We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, Wonderfull Breakfast - Excelent business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curridabat
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great room, Wonderfull Breakfast - Excelent business hotel”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

For a business meeting in Cartago I need to stay for a night in the west side of San Jose. Positively surprised to find a brand new hotel with excellent rooms and bathrooms, very clean, good internet and a spectacular breakfast at a reasonable price. The hotel is located inside a mall which makes it very safe. Also there are many good restaurants around. The staff was always very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    94
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
56
40
30
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

For the most part I loved this hotel. It was pretty new and in a convenient location for me. There was a plethora of dining options a step away. If something takes you to the east side of San Jose, this could be a decent option. There were, however, two things that weren't great.
1. Pool is small, in the shade much of the day, and beside a highway. They have a grass screen to block the view of Walmart, but it didn't block the noise. It looks like an afterthought.
2. Fire alarm went off 2 times in the early hours and each time a false alarm. The staff ignored them, while I did not. I don't take fire alarms lightly and expect a minimum of concern or notice. No one was downstairs at the exit and I waited 15 minutes. The next morning I got little more than an "oops" from the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CUbeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_SJ_Management, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We did in fact experience a false fire alarm during your stay, please accept our most genuine apologies for this disturbance. We completely acknowledge how disconcerting this was, especially as it took place in the early hours. As part of our Hyatt International standards we take the safety of our guests very seriously, our staff go through detailed training in order to ensure everyone's well being. On the occasion in question, our team verified that it was a false alarm following our emergency response protocol. Once this process was complete, we did not identify guests outside the hotel in our additional rounds of the property. This feedback is very important to us so that we may implement the necessary improvements to ensure a smoother experience. It was surprising for us to hear the innapropriate response that you received regarding this incident the following day, rest assured that we are following up on this.

We are happy to hear that you found our location within Momentum convenient and acknowledge that the pool is in an urban setting.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Hyatt Place San José/Pinares in the near future.

Luciano Julio - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent two weeks in this hotel for business in Costa Rica. The staff was extremely nice and helpful with everything that we needed. They spoke multiple languages - so English was no issue. There is a restaurant to grab dinner if its late and you don't want to go out. Breakfast is complimentary each morning and provides enough variety for you not to be bored. Also, eggs are cooked to order if you ask.

The rooms were very comfortable. They are new and trendy. We each had King rooms. The bathrooms have the necessities that you need (soap, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer). The showers had plenty of room to move around in. There is a partition between a 'living space' (with a desk and couch) and the bed. There is a minifridge - where I kept yogurt and water that I purchased at Walmart in case I needed a snack. There are English television channels as well - so that you are able to keep up with the news. The window shades block out light and it is very quiet. My only complaint is that the air conditioning didn't go below 20 degrees (or 68 F). I got used to it by the end of my stay - but I prefer it cooler. That is a very minor complaint. I really enjoyed this hotel.

There is a small pool in the hotel as well as a gym. It is pretty well equipped for a hotel with 2 treadmills, an elliptical machine, and a bike. It also has free weights. They offered free wi-fi, which I personally had no issues with the speed or service.

The mall where the hotel is located feels safe and has a lot to offer. You can walk to many types of restaurants (except do NOT go to Mira Miro - see my review). There is a Walmart right across the street where you can grab supplies if needed. There is also a drugstore and a couple of clothing stores in the mall. Like i said - pretty much anything that you need within walking distance. Try the Taco Bar, da Noi (gelato or light lunch), or Pikeos for ceviche.

I highly recommend the Hyatt San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our family flew into Costa Rica and stayed the first two nights of our vacation at this property.

The accommodations are classic Hyatt Place, with spotless interiors, friendly staff, and well appointed rooms.

What was exceptional was the view of the mountains, and the design of the rooms with large windows to let you relax and watch the fog roll through, or a lightning storm or a bright sunny day.

Located within a plaza/compound, there are great restaurants and shops with something for everyone. We were impressed by the children's play area at the end of the place, and the friendliness of everyone we met.

It is a bit of a drive to downtown to the museums; taking approx 30min; however, if I can do it, then anyone can. It is also about 30 min from the airport during rush hours

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pingadohtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Clean and modern hotel with all facilities needed. The rooms are big enough suited with all you need. (Coffee machine, tv, iron board, etc). One big negative point is the airco. It is on or off and when it is on it is full speed waking you up in the night. Only option is to turn it off. I check with some colleagues and all had the same issue so it is not me. The breakfast is what you can expect form a hotel like this. Nothing special nothing wrong.
The hotel is located on a compound with shops and restaurants. In total there is a dozen restaurants offering good food service but do not expect something special (subway, cheese fondue(?), Mexican, sushi, etc).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeToExploreThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My group ended up having an unplanned 2 night stay at the Hyatt Place in Pinares and it exceeded our expectations in every way. The rooms and the rest of the facilities were super clean, and the front desk staff was extremely helpful, especially Peter. We arrived at the Hyatt a bit late (after fleeing a horrible experience at another "resort" in Cartago/Orosi) and were quickly checked in at reasonable rates. The Hyatt sits within a grouping of nice shops and restaurants, enough that a traveler wouldn't even have to get in a car to find most anything needed. The location itself is convenient to San Jose as well as Cartago/Orosi and several other attractions such as Irazu volcano. I would highly recommend staying here for anyone needing a high quality hotel in the area!

Room Tip: The suites are a bit extra but very spacious with awesome showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a nice new hotel on the outskirts of San Jose. Everything still has the new smell and is in great condition. The breakfast is good, but was identical every day during my 4 day stay. The staff were all fantastic, genuinely friendly and interested in making your stay a nice one. The tv has plenty of English language channels and there is free wifi throughout the hotel. There are some nice views of distant mountains as well.

The Plaza Momentum where the hotel is located has a number of nice restaurants on the upper level where you can enjoy dining outside. The plaza is more of a strip-mall in US terminology than a plaza but it is nice. The drive to the airport can vary in length from about 40 minutes late at night to 1 hour 20 minutes in mid-morning. Overall this is a great hotel if you happen to have business in this part of San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc2005b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Curridabat
4.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,439 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 77 in San Jose
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
4.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
6.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares

Property: Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares
Address: Plaza Momentum Pinares, Curridabat 11803, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Curridabat
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curridabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Jose Pinares Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Curridabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing