We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip! Fantastic B&B”
Review of Camalou

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camalou
Ranked #32 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip! Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Camalou only for one night on a battlefield tour. Although only a short time the experience was fantastic and the accommodation was excellent. Annette and Christian were brilliant, their enthusiasm and knowledge of the battlefields, their friendly nature and attitude throughout the tour was second to none. They are very knowledgable and take the time at each location to explain the history and conditions. A busy 2 days but extremely worthwhile, not to mention that breakfast was also great! Highly recommended for any traveller ensure you don't miss the Menin Gate while in Ypres!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnno_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
46
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We found Camalou thru a search of B&Bs in Ypres.......so glad we chose this one. Website details dont do it justice.
Easy to find, quiet location excellent room, great breakfast.....oh and the tours....now these two know their stuff and convey the atmosphere of the conflict superbly.
As we visited the museum at Tyne Cot, I noticed a medal similar to one we had recently discoved in my parents effects. Annette showed me how to trace my Great Uncle who had been killed in the early battles.
We had not made the connection before and was not the reason for our visit, but it brought the reality home with a bang.
We will be back

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jnec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We came on our son's recommendation and didn't regret one minute. The accommodation was first class and the like- minded company were very entertaining. Annette and Christian were perfect hosts. Our stay was brief but Annette has so much knowledge we came away far more aware of the history of the War and the horrors of it. She gave us new, personal, information which she had researched for us We were fortunate to have Annette as our guide and we would thoroughly recommend Camalou, Annette and Christian to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Annette and Christian were the perfect hosts. From picking us in Lille, the very informative running commentary, their in-depth knowledge of the terrible war years especially from the Australian perspective, the many stops at historic sites, to the very comfortable accommodation at Camalou and the return trip to Lille, we enjoyed every moment, sombre though a lot of our thoughts were.
Annette and Christian were also a great help in discovering more about relatives involved in WW1.
We wish we had given them the information we did have long before we arrived. However since our visit, Annette has sent us further very important information for which we are very grateful.
T & J, Port Stephens, NSW, Australia

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TERRENCE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Had a really nice stay, the rooms are spacious and the standard of cleanliness is very high. Located in a quiet area it is ideal for those that want to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the area, yet Ypres city centre is only a short distance away. The guest house is an old building and is full of character with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. A friendly welcome from Annette and kind assistance in gaining information on a family member that fell during WW1.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Really enjoyed staying here over 10 years ago and it more than lived up to my expectations. Christain and Annette are excellant host and know everything there is to know about the WW1 sites. Camolou is small with 4 beautifully furnished and equipped rooms, breakfast is excellant. Plenty of car park space. Looking fprward to another visit.

There is a winding spiral staircase up to the rooms so you need to be reasonably agile!

Room Tip: All the rooms offer outlook over gardens or farmland, any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Clean room, nice hosts, good breakfast but the stairs ascending to the rooms is very steep and each step is not deep so ascending is hard and descending harder still. If you have difficulty walking I advise against staying here. Also we were promised a specific room but were given another.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camalou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camalou

Property: Camalou
Address: Dikkebusseweg 351, Ieper (Ypres) 8908, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camalou is a stylish and historic guesthouse located at Ypres. All rooms are tastefully decorated, have en-suite shower and toilet, as well as cable TV tea and coffee making facilities. Buffet breakfast with local delicacies. In the lounge an online computer. Your host Annette, official guide, provide her own private battlefield and historic tours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing