We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Novotel Ieper Centrum(Ieper (Ypres))
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Albion Hotel(Ieper (Ypres))(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ariane hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bloom(Diksmuide)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Recour(Poperinge)
$138
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amfora(Poperinge)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambrosia Hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
96
111
31
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
111
31
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew buildinghooge craterfront lineamusement parkmodern blocklarge cratermenin roadhotel groundsaccommodation blockolder partshort driveexcellent belgian beersmain buildingbike storagesteeped in historyopen air museuminteresting hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 244 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions, including September of this year and it has always been an excellent choice. The rooms are spacious, the hotel has a lot of character and is only a few minutes outside the town of Ypres. The restaurant always provides a wonderful breakfast and also evening meals.

The cost of the rooms has always been extremely competitive and the staff always welcoming. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, even though it is outside of the town.

Room Tip: I can't remember the number of the room but as you walk through the double doors downstairs it is the first room of the left. It is extremely large and airy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaP742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a family-run hotel, situated on the notorious and historic Menin Road of WW1 fame. It has a distinctive Flanders flavour. Son Dries cooks delicious meals - try the scampi starter with steak to follow. He is ably backed by mother and father, Anne-Marie and Franz, and a pleasant staff.
We have been using this hotel for 18 years. In that time, it has blossomed. Now the Kasteelhof even has a "battlefield experience", complete with flooded mine crater and genuine bunkers, in its garden. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the food good and the service excellent. Parking is ample andf free.
This hotel is in the very heart of the Hooge battlefield, where savage fighting took place in World War One.The Germans first used flame-throwers here. It is close to the Hooge crater museum and also Hill 62, where visitors can visit the last remaining British trenches in the Salient.
Ieper is just a five-minute drive away. Don't miss the moving Last Post act of remembrance, which takes place every night at 8 o'clock at the Menin Gate.
The Kasteeloff is just the place to experience some old-fashioned Flemish hospitality.
All it needs now are some tea and coffee-making facilities in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tovarisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Situated about 4k from the centre of Ieper, this hotel is quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are lovely - the usual breads, croissants, cheese, ham, etc but with the addition of delicious iced pastries too. I stayed in the huge Room 1, snuggled in the comfy bed and watched BBC1 or BBC2 at night after a tasty meal in the restaurant. We only ate here twice during our 4 night stay as the menu selection is limited but the steak was beautifully cooked. Although it's outside the centre, parking in the city is easy to find and very cheap - free in the evenings which I couldn't believe. There are trenches and craters in the hotel grounds, over the road is the Hooge Cater CWG cemetery and next door is the Hooge Crater museum and coffee shop. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is very convenient for visiting all the local war cemeteries and Ypres is only a 5 minute drive away.
The hotel as WW1 trenches in its ground and are free to guests.
The hotel does evening meals but you must book this at breakfast, I can't comment on the food as we had our evening meal in Ypres.
The hotel is basic but as everything you need for a comfortable stay, its very homely and the bar is open most of the day for acohol or just a tea.
We shall be stopping at this hotel next year as we always make a trip over to Ypres in September.
The breakfast as plenty of variety and the bread rolls are to die for although the cups are very small, but this seems the norm for mainland europe.
Fancy a meal out? Then do try "Poppy" restaurant just down from the Menin Gate in Ypres, read the reviews!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisGranthamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the WW1 memorial sites and have to recommend the hotel for its position. You are actually staying where the front line had been and have the opportunity to visit a mine crater and trench in the hotel grounds. It is actually better than the Hill 62 trenches which costs E10 each. We stayed in the triple room, as my teenage son joined us, and it was adequate but basic. We had the steak and frites for dinner after all the good reviews on here and have to say it was very tasty and the breakfast is very nice. On the second night we ate in town before watching the Menin Gate Ceremony and were able to sit outside when we got back and enjoy a beer. Overall it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews