We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great rooms with attention to detail, and very nice hosts.”
Review of Fields of Gold

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fields of Gold
Ranked #9 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here in February 2014 for 2 nights. The hotel is beautiful. The decor and attention to detail throughout the hotel and in each room is second to none. Petre and his wife who own the hotel were very nice and made us an amazing breakfast. We had two rooms, one with a clawfoot bathtub that my wife loved. Also very nice balconies attached to the room. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel and rooms were very clean. If you have a car, there is free parking just down the street from the hotel a couple of blocks away.

The town of Ypres is very nice and the history is amazing. The First World War sites around Ypres are very interesting. As Canadians, we were particularly interested in visiting Paschendale and Vimy Ridge, both within an hours drive of Ypres. Within Ypres we visited the Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate (basically the equivalent to a Remembrance Day ceremony in Canada but conducted each night) and the Flanders Fields Museum. Both highlighted the Canadian effort and sacrifice during WWI.

If you're in Ypres or visiting the sights around the area, I would recommend staying here. Great value for what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 88 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Peter is a great host! Fantastic rooms and setup. Great location. Ypres great town. Peter was very helpful with planning day trips. Great value. Recently renovated. Definitely would recommend to anyone staying in the YPres area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed for only 1 night at the beginning of December 2013. The accommodation has been recently refurbished to a very high standard, and represents excellent value for money. The owners are very welcoming and provided some invaluable advice on how to make the best use of our time in Ypres. The breakfast is amazing, again outstanding value for money. Great location, right in the centre of the town. If you're thinking about a stay in Ypres don't go anywhere else !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregS2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were lucky to book the final room at Fields of Gold a few days before our trip and we definitely made the right decision. I believe our room (Queen of Heaven) is classed as the bridal suite, however, it is still excellent value for money. There has been no expense spared converting this old school house into their shop and hotel; the memory foam mattress, surround sound system, fresh roses and free standing bath are just to name a few of the benefits! Nathalie and Pieter believe passionately in natural and healthy living and this is demonstrated from the linen they provide to Nathalie's incredible breakfast. We were so taken with the hotel and the hosts helpfulness and attitudes that we have booked in again at the end of our trip before we catch out ferry back home! We would highly recommend Fields of Gold for a high class, central, romantic escape!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVBee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in December. Truly wonderful new b&b in Ypres. Thought has gone into the furnishings of the rooms to provide the ultimate b&b facilities. We stayed in the Earth suite. Very comfortable, a self catering apartment rather than just a b&b bedroom. The owners obviously want you to have a pleasurable experience and Natalies breakfast is wonderful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at Fields of Gold at the end of June 2013 about 3 weeks after the B&B opened, but it has only recently appeared on TripAdvisor hence this late review.

The owners, Peter and Natalie, had spent 2 years restoring the old school house to produce this unique and beautiful B&B which is located in the centre of Ypres just 5 minutes walk from the Market Square. The downside to this location is the lack of private parking. However, there is plenty of on-street parking, and a car park a short distance away. Peter suggested that we phoned him as we entered Ypres so that he could be at the door to take our luggage and then we could park the car. This we did but as it happened there was a space on-street right outside the door. (Pay and Display during the day).

Each room in the B&B is different - ranging from the "Bridal Suite" on the top floor to a small self-catering bed-sit. We had the "Queen of Water" suite which was perfect for us. From the outside corridor you enter a small hallway with doors to the bedroom and separate W.C. From the bedroom, there is a door to the unique bathroom, and a french window leading to a private terrace overlooking the enclosed garden below. This was all completed to a very high and modern standard. There was built in internet based radio and TV - so a very wide choice of entertainment was available. The room was equipped with a coffee making pot and plenty of provisions.

Breakfast was provided on the ground floor in an area looking out onto the Garden. Natalie produced a lovely breakfast and the service was second to none.

Overall this was a great B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAscot264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a room at fields of gold over the Armistead weekend.
The owners Pieter and Nathalie are the most welcoming of hosts and have only just opened up their wonderful B&B. It is just a few minutes walk from the main square and brilliantly situated in the heart of Ypres.
The rooms are amazing, beautifully decorated and a lot of thought has gone into them. You have a great sound system installed which you can tune into any radio station from around the world and you will find a few English channels on the TV. There is a hair dryer in the Bathroom so no need to pack one. The memory foam bed is amazing and so comfy. The internet is cable only so I couldn`t use my Ipad but to be honest it was nice to be able to forget about it and Pieter looked up the train times for me which was the only thing I needed it for.

The best thing was Nathalie`s Breakfast she uses all fresh and local ingredients and really is the best I have ever had. She just keeps bring out little plates of wonderful food and the bread is amazing. She also made me fresh Hot chocolate as I didn`t drink tea or coffee. The milk was from a farm down the road.

The only thing I will mention is that the rooms are up a long set of stairs, which might not be suitable for all. But was not a problem for us.

If you want a welcoming B&B with lots of charm and friendly owners then this is the one for you. We are looking forward to returning Ypres and staying here. Thank you Pieter and Nathalie!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Porte Cochere
La Porte Cochere
#2 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yoake Bed and Breakfast
Yoake Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fields of Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fields of Gold

Address: Rijselstraat 74, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: $106 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fields of Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing