We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Delicious Find”
Review of Albero Restaurante

Albero Restaurante
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Curridabat
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 25, 2017

Either you make use of the wonderful lead from Trip Advisory OR you have local friends who can find this hidden treasure. Very unassuming from the street in a small shopping mall, inside you step in to a bright red environment sending you to Spain. Met by owner Juan, we were given an overview of the cuisine, which is prepared by chef Wife. We brought a couple of bottles of wine (I don't think they have a wine license yet), and owner Juan let us know what they wines could pair with (being a sommelier). We were a small group of 5 and decided to opt for various Tapas..THIS IS THE WAY TO GO! The foods were amazing, and constantly changing. In addition both Juan and his wife proved to be fun company. I highly recommend this place...worth the search. Enjoy!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JulesinLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RESTAURANTE A, Propietario at Albero Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

Thank you! We love to share our coysine and andalucia's culture. You are welcome every time to our place!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2017

Having been dining and recommending Albero since,they ope ed five years ago. Unique,dining experience. Superb tapas, warm family like hosts Juan and his wife.
Don't really think there,is something comparable in Costa Rica. A large,slice of Seville in a,lovely intimate setting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RESTAURANTE A, Propietario at Albero Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

Thank you for visit us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2016

Had the pleasure of eating the greatest paella in the country with the greatest bread in the world on Sunday with my teenage son. As soon as my other family members( at home) found out I was at Albero I had 4 paellas to go. Juan sat with us during our feast and let me tell you what a wonderfully entertaining and knowledgeable person he is. Our experience at Alberos was an absolute joy. I can't say enough about this place. Thank you to Juan and his wonderful wife for making our experience at Alberos 5 stars!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Vatsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RESTAURANTE A, Propietario at Albero Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

Our pleasure!!! Thank you for your words! We are glad to meet you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2016

I can´t say enough about this restaurant. Went over the easter weekend with my son and wife. Juan and his wife were as gracious as ever. The food was sublime. The paella sold out while we were there. So we were lucky to have some. It was as good as it gets. Started with some clams in a garlic and wine sauce. MY O MY! As always a FANTASTIC experience. Counting the days till our return. Thank you Juan! Try the rice dessert! INSANE!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Vatsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RESTAURANTE A, Propietario at Albero Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016
Google Translation

gracias por los comentarios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2015

Authentic Spanish Paella. Need I say more. The most delicious, mouth watering home made bread. Owner operated! Juan was a gracious host. We called to make our reservation and pre ordered paella for 4 and to my absolute delight it was ready when we sat down. Fist time ever that my Paella experience does not become an Odyssey(time wise). How was the Paella? Best I've had in Costa Rica. Juan pulled a chair next to our table and we had great laughs over a glass of home made anise liquor. He was kind enough to guide us to other owner operated Restaurants he frequents regularly. My new go to place for Paella.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Vatsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RESTAURANTE A, Gerente at Albero Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

Olé olé olé!!!! Thank you for your word!!! For us is a pleasure to share our culture!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albero Restaurante also viewed

 
Curridabat, San Jose Metro
Curridabat, San Jose Metro
 
Curridabat, San Jose Metro
Curridabat, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Albero Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing