We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fleeting visit”
Review of B&B Hortensia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Hortensia
Ranked #5 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Ours was a one night stay on a fleeting visit.

The room was very comfortable and with free parking nearby we were able to check-in and following a welcoming cuppa stroll back into Ypres well in time to attend the ceremony
at the Menin Gate.

An excellent breakfast the following day set-us-up for another day's exploration before returning to Dunkirk to catch the ferry home

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 194 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2010

Price - 68 Euros, double
Cleanliness - excellent.
Quietness - excellent.
Comfort - excellent.
Location - excellent; pleasantly at the edge of town making it easier to park and stroll a few minutes to the centre.
Parking - on street; free after 6pm
Friendliness - excellent.
Breakfast - excellent; bacon and eggs with full continental.
Classiness - very good.
Room included - shower, toilet, tv.
From the tea and cake on arrival, to the best wishes on departure - it could not have been better.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Veronique welcomed us with tea/coffee and cake on arrival. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful - lovely breads, yoghurt, cheese, meats, fruit and scrambled or boiled eggs. On our first morning, as there were a few bread rolls left (another party of guests having cancelled at the last minute) Veronique asked if we would like to make use of them for our lunch and gave us more cheese and meats to make up sandwiches. We were also given a booklet with money off vouchers for local museums etc.

Before we left for a day out Veronique told us about the local area and places of interest to visit together with recommendations for local restaurants.

We wouldn't hesitate booking with them again - a true home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargB063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights of our trip, and B&B Hortensia is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are simple and the hosts - Veronique and Michael - are very friendly and welcoming. This is an ideal place to stay if you want the centre of Ypres, and i would recommend to anyone.

Breakfast has some of the nicest bread around, with a good choice, and they even offer the added bonus of scrambled egg with bacon. It is only about a 15min walk from the main square in Ypres, and easy to find by car.

If you plan to stay in Ypres, I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare_D1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

This b and b is easy to find and very well located if you wish to stay near the centre of Ieper. Veronique and Michael are very welcoming hosts and cater for all your needs. The rooms are simple but provide you with everything you need. The breakfast is substantial both continental and offering bacon and scrambled eggs; with some of the best bread you will taste!! It is based about 15 minutes walk from the centre, with plenty to see when you get there.

I would recommend Hortensia to anyone wishing to stay in Cenral Ieper

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandbexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We where made very welcome and they made sure we had plenty of room in the garage for our motorcycle. The room as very clean and spacious. The breakfast was plentiful with a variety of food. We would reccomend the Hortensia to all our biking mates and our family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We have stayed at the Hortensia several times over the past four years and throroughly recommend it. The new hosts are very pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed the welcome with tea and cake. the rooms are spotless and the breakfast extremely satisfying. Free parking nearby and a secure garage for cycles is an added bonus. It's a great place for exploring Ypres and environs, or for a short stay between cross channel ferries and further destinations.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baronessCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt
Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt
#37 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B @Room's
B&B @Room's
#1 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hortensia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hortensia

Address: Rijselstraat 196, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $101 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hortensia 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Hortensia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Hortensia Hotel Ieper (Ypres)
Bed And Breakfast Hortensia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing