We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Hortensia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Hortensia
Ranked #5 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farningham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our second visit and this time we returned with 2 other couples to walk the area. Veronique and Michael were as helpful as ever and showed us walks and maps. They provide 1st class accommodation and a breakfast that sets you up for the day. Nothing is too much trouble and one of our party was able to hire a bike from them too. They offer restaurant recommendations as well as good knowledge of the area and its memorials.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    35
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
64
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hortensia in early July. We were very warmly welcomed and made to feel at home right away. We arrived by bicycle and the there was a locked garage to store our bike. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We wanted to spend a third night, but the Hortensia was booked, so they found us a place in another B&B. Located just inside the walls of old Ieper, the Hortensia is within easy walking distance of the Menin Gate, the Cloth Hall and the other main sights of the town. A good breakfast was provided. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, we picked it for the secure garage and the good review. We were in an attic room up two flights, which was not a problem for us. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. The host was welcoming and the location was a short stroll into the central square and Menin Gate. You can walk through a nice park to get there and the ceremony at 8pm is well worth a visit. My only negative is the hot breakfast is bacon and eggs with toast no variation. But saying that there are lots of self service choices too. Overall a great stay. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CASTLEFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent three very enjoyable nights last month at BB Hortensia. We arrived quite late in the evening but Veronique was expecting us and at once made us feel at home. Room was quite spacious and very clean. Breakfast was very good and Veronique was always ready to help and provide information about Ypres. I look forward to my next visit to Ypres and to stay at BB Hortensia!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcs0861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumbler Ridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hortensia is wonderful place to stay! The rooms are clean and large. The breakfast was great. The owners are very accommodating and kind. This is a great place to stay in Ypres, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hortensia is a very clean, modern, welcoming B&B. The tea and cake on arrival and the scrambled egg and bacon for breakfast are lovely touches that make the stay more enjoyable. I would highly recommend to anyone considering a short stay in Ypres. This is our second visit as the location is ideal for a short stroll into the centre for the museum, shops and restaurants, yet far enough away for a good quiet nights sleep. Parking is free if you ask the right questions !

Room Tip: Inner rooms are quieter than roadside, obvious, but ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Although on the wya out of town this B&B has a good location, a 5 minute walk to the square and only seconds from the Lille Gate. Parking as always can be a bit of a hit and miss affair but shouldnt detract from a very warm welcome from the hosts, large, clean accomodation and excelletn breakfast. Ideal for first timers to the area as they are very willing to help those new to Flanders with maps, and advice, and a comfortable retreat for those of us lucky enough to be considered old flanders sweats. Excellent value for money to boot. In summer it can get hot, if you have a room overlooking the street, remember cobbled roads make a lot of noise at night and although an open window is nice the nise can interrupt your sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeEss23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hortensia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hortensia

Property: B&B Hortensia
Address: Rijselstraat 196, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hortensia 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your B&B Hortensia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Hortensia
b&b Hortensia Hotel Ieper (Ypres)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing