We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend in West Vlaanderen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Cholsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“weekend in West Vlaanderen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is ideally located for excursions all over west vlaanderen and especially for those interested in WWI battles etc, and it is very easy to get to. The accommodation is very comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning is delicious and plentiful. A bonus for pet owners is that dogs are welcome. The dogs are also permitted in the common rooms, except during mealtimes. The hotel is set in lovely grounds, making for a quiet pleasant stay

Room Tip: If you have a pet, a ground floow room is ideal as it makes taking the dog out for a quick pitstop c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvanlishout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    95
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
80
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here 5 or 6 times and will return..12 or more good beers,large cocktails and very good food. The hotel is ideal for Ist WW sites of all kinds.Many of them only a few miles away,Poperinge is well worth a day out.The old TOC.H house/museum is very interesting,as is the jail and the firing squad area near the town hall,.I found it very creepy especially when the sound track for the very young prisoner played.
Every town and village around Ypres seems to have a friendly bar/cafe thats open most. so their is no need to go hungry or thirsty .

Room Tip: All rooms are quite different and have their own comforts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a charming, atmospheric and old fashioned hotel. Set in wonderful historic grounds with it's own museum, it is beautifully situated and very convenient for sightseeing. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious, but the shower did not work properly and I heard another guest talking about this at breakfast as well. It went from very hot to very cold and on and off. But there was also a bath that could be used.
There was a very good choice for the continental breakfast, very yummy! Staff were friendly and helpful.
It could do with a bit of updating, but I wouldn't want the hotel to lose it's charm and become bland and corporate.
Overall a wonderful experience - I am making plans to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked this for a short trip to see the WW1 battlefields around Ypres and was not dissapointed. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the gardens and the Hooge crater. Excellent walk around the grounds with trenches, bunker and remnants from WW1 battles. Breakfast was good and the bar/restaurant is a comfortable room to enjoy a quiet drink or a meal

Room Tip: upstairs room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Fantastic base for seeing the battlefields and very beautiful
The beds are great but the bathrooms need updating but clean and well presented
Breakfast ok but need bigger cups and decent coffee and tea
Friendly staff, have been twice now and loved both times highly recommended

Room Tip: Would specify a double as sometimes it is two singles pushed together
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

A 2 night stay in this marvellous hotel offered an opportunity to visit Ypres and several WW1 battlefield sites. Hotel was built in late 1920's as a private house and has been run by the current owners as a hotel for many years. It is very quiet and we felt as if we had the place to ourselves. Beautiful setting with lovely gardens and courtyard for drinking a coffee or one of their excellent Belgian beers. The garden even has a 'museum' that guest can visit complete with a large crater and bunker.
Comfortable bedroom but with no tea/coffee making facilities. Evening meals of good quality; breakfast basic but adequate. There is no lounge just the bar/ dining room. Although the hotel is placed on the busy Mennen road, the location offers peace and quiet away from the town with plenty of parking. Good location for touring the local historical sites by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent two nights in this very historic and peaceful setting. Superb location being only 5 minutes drive from Ypres and free parking at the hotel was certainly a bonus. The building itself is just as it looks on the web, very old fashioned with loads of history attached to it. Our room upstairs was again old fashioned but very clean and with a small balcony, it was lovely to be able to open the doors for some fresh air. Beds very comfortable, bathroom a bit small and again outdated but done as best as they could in the small area and everything you needed was there. Breakfast was the normal basic continental style. Staff were a little lacking in attendance during our stay but I put this down to being a bit out of season and the hotel very quiet. If you enjoy walking and cycling this is a perfect location for that. The outdoor museum in the grounds is very interesting and really brings home the dreadful events of WW1. Very peaceful setting surrounded by woodland.

Room Tip: Request room with balcony if you like fresh air as all other windows are a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
2.5 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteelhof 't Hooghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteelhof 't Hooghe

Property: Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
Address: Meenseweg 481, Ieper (Ypres) 8902, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasteelhof 't Hooghe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kasteelhof 't Hooghe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing