We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A unique experience for WW2 history enthusiasts

I visited the fort with a group of friends; we had what amounted to a private tour with our guide... read more

Reviewed July 12, 2018
Bobtheviking
,
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fortress with a very interesting history

If you are interested in world war two, this fortress is definitely not to be missed! Aubin... read more

Reviewed July 18, 2017
Thomas C
,
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Read all 17 reviews
  
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
12
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews worth a visit german soldiers fort guide history belgium war fenton artillery features entrance
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 17 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile

A lovely little fort, a 300 meter triangle that has some 3000m of underground tunnels.
The best thing about this place is that it's original, it has basically just been left as it was after the war.
The guns have been removed and parts of it has been vandalised, graffiti and scrapbastards, scrapbastards is a word I learnt from the guide.
It still has its wartime damage, and if you go below you might even see how deep a German bunkerbuster anno 1943 goes, it's still right there in the floor( they went deep btw ).
Excellent day out.

Date of experience: February 2016
4  Thank Lasse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015

I was lucky enough to be part of a guided tour of this battle-scarred atmospheric fort in June 2015. We had a fluent English-speaking guide who had been partly raised in Britain who brought this historic battered place to life with good humour and many apposite points.
The present day bucolic beauty and peace of the surrounding countryside is in stark contrast to the silent testimony of violence shown by shell-holed terrain and pock-marked concrete at the fort itself. Once you enter the interior and are shown where the Germans were fought off from breaching and descend endless steps to the dark lower levels the place comes alive even more.
Much of the interior fixtures and fittings have been looted by post-war Belgian scrap metal dealers but our guide vividly described everything and actually the dank gloomy emptiness with occasional wall-art from the 1930's made it all the more of a hauntingly special experience - considering how much combat this place witnessed in the siege of 1940.
After the defeat of Belgium the Germans used the place as a testing-bed for experimental explosives and artillery - you can see the many holes in the ceiling and floor at the lower levels from where these hit the fort - and even a Rochling shell (inert! -I think!) still buried upright in the floor of one tunnel. It was fascinating to hear of this and so much more from our guide - plus to learn of the great efforts the team of volunteers who are working to maintain the place today - such an impressive achievement by them all.
This is completely worth a visit - just bear in mind the many steps involved, the gloom/darkness and at one or two spots the uneven floor and perilously hanging rubble in damaged ceilings. It's cold down there but not unbearable by any means. Certainly a place to put high on your historical 'to visit' list.

Date of experience: June 2015
5  Thank Gensing2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

I could write forever, describing the details of our visit. From the story behind the iconic hole in the towering concrete entrance to the astonishing four at a time shower cubicles; from the cliff high lift shafts and ammunition mechanisms to the beautiful and well preserved wall art, this was an experience that I will not forget. Our guide was passionate about thus evocative and historic site - could have listened for many more hours to his seemingly bottomless knowledge. For me - not to be missed. Beautiful artisan crafted ceramic poppies, mugs and tasteful items for sale in the museum nearby. Just fab.

Date of experience: April 2015
4  Thank mowiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2015

If you have any interest in WW2 history at all -- this fortress is a must visit -- The exterior is impressive -- but take the tour underground -- wow -- you really get a handle on the conditions people lived and fought in for 11 days -- A small garrison held off the might of the German army -- fought back -- shot down planes and fired 17k shells in only 11 days -- Open 3rd sunday of the month -- and a bonus is that tours are in English (as well as other languages) Not to be missed if you are anywhere near liege (The fort does do group bookings as well) A whole afternoon for €5 -- good value indeed - website is in french -- but English is understood and a couple of the guides do english tours. There is small museum a few minutes walk away which is worth looking at as well. The only negative is that it isn't suitable for people with walking difficulties as over 160 stairs (and the loo is a tad basic!)

Date of experience: April 2015
6  Thank BelgiumTintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews