We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house in ideal location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gite de Lombard

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Karen...
1 review
“Perfect house in ideal location”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed at gite de lombard with family for our annual Christmas weekend trip. Couldn't have picked a better place. The house is in an ideal location about 5 minutes walk into the town centre. The house itself is finished to a high standard and we received a very friendly welcome on arrival from the owner. The house is well equipped if you wished to cook but we ate out most of the time. As we arrived early evening we asked if there was somewhere the owner could recommend for us to eat - no problem there- Sven even booked a table for us. I would certainly book this property again and look forward to visiting soon

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome and and well equipped house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenEMBL
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Central house with everything you could need and great welcome”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Had a wonderful stay in this fantastic house. Literally a few minutes walk from the main square and from beautiful walks through the woods, this house is perfectly located for exploring both Ypres and the nearby area. The owner has arranged parking on street (max 3 hours with permit) and unlimited in the car park of a shop literally just up the road. This closes at 6.30 so the cars are secure overnight, so parking's no problem despite Ypres's parking limitations.

The house is kitted out with everything you could need (perhaps the only thing missing is a washing machine, so be prepared to hand wash) and is clean and functional. Recently renovated it's also beautifully designed and feels both cosy and practical. The roof terrace which leads through french windows from the kitchen is a real highlight if the weather's good, and we enjoyed many breakfast's and evening drinks. Just be careful of the mosquitos if you leave windows open so bringing anti-mosquito spray or plug-ins is a good idea as we did get some bites! Main bedroom is a great size, with an upper story for kids to stay in, and although second bedroom is a bit smaller it's still a great double and easily fitted my daughter's mattress on the floor next to the bed. Bathroom is very large with a walk-in shower and two sinks so plenty of room for the whole family to use. Only downside would be for people with limited mobility, as the house is the second and third floors, up a flight of stairs.

There was a wonderful, friendly welcome when we arrived, with a sample box of chocolates and local beers which was welcome after a long drive! The owners have also kitted the place out with all the bits and pieces you might need such as dishwasher tablets, washing-up liquid, kitchen spray, bin bags etc, so you really don't need to worry about all those kinds of things which is great.

All in all, we loved staying here and it's fantastic value for money. We'll definitely come back and look forward to our next stay. I'd recommend it 100%

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and design
Liked least: lack of washing machine
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimatt201...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation in Ypres”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The appartment is very close to the centre of Ypres, so you can park up, then walk everywhere. It is very stylishly decorated with a wonderful terrace which is a real sun trap. The flat is kitted out with everything you could possibly need, and it's all of the highest quality. Having the owner live next door makes it very easy for key collection and they were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this property, and would stay again if we were ever to come back..

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun terrace
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahWI90...
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I highly recommended this hoilday apartment”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Fantastic, more than we could have hoped for - great apartment, great location, great hosts.

The equipment provided to self cater was brilliant, lots of utensils and even some basics like kitchen foil and olive oil are there for your convenience. The furnishings are high quality too so you felt at home.

Having never visited Belgium before we opted for Ieper by chance and what a lucky choice, it's a lovely place with lots to do. We used the train during our stay (which was very reasonably priced) which gave us a break from driving. When the car was not used it stayed parked in the Lombardsraat overnight or the free all day car park only 3 minutes walk away.

I could say more but honestly just go and experience it yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Family_wi...
Sittard, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great place, excellent base for cultural visits”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed with our family, inclusief young kids at Gite early August and had a great time. The house is well-decorated with a sense for design, located at walking distance of the centre. It is also near to the city walls from which you can enjoy a nice walk to the Menenpoort. The owners are really friendly. Perfect home for your stay in Ypres.

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn E
Waasmunster, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks for the wonderfull stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the honer to be one of the first visiters of ‘Gîte the Lombard’. We loved the place and we certainly go back. It’s located in the heart of Ypres so walking distance to all the nice things Ypres has to offer.
The Gite lays in a quiet street what makes the stay very relaxing and peacefull.
The owners live next door and are very nice and helpfull people.
The Gite itself is a beautifull house that was just finished from a total renovation. So everything in the house is new. The furnishing is done with a good taste. The use of well placed decorations and the design gives the Gite a trendy look.
In short, highly recommended for everyone who loves to stay in a trendy environment close to all the culture of Ypres.

Thanks for the wonderfull experience, Fam. Engels-Lambot - 2014

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36carlaw
Vaassen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2018
Beste Carla en familie,
Hartelijk dank voor de mooie woorden en schitterende review. Hopelijk mogen we jullie nogmaals verwelkomen.
Groetjes
Sven & Katleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing