We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcome”
Review of B&B Hortensia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Hortensia
Ranked #5 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a very comfortable place to stay within easy reach of the centre of Ieper. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to the main square and the Menin Gate. We walked there through the town but you can also walk along the city wall

It is just inside the city wall so it is easy to find by car. You need to pay a moderate amount to park in the street outside the Hortensia but there is plenty of free parking nearby; the area felt safe and we had no concerns about leaving our car out in the street.

Veronique and Michael are perfect hosts. Veronique gave us coffee and cake on arrival and made us feel very welcome. She also gave us some good information about local restaurants and the Last Post ceremony.

The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was good. A good selection of breads, pastries, meats, cheeses etc., as well as scrambled eggs and bacon.

There is a selection of drinks available in a fridge in the garage. You can help yourself, write what you take in a notebook and settle the cost when you check out.

We only stayed here fore one night at the end of a journey back home from Austria to the UK. But we definitely plan to return to Ieper for a longer stay and we will definitely stay at the Hortensia.

Room Tip: There is a fairly busy cobbled street at the front, so rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 195 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stopped here at the end of a 3 week trip from the UK on a motorcycle, via France, Belgium, The Netherlands, Germany to Colditz and back and so this was our last stop... we really left the best for last!

Firstly we were going to stop in Dunkerque as our last place over the water, however after asking the group for THE BIKER GUIDE on facebook for a place to recommend a chap said to stop in Ypres mainly to attend the Menin Gate Memorial to the Missing and to stop here at Hortensia as it was a great place with the added bonus of having a garage for the bike.

When we got there, we were a little weathered and tired so the lovely welcome from Veronique and Michael , the best coffee I'd had in weeks and a piece of cake on arrival was heaven sent.

Modern, spotless and comfortable rooms. Also an honesty fridge containing various drinks in the main house - more people should do this. We could have gone to the supermarket, but didnt bother and just took from the fridge and paid on check out.

Great breakfasts, with fresh bread from the local bakers, various cheese, meat, cerials and preserves, along with eggs and bacon, cooked to order.

A great find for us to end our trip, ideal for the Menin Gate Memorial (about a 10 minute walk), with the added bonus of garaged parking for our beloved BMW Motorcycle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agreeklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Hortensia (third time for my husband) and again Veronique and Michael made us very welcome. The rooms are light and airy, the beds comfortable and the shower powerful. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the bread rolls were particularly delicious. Good bars and restaurants in the vicinity. The Menin Gate ceremony, as always, a must visit. Unfortunately we didn't get chance to visit the re-vamped In Flanders Field museum but hopefully our next visit will rectify that - with a further stay at Hortensia of course!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank MargB063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A lovely welcome from Veronique and Michael with a cup of coffee and piece of cake on arrival. The B&B is spotless and comfortable. There is an honesty fridge containing drinks in the main part of the house and a kettle in each room. You can help yourselves to tea and coffee from the breakfast room if you want a drink in your room. The breakfasts are good - great local bread, cheese and meat, cereals, fruit and yoghurt plus Veronique will cook eggs and bacon
it is one of the best.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Two middle-aged blokes with three nights away from wives and children had a chance to explore Ypres and the Salient battlefields. Hortensia was the ideal place from which to do this. We were made very welcome by Veronique as soon as we arrived. Despite being at the southern end of the walled city, we were surprised at how quick and easy it was to walk into the Grote Markt and see the main sites from the guest house. The location enabled us to admire the buildings of the city at greater length and to get on to the ramparts as a pleasant alternative to reaching the Menin Gate ceremony. Parking was very simple in streets parallel to Rijselstraat (we never paid for parking once during our stay - excellent country) and easy to drive to and from. Breakfasts were most appreciated, an excellent start to the day. Rooms were clean and convenient and the shower was satisfyingly powerful! Price was well matched to this useful and pleasant holiday venue: I would certainly want to stay here again if I was able to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vernon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Top place. Very enjoyable stay. Clean, tidy, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Michael and Veronique were just wonderful and settled us in to their B&B like honored guests. The town was very lovely, and it's not a far walk to a lot of the sights in town. I'd definitely stay here again if I have the chance to return to Ieper!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anglicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B @Room's
B&B @Room's
#1 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cocoon
Cocoon
#12 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hortensia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hortensia

Address: Rijselstraat 196, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $101 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hortensia 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your B&B Hortensia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Hortensia Hotel Ieper (Ypres)
Bed And Breakfast Hortensia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing