We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem!!”
Review of B&B Hortensia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Hortensia
Ranked #5 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Stayed here with a group for a Battle Fields Tour, The owners were very friendly and welcoming nothing was to much trouble. They even managed to help with a visit to the Menin Gate and were very knowledgable about the local area. Excellent breakfast, no shortage of coffee or food. Would reccommend and will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gugmaister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 195 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

This B&B was fantastic, the room were a good size and spotlessly clean we paid 60Euro per night. Andre was very helpful and told us of a lot of places to visit. We enjoyed his company and the Battlefields were terrific. A must do is the service at the Menin Gate every night at 8PM. Awesome.... Highly recommend this B&B. Carmel

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank CarmelgB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

The Hortensia is very clean, comfortable, and in a good location. Andre, the owner, is very helpful, and good at recommending places to visit.. When I arrived, late in the evening, he offered a cup of tea, which was needed after a long journey from the UK. The room was very comfortable, with an en-suite bathroom (with a good shower) and a TV with some British TV channels (BBC 1, BBC 2, and ITV). The breakfasts were very good, with cereals, jams, fresh breads and rolls. I would recommend the Hortensia for anyone wanting simple B&B accommodation in Ieper.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroxiBear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Right next to the battlements of Ypres (where my great grandfather was posted during the 3rd battle of Paschendale in Oct 1917) the b&b is very conveniently located to explore the region. A 20 min walk into the centre of Ypres, with plenty free on street parking available.

Rooms were spotless and very clean, a functional place, if a little sparse. Good breakfast, a great idea to have individual toasters at each table.

Andre was helpful and very pleasant, a good host.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKJEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

ticks all boxes for a wonderful stay....have stayed here on many occasions, Andre could'nt be more friendly and helpful and he is also an excellent source for local knowledge. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast in typically continental (after all we are in Belgium!) with plenty to choose from. In comparison to alternative acommodation in Ypres, the Hotel Hortensia is unbeatable! Great stay and greaty value!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RXLSUFFOLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Two thumbs up for this place. Andre, the owner, was very accommodating and helpful - readily volunteering information about the area. We had a twin room on the upper floor (no lift/elevator so be prepared to carry bags) which was clean and roomy. I suspect it gets warm up there but it rained the night we stayed, which kept the temperature comfortable. Investing in a ceiling fan to cool the room down might be a good idea, but again, we had no problems. Breakfast was simple and typical of what you'd find on the continent (cereals, yogurt, breads, cheese etc.). Location-wise, Hortensia in on the fringe of Ypres but within a 15 minute walk of the Grote Market where museums, cafes and shopping are plentiful. Very lovely town, Ypres and the Hortensia gives you a taste of the local life. [Try the pizza at Poppys in town!] I would have preferred to check in earlier but the typical check-in time at Hortensia is after 5pm, FYI. All in all, a pleasant experience and I'd certainly return if the opportunity was there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canada27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

For a one night stay to visit war cemeteries and the Menin Gate this would be hard to beat. Very clean and well priced. Host welcomed us with a cup of tea when we arrived in the rain. Upstairs room fine, although floor creaked slightly. Bathroom good; breakfast fine. André is an interesting man, who speaks excellent English. DIscount if you pay in cash (€64 for twin room).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B @Room's
B&B @Room's
#1 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cocoon
Cocoon
#11 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hortensia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hortensia

Address: Rijselstraat 196, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $101 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hortensia 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Hortensia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Hortensia
b&b Hortensia Hotel Ieper (Ypres)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing