We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Leon(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Fleur de Lys(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$53
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Del Museo(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$68
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colonial(San Jose)
Free cancellation until 07/27
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$59
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
331
114
24
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
114
24
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecosta ricagreat hoteliron boardmini mallthe complimentary breakfast buffetshopping plazadistance from the airportdo not disturb signrestaurants and shopsmain highwayirazu volcanounderground parkingempanadassafe hotelupscale neighborhoodfluent in english
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 479 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Rooms were very modern, clean, comfy and as advertised - blackout blinds, English channels available etc. Wifi worked brilliantly across the premises.
Breakfast was great with lots of variety.
Staff were professional friendly and polite. Gym and pool were clean.
Negative is the location. The hotel is 5km outside the centre, further away from airport and other hotels.
The hotel advertised as having a shuttle to/from the airport but it was actually a private taxi that cost $50 each way. (I did use a public taxi to airport and it cost approx $32).
Whilst I loved the hotels room, facilties etc, for the price to get there from airport, you could stay in a higher standard hotel thats closer to the airport and centre & I would do that if I return.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
Thank Darina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas S, Gerente at Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017

Dear Darina O,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

It is very pleasant to see that you found our facilities convenient and our service, consistent. We apologize if the information regarding our airport shuttle is not clear, we will certainly review it to avoid any misunderstandings in the future.
Traffic in San Jose can become an important factor in travel times and, therefore, associated costs; it is because of this that we endeavour to provide a comfortable experience for our guests with a transportation service that is supervised directly by the hotel, offering high standards of service and security.

We re always eager to make you comfortable and hope that you will continue to chose us on your next visit to Costa Rica.

Sincerely

Tomas Schilling
General Manager - Hyatt Place San Jose/Pinares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tomas S, Gerente at Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 31, 2016

If your travel to Costa Rica takes you to San Jose / Pinares do yourself a favor and stay at the Hyatt Place. The property is as you would expect at a Hyatt Place and gives good value but the staff sets this property apart. Everyone (yes, everyone!) on staff works to ensure your stay is first-rate. We received great recommendations for activities, food and transportation. Our stay was a genuine pleasure, thanks to the whole team!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank CharlesTIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas S, Gerente at Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017

Dear Charles TIII

We are delighted to see that you felt a genuine endeavour to make your stay as pleasant and memorable as possible.

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Tomas Schilling
General Manager - Hyatt Place San Jose/Pinares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016

From the moment I arrived I was very happy due to the Pleasant congeniality of the staff . Combinations were clean nicely put together and the thought of all the details to make sure I was very happy . I have never been to Costa Rica but now after my stay here at the Hyatt I will plan now to return on our yearly basis now that I have discovered this particular Hyatt. This particular Hyatt illl forever be my home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank W5405EPjenniferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas S, Gerente at Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017

Dear W5405EPjenniferr

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.

It is a spectacular reward for such a hard working team, we will be privileged to welcome you back on your next visit to beautiful Costa Rica.

Sincerely

Tomas Schilling
General Manager - Hyatt Place San Jose/Pinares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2016

The hotel was excellent, the staff very professional, helpful and friendly, would recommend staying on any trip you have to the area. The food was great and the atmosphere was excellent, the drivers were very helpful and even came back to pick me up when my meeting was over.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank frankanthonyd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas S, Gerente at Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Dear frankanthonyd2016

Thank you for your beautiful revirew.
We are always eager to make you comfortable and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Tomas Schilling
General Manager - Hyatt Place San Jose/Pinares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews