We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was really lovely”

Restaurant Captain Cook
Reserve with
Restaurant Captain Cook is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 130 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Price range: $5 - $27
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

We ate here before going to Menin Gate last post ceremony. The pizza was delicious as was the lamb skewer. Food was reasonably price. Staff were lovely and polite. Really recommend

Thank A3867GCcatherinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear mrs. Catherin,

thank you so much for your kind review,
i’m so glad you’ve enjoyed your meal..
It was an absolutly pleasure to welcome you in our restaurant..
Looking forward to see you :)


Kind regards,

Guler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 546 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2018

The prime reason for a trip to Leper was for my 92 year-old father to see the Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate. Leaving our (slightly) out of town hotel at around 1800hrs with an expectation that we could eat before the Ceremony was confounded by our taxi driver, who made it clear that we should be located by 1900hrs as the Gate was closed down to road traffic to facilitate the visitors. We made a reservation at Capatin Cook's for 2030hrs on the basis that we had no idea exactly how long the sometimes moveable feast of the Ceremony would take. It took ten minutes! We were in the Restaurant by 2015! Cutting to the chase and our Reserved table, the Flemish Stew was excellent as were both or desserts. Would recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charlesthomas2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear mr. Charles,

what a pleasure to read you’ve
enjoyed your meal in our restaurant..
Thank you for your wonderful experience
in our restaurant.

Looking forward to see you :)

Kind regards,

Guler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

What a little gem. Staff amazing food amazing ambience amazing. Portion sizes are huge

Was quiet in here tonight and we had tried to book online earlier, but they are having problems, and phone but got answering machine.
Pop in to see if they have space you will not be disappointed.

Flemish drew to die for.

Loved the staff in their Belgian outfits in celebration of the football.

Well done guys x

Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear Jackie,


wow.... really don’t know what to say anymore,
received today 2 amazing comments and 1 more amazing from you..
Thank you very much..
Thank you to give us power and energy to do our job day in day out with pleasure and love!
Guests like you, make really our day more than better!!

We are a bit dissapointed about the football, but we hope tonight England will make us happy again :)

You go England!!

Looking forward to see you

Kind regards,

Guler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We ate at Captain Cook on a hot and sticky July evening – the same evening that Belgium were playing Brazil in the World Cup. Hence the restaurant was very quiet – most locals were watching the football (either at home, in one of the many bars in the town or on the big screen in the market square) and most tourists were watching the Last Post at the Menin Gate.

We each opted for a pizza, which were very good – thin base with oodles of toppings – very tasty! This was followed with ice-creams for dessert. We washed our meal down with some lovely Belgian beer. Good value at some 50 Euros.

The staff at Captain Cook were friendly and polite. The atmosphere was pleasant enough, but not too vibrant given the lack of customers.

We will definitely return next time we visit Ypres.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear mr. Ken,

everytime when we have a bad experience
with a customer who’s ruines your evening and write a bad comment,
we are being raise up from amazing customers like you! Thank you soooo much for your friendly and kind comment.
I’m very proud to our restaurant and mostly to welcoming such a nice guests like you sir.
My staffmembers, we don’t feel we have a commercial connection but we are more a family here.

Thanks again mr. Ken, we appreciate your
amazing comment a lot!!

Kind regards,

Guler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We have eaten here on quite a few occasions when we regularly visit Ypres. The food is Fantastic, all of the staff are very helpful, friendly and welcoming. 5* service,food and atmosphere. We would recommend The Captain Cook if coming to Ypres.

Thank Bax750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

My dearest customer,

thank you so much for the often visits to our restaurant..
Can’t enough thank you for this fantastic review.,
I appreciate it a lot


Looking forward to see you back

kind regards,

Guler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Captain Cook also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Restaurant Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing