
389
334
194
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstately homebeautiful groundsafternoon tealovely settingboth morningstwo night stayself serviceshort breaksconesboth nightsbuffet stylesunday lunchrelaxing breakfood was lovelyfull englishyogurtmansion room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,291 - 1,296 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding. Our room was in the stable block and I have to say it was a bit 'tired.' The mattresses were a bit on the cheap side and the whole room would have benefited from a makeover, BUT that apart the staff and Mansion were really lovely. After the wedding ceremony in Denton, we attended a drinks reception in a beautiful large panelled room and then had the sit down meal in the library. The waiting staff were so polite, attentive and smiling, which made all the guests feel very welcome. There was a band in the orangery and guests were able to sit in large chairs to talk until the early hours. The thing we enjoyed was the space for everyone to mingle or just relax in a quiet space should you wish it.
At breakfast we were greeted by pleasant staff who seemed to enjoy their jobs.
This is a lovely venue and apart from our room, (which we were hardly in anyhow) we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay in the Mansion.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qqqqqq7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The first sight of the hall is very impressive and indeed a lot of the (public) rooms are very beautiful.
We upgraded our room to a Mansion Room as we were originally booked in to the Stable Block, but after reading a lot of negative reviews about these particular rooms, we thought it best to err on the side of caution and steer clear.
Our room was number 9 and it was quite spacious and clean with a good sized bathroom that was nicely decorated and well stocked with toiletries. I can't really complain about the room, but as the title of my review says 'It has potential, but doesn't quite have the 'wow' factor i.e. the building itself is beautiful, but the decor is a few £'s short of matching it.

But the main let-down of Stoke Rochford Hall is its' lack of atmosphere! We went down for evening dinner and walked into an almost silent dining room - there was no background music playing and consequently people were whispering their conversations for fear of being overheard by the other guests. The staff, all of whom were in their twenties in the dining room, were attentive and polite, but their young years and lack of experience showed as they didn't have the confidence to put some personality into the place and remove the awkwardness of the situation.

What a shame that this place doesn't have the atmosphere and interior to match its' beautiful exterior; until it does, I'll be spending my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic looking place this is, in a fantastic setting. A bit distant from anywhere admittedly but that's what you'd expect.
Cleanliness and service was fine, but the place does need some money spending on it. The common areas are shabby and tired. I appreciate that it is an old manor house, but there are certain things like wallpaper peeling off the walls which needs to fixed.
Stayed in the converted stables. The room was fine, small but fine, but the shower was awful. It was either scolding hot or freezing.
Food, portions were small and over priced but the quality was good, but you left the restaurant hungry.
Stay was for Business reasons and will be going back, but won't be looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrimper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stoke Rochford hall isn’t just a county house; it’s a bona fide stately home. The place is magnificent to behold. From the outside, it’s on par with Thoresby Hall (the Warner group flagship hotel). We arrived late on Saturday night and because of that, we missed dinner. The receptionist initially tried to charge us for the missed meal because he claimed that they still have to pay commission to the booking agent. He eventually relented after I pointed out that I had booked directly with the hotel and that even if I hadn’t, the commission for the meal was far less than the cost of the meal itself. He eventually gave us a key to our room which was hidden away in the eaves of the second floor. We had expected to be stopping in the non-mansion accommodation so that was a pleasant surprise. On the way up to our room, we had a quick scout round and visited the great hall, the library and the conservatory (or orangery). These were all beautiful rooms and totally in keeping with the grand façade. Our bedroom was really nice too. It wasn’t as opulent as the Ritz or Savoy etc but it was huge and pleasantly furnished. The hall partially burnt down in 2005 and so the rooms benefited from the resulting refit. The bathroom was modern and the room itself still felt very fresh. After unpacking, we ventured downstairs and had a drink in the bar but we were the only customers so we decided to get a taxi to Grantham. We rolled back in at 2am, overslept and missed breakfast. We had planned to use the health club and go for a walk in the grounds but we were too hung over so unfortunately, I can’t report on either of those aspects of the hotel. I can heartily recommend the various watering holes in Grantham though 
I enjoyed our brief stay at Stock Rochford Hall. It is a beautiful old pile and I wish we’d had a little more time to sample its delights.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank frankymRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The website pictures look great but they must have been taken years ago as the place is in need of a total refurb and the quality on the picutres is not the quality you get. The long drive up to the hotel is impressive and first impressions of the grand hall all lit up at night is lovely. We were allocated a room in the stables a short walk from the main house. All external doors are electronic and are noisy when closing. Our room (no 35) was on the first floor. It was very basic, one of the drawers was off the hinges in the dressing table. The dressing table had a mirror but to see through this mirror you had to be either vertically challenged or kneel on the floor, not ideal but sitting on the chair made me too high and on using my hair dryer blew all the sugar etc from the drinks facilities tray! The carpet was badly marked from the bedroom into the bathroom and the bathroom, well not ideal at all. The whole bathroom was the width of the shower cubicle so on climbing out of the shower was quite difficult to get dried without banging my elbows on the walls, oh and the shower stopped every 20 seconds for a few seconds and then blasted out boiling hot water. Someone in the room below us must have had a weak bladder as someone was going to the toilet several times during the night and every time they turned the light on by the pull toggle it started the extractor fan and it woke me up every time, just felt like it was in my room!

We went to visit the leisure facilities in a building that was a few minutes walk away. The pool from the outside looked like a greenhouse and the dome covering was covered in moss, the building itself looked like a school built in the sixties. The pool had no ventilation and it was difficult to see anyone else in the pool for the amount of steam and condensation. The edge of the pool was covered in mold and the tiles were cracked and old. The entrance to the pool was through some metal sliding doors that were uninviting and rusty. The changing room also had mold on the walls so we didn't stay there very long. Food in the Terrace Bar was very basic. The A la carte restuarant was the breakfast room also and had no atmosphere so we didn't bother with that. Breakast was ok, but it took 15 mins to replace the danish pastries as chef had to heat some up, and they ran out of jam. The breakfast room was also really stuffy and it took ages for anyone to ask us if we would like tea or coffee, I had to ask twice. Apologies but this is how it was, do I need to go on anymore, the place was just in need of a good overhall and lots of TLC, its such a shame that the owners have let it get into this state. On the plus side it is near to so many attractions and a great pub 10 mins away by car that did great food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews