We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Restaurant Captain Cook
Reserve with
Restaurant Captain Cook is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 127 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Price range: $5 - $29
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A modern restaurant with a Captain Cook south sea island theme which at first seemed a little odd for Ypres. However we were more than satisfied with every aspect of this restaurant. The service was extremely efficient and friendly. We had steak and chips and was I think the best I have had in many years outside my own home. It was well worth the price and the best meal for the whole week in Belgium and France. We paid as much and more for inferior meals. To do it justice allow plenty of time if going to the Last Post ceremony at 8.0 pm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SidKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear mr./mrs,

We want to thank you very much for your positive comments on Tripadvisor,
and of course we are very pleased and honored to welcome you in our new restaurant.

Thanks for trusting in us, and we hope to meet you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Restaurant Captain Cook
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 313 of 417 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here after a day of travelling for something to eat before the Last Post at Menin Gate. We all had pizzas which were delicious. Huge portions, loads of toppings and very reasonably priced. Would recommend.

Thank hjeffery00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thanks for your comment sir/madame!
It's a pleasure for us, to have customers like you!

Hopefully we'll see you back, when you visit Ypres again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Expensive but the food was good and the steaks cooked perfectly.
20 euro for steak and chips, 28 for mixed grill

Thank artois1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thanks for your positive comment,
we hope to meet you again in our restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a very large restaurant which appears to be a fairly new addition to Ieper, Belgium, and well worth your time. The city itself is fascinating for its architecture and its history, people are friendly and very helpful to tourists who have trouble with both the official languages; French and Flemish. The restaurant serves a variety of food and drink, and the service is excellent. So is the food. Many local people appear to eat here, but so do tourists hoping to take in the Menin Gate ceremony just steps away at 8:00 every evening. A relaxing and enjoyable dinner can be expected at this establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank M-BViano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear sir,

thank you very much for your positive comment on Tripadvisor.
We are so glad, that you have enjoy your meal.
Its a little bit rushing before the Last Post, but when we read
this kind of comment, we are so proud to our Restaurant and the
kind costumers like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Thank ellendejaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guler Y, Manager at Restaurant Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Captain Cook also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Restaurant Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing