We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you every aspect of your B&B was excellent”
Review of B&B Hortensia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Hortensia
Ranked #5 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you every aspect of your B&B was excellent”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We where made very welcome and they made sure we had plenty of room in the garage for our motorcycle. The room as very clean and spacious. The breakfast was plentiful with a variety of food. We would reccomend the Hortensia to all our biking mates and our family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    35
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
64
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We have stayed at the Hortensia several times over the past four years and throroughly recommend it. The new hosts are very pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed the welcome with tea and cake. the rooms are spotless and the breakfast extremely satisfying. Free parking nearby and a secure garage for cycles is an added bonus. It's a great place for exploring Ypres and environs, or for a short stay between cross channel ferries and further destinations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baronessCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I had an extremely enjoyable stay here on my own in 2006 and wanted to show my wife the delights of the hotel and the town. There has been a change of management but the same high standards of cleanliness, friendliness and helpfulness remain. The rooms are modern and simply but effectively furnished. The welcome cup of tea (and cake) upon arrival were appreciated, as were the breakfasts. There is no lift but help is readily available for carrying cases. It is a ten minute walk to the main square and a further five to the Menin Gate for the evening ceremony. Nothing was too much trouble for the hostess, who even provided us with the ingredients to make sandwiches to take away on the morning of our departure. On any future return to Ieper (Ypres) this would be my accommodation of choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen & Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I travelled to B & B Hortensia with my husband and 3 kids. We would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay there. the accommodation was spotlessly clean, and the breakfast excellent. The owners are extremely friendly, and will do anything they can to help you get the most out of your stay. We had booked breakfast for 8.30 one morning, but overslept until 9.45! We assumed we had missed breakfast, but Veronique insisted on serving us, saying she was glad we had had such a good sleep! I enquired about the use of an iron, and she offered me her own personal iron & ironing board; nothing was too much trouble. The B & B is ideally situated for an evening stroll to the Menin Gate ceremony, at 8pm each night; not to be missed.
To sum up, the Hortensia was the perfect choice of accommodation for my family and I, and I would not hesitate to recommend it or use it again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhosilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Royal British Legion Riders Branch trip.

We travelled as a group of 27 staying in various places, 8 of us stayed at the Hortensia at it was a very good choice. Travelling by motorcycle the hosts were more than helpful in moving items enabling us to get 6 bikes in the garage, safely locked away for the night.

We were greeted with copious amounts of coffee, much appreciated after a day in the saddle. The rooms are well appointed and clean with access to drinks is available free of charge, on suite is wellmaintained and hot water a plenty - even had BBC1 on the tv.

Breakfast was lovely and plentiful, if you can fill us up you can fill anyone. Michael & Veronique couldn't be more helpful and we will definately be back. You won;'t be dissappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redave46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2010

A very clean, quiet and pleasant B&B, that is a 10 minute walk away from the city centre. It is in an excellent location, if you are visiting the area to tour the Ypres battlefields and cemeteries.

Whilst it is situated on a main street, the surrounding area is very quiet. No problems with parking and there are a few local (and reasonably priced) shops nearby, to stock-up with provisions, if you are planning day-trips.

The hosts, Michaël & Véronique, were very helpful and assisted with the usual questions / problems that you encounter in a town that is new to you - where to eat, etc.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Hortensia - in fact I have already done so, to various colleagues!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Hortensia during a visit to Ypres and the cemeteries. While there one of our party suffered an accident and needed medical help: the hostess at the Hortensia could not have been kinder or more helpful - serving our injured friend in her room giving us directions to the hospital and ringing ahead to let them know we were coming. We were extremely impressed and grateful. But putting that event aside the Hortensia is excellent value, 10 minutes from the Square, quiet, near the beautiful ramparts at the Lille gate (the only original gate left in the walls), spacious rooms and an excelllent breakfast (eggs boiled to perfection). We will certainly return - probably for the Cat Festival in 2012, if not before.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toxophilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hortensia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hortensia

Property: B&B Hortensia
Address: Rijselstraat 196, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hortensia 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your B&B Hortensia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Hortensia
b&b Hortensia Hotel Ieper (Ypres)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing