We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay for a whistlestop tour of Ypres and the Salient.”
Review of B&B Hortensia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Hortensia
Ranked #5 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Two middle-aged blokes with three nights away from wives and children had a chance to explore Ypres and the Salient battlefields. Hortensia was the ideal place from which to do this. We were made very welcome by Veronique as soon as we arrived. Despite being at the southern end of the walled city, we were surprised at how quick and easy it was to walk into the Grote Markt and see the main sites from the guest house. The location enabled us to admire the buildings of the city at greater length and to get on to the ramparts as a pleasant alternative to reaching the Menin Gate ceremony. Parking was very simple in streets parallel to Rijselstraat (we never paid for parking once during our stay - excellent country) and easy to drive to and from. Breakfasts were most appreciated, an excellent start to the day. Rooms were clean and convenient and the shower was satisfyingly powerful! Price was well matched to this useful and pleasant holiday venue: I would certainly want to stay here again if I was able to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vernon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for B&B Hortensia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 187 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Top place. Very enjoyable stay. Clean, tidy, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Michael and Veronique were just wonderful and settled us in to their B&B like honored guests. The town was very lovely, and it's not a far walk to a lot of the sights in town. I'd definitely stay here again if I have the chance to return to Ieper!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anglicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We arrived early, 2 wet motorcyclists having covered 260 miles that day yet we were warmly greeted by Veronique who from the moment she opened the door treated us superbly. As others have said, the accommodation is modern, very clean and is close to the centre of the Ipre. Space had already been made available for the 2 motorbikes in their garage, so we wheeled them straight in. Veronique showed us our rooms and advised us where to eat locally and gave us our keys to the door.

En-suite bathroom has shower (no bath) with towels. Bedding is comfortable and clean. Rooms have TV. Wifi is no extra cost.

The next morning (Sunday) our breakfast was cooked by Michael and Veronique and was perfect. We ordered a packed lunch to help us on our way which was provided for a few extra euros. Will definitely stay again if we are anywhere near Ipre..

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the ones at the front aren't noisy, just not as quiet. The 2 w...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The rooms are fairly simple but very clean and comfortable. We were in a room on the top floor at the back and managed to sleep until woken by the Church bells at 8am. Veronique and Michel are very pleasant hosts and you feel that nothing would be too much trouble for them. The breakfast was excellent, with a large choice, including made to order eggs and bacon. The location could not be better as it is just inside the city ramparts through the Lille gate so easy to find and easy to get back onto the main road network. Additionally, there is lots of free parking in the streets surrounding the B&B and it is a pleasant 10 minute walk through either the town or along the ramparts to the Menin Gate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisx2Leeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was our first trip abroad to view the battlefields - even though we are in our late plenties, Veronique and Michael were extremely helpful in what to see and do in case we had missed out on our planning, helping with maps and guides etc. A very clean b&b with comfortable beds and the breakfast set the two of us up for the day even with my large appetite

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are simple and very clean and the hosts are very keen to help make sure that you get the most out your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodService4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
816 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,403 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hortensia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hortensia

Address: Rijselstraat 196, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $101 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hortensia 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your B&B Hortensia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Hortensia Hotel Ieper (Ypres)
Bed And Breakfast Hortensia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing