We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great location & superbly equipped”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Two White Pigeons

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davidgZ55...
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great location & superbly equipped”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for a couple of nights as an adult family of 5. The 3 bedrooms coped with us easily. Every room was equipped, decorated and furnished to a high standard. Great communications too. Only reason for 4 star instead of 5 was the steep steps between the floors. Touch and go whether it was better to go downstairs backwards instead of frontwards. That was the only blip though. Location is great, only10 minutes leisurely walk from town centre. No parking direct outside but plenty nearby.

Really enjoyed our stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: decorations and furnishings
Liked least: stairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Thank you so much for your very enthusiastic feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue S
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation / Great Location”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed here with my wife and two teenage children for four nights. We used the Two White Pigeons as a base for exploring Flanders. The accommodation was very comfortable and had everything we needed. It was in a great location and very central and handy for a short walk into the centre of town.

We were greeted by Alexander's Dad who was very helpful and nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
It was truly a pleasure to have you and your family stay at our place. We had very open communication lines prior to the trip. You are warm and friendly people, who left they house extremely neat and tidy upon check-out. We surely look forwards towards hosting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Judit...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were a party of 4 friends and had already stayed 3 nights in another property in Ypres. This property was a bit smaller but was beautifully clean, newly decorated and fitted out to a very high standard. We were met as arranged by Luc, the owners father, and he was very helpful explaining where everything was. Alexander, the owner, had been quick to reply to any queries we had before our trip. The location of the house was very handy for the town centre and there was no problem with parking. The stairs were rather steep and narrow so this property would not be suitable for those with mobility problems but for everyone else it was fine. We would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and the white room at the top of the house was stunning!
Liked least: Utilities were billed separately but there was no mention of this in the details.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful accomodation”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent four nights at the 2 White Pidgeons and have to say that it was first rate. All the rooms were comfortable and well kitted out. Everything is as described on the website.
You are a 3 minute walk to the centre and under ten to the Menin Gate. Perfect!

We were met by the owners Father at the time agreed and he was more than happy to answer questions and gave us some guidance for the area.

Stairs are steep but you do get used to them!

If we return to Ypres we would certainly be stopping here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: Parking the car 20 yards away
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBriens2
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House fantastic! Location fantastic!”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We really enjoyed our trip to Ypres, made even more enjoyable by our stay at the Two White Pigeons!
The house was fantastic, modern, very stylish and spotlessly clean,converted in line with the traditional houses of the area and therefore had quite steep stairs which might be a bit difficult for those with a mobility problem, although we have to say we didn't have a problem with them at all.
Lovely spacious rooms and a fully equipped kitchen!
The location was excellent, with a supermarket, lovely cafes, restaurants, the Menin Gate and all the tourist attractions just a very short walk away.
It was a pleasure to meet the owner's lovely parents who gave us lots of very useful information and advice.
Parking near the house wasn't a problem at all with the blue badge, and there were also car parks nearby.
Alexander, the owner, was extremely helpful and responded to all our questions almost immediately!
We would definitely stay at Two White Pigeons again when we return to Ypres.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing