We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wet, muddy, cold, just as then.”

Flanders Battlefield Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wet, muddy, cold, just as then.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of those things that everyone who regards themselves as British should undertake to appreciate the scale of the losses and the sacrifices made. The British cemeteries are beautifully kept. Only downside was a cafe clearly coining it in at 5 euros a time for 'trench' in back garden. Cafe not good for non-cat lovers, either. A small matter given the enormity of the battle fields and the sacrifices, though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    33
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tour of WW1 sites”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are going over to visit WW1 or WW11 sites, take a tour. We had two days in Ieper and Bayeux and one of those days fully dedicated to the was sites. We would have missed or not been aware of most of the stories. They know where to go , they know the stories and they make it come to life. Well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Batlefiel Tour with Andre as guide”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My parents, my partner and I thorougy enjoyed our "Grand Tour" on August 17th, as part of our short break in Ypres. Our guide, Andre, was very engaging and I found the tour very poignant and moving in parts. He clearly knew his topic very well and was open to questions throughout. It made a good tour an excellent one, which we all enjoyed. I would certainly recommend your tours and Andre.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another special experience.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is our second tour with Jaques and Gen. This trip was researched and designed around the experiences of our 81 year old friends father, who served with the 2nd Leicestershire's at Ypres . It was a fantastic afternoon, both moving and informative. Gen's research and Jaques enthusiastic delivery combined to make it an unforgettable experience! Our friend went home with a collection of personalised information about his father. Looking forward to our next visit, when we hope to book a Somme tour with Flanders Battlefield tours. We highly recommend Jaques and Gen.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Informative and thought provoking”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Jack our tour guide was able to provide us with an array of detail. He took us to several different places and explained their significance along the way. He was brilliant with our children too and answered all of their many questions

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flanders Battlefield Tours also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Flanders Battlefield Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing